Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sticky Stuff

by bradur - Compo Entry

Theme: Two buttons & Growing (both)

NOTE: Ludum Dare Website makes the web build cropped somehow, here's the link:
http://bradur.github.io/LD34/

This was fun one to make! Sticky Stuff is a puzzle game in which you try to reach your glowy blue friend by gathering more mass from sticky shapes around you. The game is played by rotating the character left or right, and waiting for the proper shapes to come by.

I really tried to put an effort to the sound & music side of the game, hope you like it!
The game is designed for 16:9 aspect ratios, but other aspect ratios may or may not work. You can always use a 16:9 aspect ratio and windowed mode if your screen is of a different aspect ratio.

WebGL build mostly works fine but might be a bit wonky with the graphics.

Playthrough video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-u1fQQjbyrI

Keys
-----
- Left & right arrow keys to turn around (or the on-screen buttons)
- Esc to exit
- R to retry a level (tap center on Android)

Features
--------
- 10 Levels
- 17 Different sound effects
- 1 Theme song (04:31)
- 6 Different shapes that attach to the character (Growing)
- Local high score system for each level
- Stationary and moving enemies

Tools
--------
Engine: Unity 5
Graphics: Paint.NET
Music: Linux MultiMedia Studio (LMMS)
Sounds: LMMS & Bfxr
Capture: Open Broadcaster Software
IDE: Visual Studio Community 2013
Text Editor(for notes): Sublime Text 3

About the builds
----------------
- Android build available (tested on Samsung Galaxy S3)
- Mac, Linux and Windows builds available (only Windows is tested)
- WebGL build works but some graphics may be missing

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#6Audio4.29
#22Mood4.18
#26Overall4.11
#52Theme4.31
#67Innovation3.95
#80Graphics4.11
#98Fun3.76
#556Humor2.22

Comments

SamH says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:24am

Great music and atmosphere, great graphics, very nice effects. Overall it reminded me a bit of Eufloria. I only did about 10-15 levels but they felt a bit repetitive (also, I need to test more games…), so if there are new mechanics/objects/surprised introduced along the way, you may wish to announce them sooner or tease more :-)

Boberro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:14am

While I didn't like the gameplay itself it all looks and feels... wow. And sounds wow as well. Good job.

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:44pm

I think this came together really nicely. This is definitely one of my favourite games this far in this Ludum Dare. I think the mood stood out as particular good - the visuals, the sound effects and the haunting music, together with the occasional texts. Nice!

wilsk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:08pm

A good solid game, nice sound, smooth controls. Thanks

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:50pm

The music and art works very well together! I love the atmosphere of the game. The game play is interesting and challenging (it spins faster and faster is a good mechanic). It gets repetitive quite quickly though.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:03pm

You should port it on mobile devices!

YinYin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:47pm

5 stars across the board, it's a gem.

Especially love how the player input sounds fit right into the music.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:13am

Really well made game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/LlS8bcKfkfQ

dustyroom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:00am

Just. Wow. Best game so far. Great attention to detail. Awesome visuals and sounds. Mechanics suck you in really fast. Great job!! 5/5

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:50am

It's a little bit slow gameplay in the beginning... But pretty good game.

zguerrero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Great concept! the music and sound are very good to! nice one!

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Clever, simple gameplay with very nice audio and art to make a it really solid experience all round. Good job!

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:44am

Fun to play, for a bit. It got repetative fast. It looked like a game made by Mr Blobby. The audio is a bit whiney. But as a complete unit it works well. Good Luck!

Jelinib says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:58am

Amazing mood, somehow even if it's just a game just about a spinning circle and things sticking to it. Also really fun to spin fast. Super well done!

banana4life says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Really nice game!

adsilcott says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:57pm

What a brilliant concept! It made me think of reverse bubble bobble, hah. Best use of audio hands down!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Like the concept very much, also great music

ramoncb says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Very impressive! =O

Fits perfectly with both themes, and is both simple and quite addicting! Congratulations! =)

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:25pm

I had a problem with the "I think I'm in danger" level, where I didn't have enough time... The blue blob died just as I got the 3rd triangle...

Loved the music, and I liked how you fit all the sounds into it as well...
The mechanics worked well, but the first few levels were too easy, it might have worked better if you introduced the block mechanic a little sooner...

Aelius says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:51pm

That watch out level is just madness. I don't even know how i could do it.

Dianouille says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Really good entry, one of my favourite. The graphics are awesome and I really love the sound. The gameplay is fun and innovative, and the level design is very good, with a great diificulty. love it !

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Fun game! I played this on a Galaxy S5, the whole thing felt extremely slow (it may be just me). The sounds, level design, and graphics meshed nicely to create a smooth, flowy aesthetic. Incredible job. 5/5 mood, graphics and audio.

AndyBrown says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Excellent use of audio! Really creates the whole aesthetic for your game. The gameplay felt like it was just missing something- maybe negative objects that reduce the amount of stuff attached? I still played through the entire game so it was enjoyable though!

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:16pm

very cool

RSquarStudios says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Very well conceived game! graphics are awesome and the overall game looks very polished! Great job

crucknuk says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:11pm

Excellent entry! The atmoshpere of the game is great and the concept is interesting! Good job ;)

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:30am

Great graphics, effects, sound design. Loved it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]