Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cave Adventure

by Yvanor - Jam Entry

//!! If you have an QWERTY keyboard, read the instructions in the description on Gamejolt !!\\

Hi! This is my second jam submission, Cave Adventure ! (original name yeah)

It's not a complex game, but if found it quite fun and I've made everything planned, so I'm happy ^^

In this game, you play as an young treasure seeker who explore an dangerous cave with an mine cart with two buttons: "slow" and "fast"..

Let any feedback, while it's useful for me it's okay, I'm here to learn ^^

But enough talked about me, thanks for playing, and good luck ! ;p

Musics:

Neo Western: http://incompetech.com/music/royalty-free/index.html?isrc=USUAN1100615
Robo Western: http://incompetech.com/music/royalty-free/index.html?isrc=USUAN1100675

Additionnal graphics (main screen background, buttons sprites and font):
Pixelboy, Prehistoric Pack

Game made with Superpowers, an awesome and intuitive HTML5 2D+3D Game Engine !
https://sparklinlabs.com

Twitter: @YvanorDev

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#508Audio(Jam)3.02
#522Humor(Jam)2.64
#586Graphics(Jam)3.31
#659Fun(Jam)2.98
#662Mood(Jam)3.04
#724Overall(Jam)3.10
#746Innovation(Jam)2.78
#1066Theme(Jam)2.33

Comments

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:02pm

How do i find out the controls, I mashed some buttons and figured out 3 buttons.

Yvanor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Sorry, there supposed an control screen when you start the game. I fix it and I reupload the game ^^

Yvanor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Ok, there was an issue with the saves. I fixed it and I reuploaded the game, so it should be fine ^^ (and for the buttons, you should understand now :3)

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:28pm

The controls weren't very intuitive I found. Graphics were nice though. Reminded me of the old Pitfall game :)

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:48pm

This game is really hard haha. But the graphics and design are really good. Good job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Retro graphics are cool

punkto says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Nice game. Weird controls :P

exhidor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:24pm

i like your game !

Yvanor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Oh man, I just understand why you found the controls so weird; the game is mean for AZERTY keyboard, and your is QWERTY keyboard. Sorry about it, I didn't think about it.

TheSnide says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Cannot run the game, got an error like
"MissingKeyMissing Key-Pair-Id query parameter or cookie value"

Yvanor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Wow, that's strange. I've tried something, but I don't know if it will solve this issue. :/

Yvanor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Oh, and one other bug; there is only one level before the temple, and there is supposed to be 6 of them ! Now I've fixed it, you can play with a FULL SUPER AWESOME USER EXPERIENCE :3

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Really cool game. Simple but addicting.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Cool, but controls are tough :)

lurils says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Besides the controls, that you already explained, the only problem I had was... I didn't figure out how to pass the wall obstacle heh
But that may be my own fault, either way pretty fun game.

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:00pm

The control were a bit confusing, and a lot of the times my cart went into a weird state where it was shaking and would not react to any button presses (maybe a physics glitch)?
Anyway the game is nice and works for the most part, I also like the low res graphics.

Yvanor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:08pm

For the wall obstacle, you have to stand to press the button :3

And the shaking is not a bug, if you don't slow down on the gravels you will lose the control of your cart for a while, so be careful ! ^^

Volatile Dove says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Nice! I like the low res graphics. Don't see that much the link with the theme though.

Big Cow says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Aww game stopped loading right near the end of the progress bar! It looks really fun tho sorry I tried :(

Yvanor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:39pm

The cart has two buttons, "quick" and "slow", that's the link with the theme :3

And yes, the loading freeze some time near the end, but the game launch after some time.

redmassacre says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:01pm

nice game, has flow and randomness and flow
but in qwerty there are very hard controls :(
you could duplicate on arrow controls - i believe in AZERTY the cursor is the same)
anyway - good job)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Great game, a little bit too repetitive but I like it ;)

trozen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Cool game, nice retro graphics. I don't think this really follows the theme too well. The minecart has 2 buttons but overall there are 4 buttons. It also took me a while to realize the button to press was "Z" and not "2". Beyond that it's a nice game.

anv says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Wild ride. Challenging, and controls layout is not making things any easier. Cool graphic style and music, with shop to spend your heavily earned money. Could use some more SFX.

JustASHadow says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:59pm

That control scheme though...

Nicolas Gass says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Did not liked the controls buttons, maybe configurable keys are nice.

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Simple yet efficient concept! Fat pixels fit the game well too!

PieChronicles says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:11pm

i couldn't get into the controls and they were a bit unresponsive so i kept dying.
but i liked the graphics!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Nice! But why controls are so weird?

Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:47am

The concept was really good, but the controls made it almost unplayable for me, they were mapped to Q S D Z, im not sure why these were chosen or if i missed something.
Maybe if you made the controls S to slow, D to accelerate, W to reach up and S to crouch it would be a amazing game.
:)

Yvanor says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Ok, I've found out how to make the controls easiers for QWERTY keyboards. Just press ALT and SHIFT together and use these controls:

A: press the "slow" button
D: press the "fast" button
W: grab high items
S: crouch
Escape: pause

That's should work ! ^^

Zyow says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Nice game with cool graphics! Good job!

jstan says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:54am

I really like the gameplay. Keep good work.

kmakai says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:28pm

Good job! It might help if some of the obstacles were a little clearer -- it took me a while to realize I had to slow down over gravel, and that I would hit some of the "overhead" things. Overall this was fun and cute.

XenosNS says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 4:59pm

Looks great. Controls were a bit confusing.

Chickenattack says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 8:30pm

This game was very hard but still fun. The challenge made me want to keep playing. The game was great

Jan 1, 2016 @ 9:51pm

Nice game: very good graphics, great audio, polished gameplay. Enough complexity to make it challenging, but it's very well balanced: I never felt that you were throwing difficulty at the player just for the sake of it.

Unfortunately, my keyboard configuration meant that using the controls was a pain, making the game a lot more difficult than it would have been otherwise. But I'm not going to hold it against you, since you didn't code with it in mind.

In short, a pretty simple but good game. The ending was short, but still gave a nice sense of closure.

alhvi says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:59pm

Pressing alt shift does not work for me to change keyboard configuration :S. Maybe an option in settings will be easier.

jigalx says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:25pm

The buttons you chose for the controls were incredibly strange, otherwise really good!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]