Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Save the Oak

by gv1351 - Jam Entry

My wife have planted a new Oak tree. But the rats, worms and birds keeps messing it up. BUT they leave seeds behind when they die. I must collect the seeds so that the Oak tree can grow. But one of the seeds is poison and it will kill the other seeds. Be careful of what seeds you collect.

Good seeds: Green and Purple
Bad Seeds: Blue

==============================================================================
Another great game by Givit Game Studios. A platformer shooter.
Visit our website for great games at. http://www.games.givit.co.za
Please enjoy the game and share it.
==============================================================================
WINDOWS ONLY.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#716Audio(Jam)1.85
#802Humor(Jam)2.03
#909Theme(Jam)3.07
#939Graphics(Jam)2.39
#970Fun(Jam)2.50
#980Mood(Jam)2.23
#1010Innovation(Jam)2.15
#1049Overall(Jam)2.57

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:33pm

nice game dude.

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Cool visuals, as well as an interesting idea. The size of the in game objects could've been bigger, like maybe zoom the camera in a bit next time? And also the waves spawned a bit too quickly to collect the seeds it seemed. But it was fun to shoot the animals and help the tree :)

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Neat little game. Took me a bit to figure out i could hold down shoot instead of clicking it for each shot. Nice work!

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:45pm

I love the idea of protecting nature by killing animals with a gun. Fun one

Robin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Pretty challenging game, could have used some more polishing. But overall pretty good :)

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Controls work well, found the initial difficulty a little high. Love the caterpillars, good work! :)

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Cool concept

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Fun game! The sounds hurt my ears though.

ManuSaiz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:12pm

That was fun! I want to find out which seeds are good and which ones are bad. Good job!

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:12pm

without imagination

fakefrogsonly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:15pm

The momentum-based movement, whilst unexpected, certainly added a lot to the fast-paced gameplay.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:19pm

This game made me think of impending doom more than growth. I really wanted the tree's health to be tied to its growth, but alas, I found myself desperately dashing around trying to prevent each and every blow. It was difficult balancing seed collection with keeping both sides of the tree within my weapon's video-game-flamethrower reach.

WolvesOfOdin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Nice game, it's pretty tough.

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:37pm

nice game

Chewie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Need some more polishing on the game play and graphics, but it works =)

Darkflint says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Cant play, Avast is blocking it :(

Andy Gainey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:56pm

A small suggestion on the seeds: If they were to flicker a few times before they disappear, that could be a helpful indication for the player to decide whether to keep running toward them or to give up and manage something in the other direction. Or in the case of blue seeds, when to start running toward in the hopes that they'll disappear before the player gets to them, making it easier to get to other seeds beyond the poison seeds.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:37am

Nice entry. The fonts are a bit much though - made it hard to read especially when pressing escape to quit as example. I died a lot, and quickly so I reckon difficult needs to be scaled a bit better to give players time to get comfortable with controls first.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:12am

nice game!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Neat little game!
Just a heads up: this is not PC only, it's Windows only. Computers running Mac OS X and GNU/Linux are also, by definition, "Personal Computers" :)

triello says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:38pm

I like your art style! Good work.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:55pm

the circle of life concept is cool but the game was not what I was expecting based on the description and logo ( I thought it'd be a bit more peaceful, haha)

My chief complaint: when i held down shoot my game made an awful noise.

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Interesting concept with a tree that progresses with you

fergarram says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:17pm

I don't like the graphics, It crashes all the time, sound effects play more than once.

Mikhail says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:03am

Nice game i like it!

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:37pm

It doesn't seem to run for me - is there maybe a 64-bit version?

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:09am

One problem about the audio: If I hold my mouse button, the shooting sound will play for many times, which produces an unpleasant sound effect.

Garris says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:30am

I like defense games in this style, but I think some more work could have gone into balancing. The game feels a little bit unfairly difficult at times. Maybe some power-ups or a way to help collect seeds. I think something might have been wrong with the shooting sound effect, but everything else seemed like it worked pretty well. Fun once you get the hang of it!

Troma says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:44pm

good concept and nice game.

jstan says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:53am

I really like the gameplay. Keep good work.

Krafty says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:15pm

This game was alright, although I think it should be a bit more polished. I died a few times without anything hitting the tree; maybe having a health meter for the tree would be good rather than having it get killed in one hit. Good job :)

Joror says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Quick shootin' game - pistol totin' treehugger defence. :)
Died a few times not knowing why (bad seeds? bird ate tree?) and in general ignore the color of the seeds since there was no way to avoid them.
Could have used some music for mood, but still a nice little game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]