Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Star Warrior

by spolsh - Jam Entry

UPDATE:
Embedded post-jam WebGL version!


If you ever wondered what would it be like to ride winged space fighter across retro-synth dunes this game is for you! We've experimented with style and tried to capture best of top notch 80's cheesiest graphics.

As commander of rebel squad you're on the mission of defeating enemy worm on volcanic planet using only 2 buttons.

Settle back and enjoy the ride! May the force be with you!


Credits:
Michał Kłoś - fx code, graphics
Adam Małek - code
Damian Czajka - music
...and also:
Piotr Pawłowski - Sound Algorithm

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#61Graphics(Jam)4.46
#177Mood(Jam)3.68
#182Audio(Jam)3.61
#279Overall(Jam)3.57
#354Innovation(Jam)3.35
#418Theme(Jam)3.78
#432Humor(Jam)2.78
#455Fun(Jam)3.22
#2073Coolness26%

Comments

zamotany says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:57am

Really good job!

greeboCherry says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:38pm

I'm such a good commander, my wingmen doesn't do anything. Nice game, cool graphics, as Frank Herbet's Dune I liked the idea of killing a worm.

NecroMac says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Incredible aesthetics!
80ties cheese is strong with this one!

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Very cool idea, though i had huuge performance problems on a laptop which runs The Witcher 3 on ultra, i wish it worked better so i could experience more of this game.

Eingya says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Well done! Love the aesthetics!

SovietBear says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:25am

The song was kind of bland only having percussion, but the graphics are gorgeous, and the game is kinda fun to play too!

Manu & Wan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:39am

Really impressive work on the graphics, it felt like playing the first Tron movie on an old VHS :) Everything is nice about the art: the worm and its animation, the ships, the scenery... The Dune inspiration is awesome, but on the downside the reuse of Star Wars assets feels too obvious.

Gameplay-wise it almost works.

I'm impressed by the clever challenge of gathering all conditions to land a hit: a successful shot requires to be in the right direction, to have the time to load the shot, to release it while the worm is out, AND while I'm high enough on a dune, AND from a long enough range to steer away from the worm in time... This I can get behind, but when I realize I'm unable to put any kind of decent distance between myself and the worm, this becomes very frustrating!

I ragequit after about 15 attempts - I think I managed to hit him 3 times once, but I'm not sure how much life it has or even if it can die.

Overall congrats on this entry: it was well done and well polished, all it lacked I think was some playtesting to help you balance difficulty a bit and add some better feedback regarding the worm. I'd love to play a post-compo version :)

spolsh says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Thank you guys for feedback. Hang on! Post-compo version is almost done.

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Very challenging! the graphics are amazing too!

adsilcott says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:34am

Amazing graphics! My only complaint is that firing by boosting first is difficult, otherwise it's awesome!

Solifuge says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:00am

Pretty clever control scheme, there! Definitely made for some hectic dogfighting feels. Aesthetically, this felt like some kind of impossible mashup of Tron, Star Wars, and Dune, dunked in a fondue pot worth of 80's Cheese. Really dug the presentation.

I'll second that it was hard to aim over terrain without being close, and hard to hit the worm when close without colliding. Maybe the ability to keep the shot charged so long as A or D was still held might allow players to aim around terrain or swerve away better, but that may complicate the controls? Hard to say.

That all said, thanks for putting this together! Great work.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:33am

I love the way it looks and feels, the graphics are great!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:38am

The aesthetic is really special, but I like this wire style with gaudy colors. However it seems to me that you could decrease the difficulty. Overall it's a good project ++

Jwatt says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:49am

There's plenty of things that have got to be just right to even land one shot in a terrain like this. This premise could be interesting if dealt right, but the biggest frustration comes from the game not doing a very good job communicating where the worm is.

It's not easy to put my finger on what exactly it is that bugs me about that, but I think it's a mixture of
1) the camera angle,
2) the reticle pointing at an inexact direction,
3) misleading depth perception due to lack of luminosity differences with the distances you're dealing with, and
4) the worm's aggro respawning almost instantly after it's gone underground.

BROWNY_09 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:53am

Fantastic! Great music, lot's of fun!

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:56am

Awesome work! Loved the graphics and audio in this game.

Tuism says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:00am

Wow, superbly stunning, I was really excited at first, but then the game mechanics themselves don't live up to the hype of the visuals :(

The hold to charge and release to shoot thing means you have very little accuracy control. And since you have to fly straight at the worm to shoot it, coupled with the hills, meant that it was VERY VERY VERY hard to land a hit. At all.

Then the worm almost alway spawns right under me and kills me instantly. Unavoidable deaths aren't fun.

I would want to see more nuance in the controls, right now it feels quite dead, and not like a real spaceship (X-Wing if you wanna go there).

Otherwise the presentation is mad good. The sound effects got very repetitive, so not perfect.

Well done :)

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Daaaamn this looks nice. The tron meets star wars look you got goin here is very cool. Best looking 3d game I've seen yet and I think its because you made some really smart choices.

It plays alright, its a little difficult to have to get space between you and the worm in order to hit him since your boost and shooting are tied but I guess you were working under some pretty tight restraints.

I also LOVED that you made fellow X-wing AI and that you could accidentally blast your friends. That was really the kicker for me. Nice work.

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Really nice jobs, I love the moving effect on the ground. The x-wing has a good control. But the game really hurt my eyes :(

nosfer says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:18pm

super grafika i feeling lat 80tych, pozdrowienia z Polska i zapraszam do zagrania w moją gierkę :)

jsmars says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Beautiful style and great game!

Zyow says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:52pm

Graphics and audio are really cool! Good job!

randomhuman says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:09am

Very stylish, but the gameplay is frustrating. The controls are overloaded unfortunately. It might work if you were consistently flying above the dunes, or if there were more controls (I know, theme...) Maybe even press AD to fire, hold to boost might work?

jackrugile says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:30pm

I agree with the most the other comments regarding this game. The graphics and music are amazing, but the controls and objective of the game miss for me. I think what you did with the controls, since they are limited for the theme, are nice. However, the difficulty of aiming to hit the enemy paired with the difficult controls don't feel like a good mix.

I think if you can take this style, adjust how the enemy behaves and make it easier to hit, along with an indication of how much life it has left, it could be really fun.

I'm still absolutely blown away by the visuals though, so nice work!

Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:31pm

[ETC from Creative Sectors]
It was a really stunning experience. I really liked the vectorized, neonesque graphic style. I usually fond with this art style and I really like your implmenetation of the two-button control. It takes a couple of minutes to get the rythm of this game to kill the huge square worm of the surface.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:08pm

Great graphics design that made me think of that scene from Kung Fury, but the gameplay is so-so. It's too difficult.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]