Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Nodes

by Rob Glen - Compo Entry

Grow an ecosystem of gold gathering nodes in a quest to find every last shard known to exist in this minimalistic abstract two button game.

How to play the game:
Set a node adjacent to all shards (The diamond shapes) to complete the game.

Each node collects gold. That gold is then sent to other nodes until it reaches the base.

The base will send out reserve fuel to the nodes and it will spread out to the edges of the network (prioritizing giving fuel to the closer nodes).

To activate a shard you need the node adjacent to have fuel.

Nodes cost gold and so does fuel.

Activating all shards ends the game.

The larger the network the harder it is to distribute fuel.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#468Theme3.75
#526Graphics3.00
#554Mood2.87
#712Innovation2.73
#894Overall2.63
#936Fun2.13
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

kabel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:35pm

I wouldn't call this a game. You just press W and the game plays itself. It appears to be an idle game but lacks any motivation or gameplay.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:50pm

There is something microscopic beautiful about this.

Rob_Haines says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:59pm

This is an interesting concept; however, the two-button controls end up a little tedious once you have a moderately-large network (especially whenever I accidentally went one node past the one I wanted).

I'm afraid I also didn't really understand what the fuel was for, or why I would buy it. It seemed to be linked to the green bars on each node, but beyond that I was stumped.

qwetro says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:15am

I'm not gonna rate this, cuz I just don't understand.. Maybe you could write more words to describe something.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Not a bad idea and gameplay. Good job.

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:41pm

The two button scheme does not benefit the game play, only restricts it. But you did do both so it's ok.
This would work with ai or second player where you could compete for the nodes. As single player game there is no real condition to lose. Sure some patterns might be more efficient but you will eventually win if you keep playing.

sergicollado says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:41pm

hard to play, good idea :)

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Pretty difficult, but i like it.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:22pm

It was a nice idea, but I found that cycling through all of the available node positions each time I wanted to place a new node very tedious, and it didn't seem like I would be penalised by spamming w - to just spawn nodes everywhere in all directions, I managed to get all 8 nodes by doing this.
Good job nonetheless!

pcmaster says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Very, very minimalistic! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]