Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

WiggleTwig

by mikołak - Jam Entry

A veeeery simple game about being a sun and growing your plants.

The goal is to get as much energy as possible (sorry, no highscore implemented, and restart via exit!)

You move the sun with "M".

The sun has modes:
- normal, which makes the plants grow,
- "killer", which wilts the plants, but also kill critters that try to leech energy from your plants.

You can switch between the modes with the spacebar (two buttons, see?).

Critters will spawn at random intervals, more of them if you have more energy.

Plants will regrow completely from the roots, given the chance.

Sorry it's so basic (first time Jam entry). Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#475Theme(Jam)3.72
#532Innovation(Jam)3.12
#847Humor(Jam)1.67
#990Mood(Jam)2.13
#990Graphics(Jam)2.12
#1067Fun(Jam)2.12
#1080Overall(Jam)2.46

Comments

Auroz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Enjoyable game, got boring pretty quickly though. Maybe add some new mechanics over time to keep it interesting :)

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:13pm

I like the idea of using the sun, since it will only move in one direction, so that two button mechanic makes sense.

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:14pm

good at first, too long for the gameplay

dark_hunter says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Interesting concept, but try to find the time to put at least some music. Also it would be better if you don't have to wait alot.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Good idea, controls and use of theme. I would recomend to make it more challenging. Keep going with this jams, my first time too and I enjoyed it a lot!

Japes says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Cool idea! One thing that would make it cooler would be if the monsters had health bars or something, so that you can see how effectively you're hurting them. Same goes for plants. I assume your position matters, but some feedback showing your area of influence, or whatever, would've been good.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:23am

Good idea for theme. I like it.

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:38am

Neat idea for using both themes! :) I agree with Japes about the health meter though, it would've helped quite a bit.

Wevel says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Interesting take on the two themes, seemed like the mechanics didn't develop but a good first Jam entry

Dayko says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Very cool ideas ! Too bad that it lacks feedbacks/depth to make it more enjoyable and understandable. (I liked the way plants orient and lose leaves though !)

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:05am

Hah! I love the plants all struggling to reach the light. It was pretty hard to figure out how to balance the modes of the sun, but I did manage to get quite a bit of energy.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]