Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Planeater

by qristofer - Jam Entry

You need seeds to survive. Plant trees to get more seeds. Defend your trees from alien invaders. When you have enough trees, you progress to the next level.

Could not get it to work with itch.io, so you'll have to download the zip. :/

Made by me (@qristofer), @Noxlof and @HarleyGlitch

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2373Coolness10%

Comments

davesoft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:38pm

The graphical style is great, fun game :)

qristofer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:10pm

@davesoft Thanks a lot! :)

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:32pm

This is great! Impressed. Plays well, looks great, smart audio. Love it!

veverichka says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Great graphics, great music, awesome gameplay, 5/5 :)

zebi24 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Lovely atmosphere. Makes you want to play more and more.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Great aesthetic and mood. This little guy on his planet is cute. However I think that this gameplay is a little bit repetitive. Overall I like ++

cilerba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:41am

Woah! Super pretty game. Spent a good 15 minutes lost in this. The premise is so simple but creates quite an interesting game loop. Only quirk is that gameplay becomes a bit tedious once you hit level 4 - could use some sort of tower/defense tree that helps ya out. Would really like to see this turned into a bigger game post-LD! :)

puddelipip says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:00pm

could not start the game :(

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Great game! I loved the art style and the gameplay is simple but addictive. Lovely atmosphere. This game could go places, you should consider continue improving this game!

randomhuman says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:45pm

Fun game, very stylish graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]