Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Zap Runagain

by PaperboxStudios - Jam Entry

Zap Runagain

Save your little alien friends as you try to weave through this insane crazy space age runner. How long will Zap last? How many of his alien friends will Zap be able to save?

Controls:

Up / Down arrow: Jump and fall through platforms.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#304Fun(Jam)3.43
#313Humor(Jam)3.00
#403Theme(Jam)3.79
#446Graphics(Jam)3.59
#533Overall(Jam)3.31
#570Audio(Jam)2.86
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#836Innovation(Jam)2.64

Comments

guigrillo13 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Awesome game!!! Really good mechanics

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:43pm

hah! This is great fun! :D Love the laser effects and audio. nice work.

dvdfu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:27am

Mechanics were really good and well designed! Great fun game overall.

chabuduo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Great work really impressive visuals and sound!

huminaboz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:58am

Grabbing aliens made me smile big time. Great use of two button mechanics. Reminds me of that NES game where you're a cool dude in a sports car avoiding cops and picking up babes. (name escapes me)

SpareWizard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:39am

I like the mechanic of more aliens is worth more, but more difficult to score.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:02am

Even though I'm terrible at this game, I enjoyed it a lot. It really helps that you are able to restart your game so quickly, there is very little downtime.

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:40pm

cute runner. have a great fun to play it

Studiosaurus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:26pm

The changing between levels is frustrating since there is an ease in and out, it should be instant, so that you can dodge things at the last minute. The flying blocks could maybe be a different colour that's more visible against the purpleish background. I couldn't find a way to escape the laser apart from to just run along the top, but then if you happen to get a red block fly out of nowhere while the laser's still going, you're screwed. I liked the city art. Music was very stressful to listen to.

Rocketship says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:35am

Fun to play, the aliens have funny voices and the art is also pretty nice. I would suggest changing the projectile color into something much more visible, especially when it flies so fast. Also the screen shake during the laser, even though very cool, hides the projectiles completely and they become impossible to dodge.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Really well put together!
A simple lane-switching game made interesting with the alien rescuing, I played this much longer than I usually play LD games for, well done!
I loved the little alien sounds, too!

shadow64 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:28am

Nice parallaxing! I felt the gameplay was solid, though there were times that I couldn't prepare for being attacked and was kind of trapped into dying. So I guess my only note would be on balancing that a little better, so that it only gets that hard the longer you've played.

Overall I think this is a fun experience taking from some known mechanics and adding a fun twist to it. The music and sound effects were fun as well. Nice work and congrats on finishing!

domo_demo says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:07pm

really like the idea! simple and fun to play :) music is a little bit .. repetitive?=p

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]