Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Double Jump

by GameDevExtreme - Jam Entry

Hardcore game made in a few (probably < 3)hours, as I didn't want to miss a ludum dare even when I had no time.

It's quite simple, there are two balls, red and blue.
There are two targets, red and blue(marked with a '+').
Your goal is to make each ball hit it's target.

You do that by pressing the following two buttons.

Right Arrow to accelerate the blue ball in it's direction of movement.
Left Arrow to accelerate the red ball in it's direction of movement.
You can also press R to restart, I don't think that counts as a button. (it's also not useful at all as it is never hard to fail).

After a ball hit's it's target it is allowed to fall out of the screen.

Simple right? Well, tell me if you can pass level 10(the last one).


I'm quite happy with what I managed to make so quickly, and I hope you will too.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#137Innovation(Jam)3.72
#360Theme(Jam)3.83
#778Fun(Jam)2.83
#874Overall(Jam)2.89
#1012Graphics(Jam)1.88
#1922Coolness33%

Comments

TaoPhoenix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:13am

Some of your games are skull bending! But I played Unconventional Earth a while back (though my comp is misbehaving now!) and I think I recall that one being fairly easy to grasp and beat.

(I think it was some kind of defend and slowly push an advantage kind of strategy.)

This one is too hard for me because I'm no good at visually assessing complex angles and stuff!

TaoPhoenix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:15am

He says instructions are coming soon but I'll jump in. You get to control the speed that two dropping / bouncing balls travel and then have to mentally calculate projected trajectories to get them to hit target spheres with a + sign.

I'm curious if any expert pool players try this one, it feels like a similar skil set needed, but you have two to adjust in realtime!

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Fun concept, but the gameplay was flawed due to the level design not being so great, I can't say much about the graphics as they weren't very good, but the game fits well to the theme. Never played a game quite like it, and with better level design and art and music this game could be good, but as it stands I didn't have much fun because it felt very random.

Anyway, it's better than nothing, so thanks for your submission! With some more polish this could be a good game, but as it stands it was mediocre!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Not my game but really interesting

dodormeur says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:09pm

I like the concept, but the level design is not the best.
I really like the music though

Dianouille says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Quite quick (but for game made in only 3hours, is quite long), but the gameplay is awful. I love the concept, even I can"t reach the level 5. Good job !

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:50pm

F*** YOU BLUE BALL!!! I HATE YOU!!!

Very challenging, though I have my doubts about the possibility of the final level...

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Nice game! Simple yet innovative gameplay.
I simply gave up at 10 :D

banana4life says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:30pm

For probably 3 hours it's a nice game!

NMcCoy says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:17pm

Creative use of the theme. Could have used some feedback on when a ball was actively being accelerated, as it was often very hard to tell what was going on.

x92rwzb says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:44pm

Cool concept.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]