Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Overgrow

by RyanMan56 - Compo Entry

You are Blossom, a plant that hates humans! Eat humans. Don't get killed by humans.

First LD and first time making a game in such a short period of time!
Good luck everybody!

Controls:
A or left arrow: Left
D or right arrow: Right

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#192Humor3.07
#506Theme3.70
#628Audio2.21
#644Fun2.93
#685Mood2.67
#711Graphics2.63
#792Overall2.83
#856Innovation2.38

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:32am

This fun. I like how the petals are my health. I wish I could get more petals somehow. It seems like everyone has a rocket launcher in this town :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:32am

This is fun. I like how the petals are my health. I wish I could get more petals somehow. It seems like everyone has a rocket launcher in this town :)

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:33am

Interesting use of the theme. Might have been helpful to be able to control your vertical position just a little bit, but nice work!

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:50am

Fun concept. My only complaint is that the game is a little difficult, as there are there are too frequent obstacles, and the collision is a little off.

swellbastion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:50am

solid. nuyce

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:34am

ITS AN EAT OR BE EATEN WORLD.
seriously this is literally just flowey running around eating people.Yeah, it's fun. for a little bit. Yeah, it follows the theme. coulda tried a LITTLE harder to have consistency with your style. MS paint flower and pixel art people.

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:35am

nice game, like others, i wish i can get more petals, it is a little bit too hard, but i'm not really complaining there, still a really fun game

Kortuga says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:54am

Hey look at that it's a flower, let's see what happens when he eats one of the peop-- HOLY F@%K THAT'S SCARY

Stuntddude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47pm

It's not immediately clear what the criteria for death is (I had to look at the other comments before I realized it was the petals, which, while cool, could use to stand out more. It gets easily lost against everything else going on visually). It's also not entirely clear that you're growing at all until you look at the text at the top. You seem guaranteed to run into a certain percentage of the rockets by design, meaning you make it about the same distance every time you play. If you could make it more feasible to dodge the rockets, and perhaps added a way to get health back over enough time, it could be a lot of fun trying to beat your own high score, but I don't think the mechanics are there yet.

On a positive note, I like the programmer art. It's oddly charming.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:28pm

THE PETALS ARE HEALTH! Nice touch! Took me a few goes to realise that. Fun idea!

brainstorm says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Innovation 2/5: Not really innovative gameplay. Nice touch the detail of the petals as health.

Fun 2/5: Funny for 3 or 4 attempts.

Theme 3/5: Grow doesn't affect directly to the gameplay, also, controls are a reference to the two buttons theme?

Graphics 5/5: Good combination of pixel art with the meme-faced flower :). Good enough for a 72 hours game.

Audio 3/5: Two sfx. At least it have something.

Humor 5/5: Loved the flower faces and absurd story.

Mood 4/5: Some music would be great, but graphics make a funny atmosphere.

Overall 3/5: Not bad, but needs improvements. Good for being your first game jam!

Tasgardyen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Nice work! The gamelay it's very solid, and the grahis are really cool, for the next LD, i'd suggest to work a little bit more on the design of the gameplay, you've a lot of room for improvment in that area ^_^

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:38pm

I'm confused on how to run the Windows download. I ripped the .jar, but now I'm confused as what to do next D:

RyanMan56 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:11am

If you have Java installed you should just be able to double click it and it should run! D:

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:42am

Was I the only one who thought of flowey the flower when I saw this?

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:45am

Nice job! It was often difficult to see the rockets from the people though.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Funny game, I like the faces when you eat the people. Caught me off guard the first time. Game is very simple, but fun

denycetm says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Didn't notice the petal thing until I read the comments. The trajectory of the rockets could be a little more standard I had one rocket get fired at a weird angle and it lingered on screen for a real long time making it unavoidable. I did like the flower protagonist.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:28pm

The differing art between the flower and the people is jarring but otherwize I like it. Kinda like the blob with flowers.

Tapehead says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:46pm

it's a bit hard to recognize the missiles but overall funny idea! well done :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]