Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Let It Grow!

by retrogradeorbit - Jam Entry

*** Runs Best In Chrome ***

Who said money doesn't grow on trees?

Grow your way to a million dollars!

Instructions
------------

Mouse and two mouse buttons.

Left button interact with game. Right button, hold down and drag to scroll.

To move the player, click on a damp spot on the ground as a destination.

To plant a seed, click on the player and then click the top 'plant seed' icon. Wait for the seed planting to complete.

To harvest a bush, move the player right on top of the bush. Then click 'harvest' icon. The bush must be fully mature to harvest.

Once you have some money you can use bug spray. Click the player and then the 'spray' icon when you are near bugs.

Bugs stunt plant growth.

Hippies smoke the plant and hurt your final yield.

Powerups:

Click the caravan. Top power up is 'level up player'. Makes them chop and plant faster. (cost 1000, then 2000, 4000, 8000 etc)

The bottom right icon, arrow up, is 'level up fertiliser'. Doubles the growth rate of future plants. (cost 5000, then 10000, 20000, 30000 etc)

The bottom left icon, a little seed, is 'level up seeding'. Doing this increases the possible maxium seeds that a plant will give you when harvested by one. (cost 10000, then 30000, 90000)

To win:

Earn a million dollars!


Bugs:

Sometimes you can spend more than you have and your money goes negative.
Cant move player to light green grass.
No win condition detected.
Needs tool tips and on boarding.
Hippies and Flies need AI tuning to scale game difficulty.
Various other bugs, too.

Tools:

Developed in clojurescript using infinitelives library.

grafx2 for graphics

jsfxr for sfx

By:

Everything from scratch over 72 hours by Crispin Wellington.

Never implemented a winning screen and was going to make hippies avoid you so you could chase them away, but ran out of time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#281Theme(Jam)3.94
#301Innovation(Jam)3.43
#306Overall(Jam)3.54
#362Mood(Jam)3.40
#382Audio(Jam)3.27
#447Humor(Jam)2.76
#479Fun(Jam)3.20
#639Graphics(Jam)3.20

Comments

Darek Greenly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:10pm

This is one of those game I could spend lots of time playing. Love it :)

chr15m says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:46am

Great balance! Love it. XD

Frenchie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:00am

Really well done. The music, art, and gameplay all fit really well together!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:16am

made me play for a long time~! pretty fun!! very balanced

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:42am

The graphics work really well with the gameplay. I love how this game shows that you don't need detailed art to create engaging gameplay. As a matter of fact, I think this game works best with the simplistic graphics it has. Great stuff!

danthedev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:49am

One of the best games I've come across from LD2015. Very balanced base that could become a great exploration/settling game. Also enjoyed reading your code — love cljs and had not heard of infinitelevels before.

prymidion says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:50am

Stylish and addicting.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:53am

Ok this is now one of my favorites.
Nice execution, really zen, art is good, growing theme is captured, well done!
And I played a while with it, more than with other games, so yeah, that's good

Cheers,
Ionut(Tyrants.not.found team)

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:58am

Interesting idea! I like the lo-fi graphics, especially the hippy sprite :D, though the buttons were a bit hard to understand.

Good work!

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Pretty cool entry. Maybe one of the bests I have played so far. The simple graphics style fits the game & audio etc. :) well done.

sonelliot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:04am

I really enjoyed playing this game. I like the style and atmosphere. It would be nice to have some way of scaring off the hippies haha. I just left one of my bushes as bait for them to crowd around and smoke, so that they would leave the others in peace.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:20am

Moody, Really liked the music.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Nice graphics. Well done.

samsquanch9 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Very fun jam game. Excellent work.

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:59am

Damn hippies! They need to get a job and leave my plants alone. What kind of berries am I growing, anyway, that they're so intent on smoking them?

Shide says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:51am

Somehow the major issue with this game was also the thing that hooked me. Didn't read the description and went right to the game, ended not understanding what's going on, so it was fun to actually try and understand what should I do and how to earn money. That's because UI is not obvious at all, which is bad, but then you can fix UI and make understanding the players functionality to a core gameplay. That would be cool. Still nice entry :)

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:54pm

It's quite slow pace, which feels nice. I mostly just planted stuff and wondered for a bit, and harvested what I grew.

Skywilly says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:25am

A great idea & a Two Buttons challenge really fine accepted ;)

Fadobo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Pretty cool. Tickles my Harvest Moon bone.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:52pm

Very nice and relaxing game I felt, even if you're taking down flies! I really like the art and audio, really captures the feeling! Great stuff overall!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]