Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Marimo

by comatomatoes - Jam Entry

Experience growth with a ball of marimo moss. Grow in water to the size of the goal rings and enter them to complete each level. We support the latest Firefox and Chrome browsers on platforms with WebGL. Thanks for playing!

Some notes:
- Only some levels have the option to split your moss ball.
- The active ball can be split with the spacebar.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#323Graphics(Jam)3.78
#349Innovation(Jam)3.36
#483Mood(Jam)3.25
#492Audio(Jam)3.05
#600Overall(Jam)3.23
#600Theme(Jam)3.59
#809Fun(Jam)2.77
#839Humor(Jam)1.75
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:01am

nice game, though it had a few bugs, on the third level i was stuck forever in the water, and i fell out of the world, and the ball was floating in air.

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:03am

Audio gets really loud in the water. Was not able to double click on the web build. Did not understand what to do.

Epicruins195 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:10am

What I Liked:
- Good number of levels.
- Visual style is effective and consistent.
- Innovative growth mechanic.
- Very polished UI.

Things that could be improved:
- Controls are rugged.
- Some levels (especially earlier) are repetitive and don't use the growth mechanic much.
- Judging size relative to the rings can be hard and unsatisfying.

Pretty good base for a game, nice work.

comatomatoes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:16am

Thanks for playing!

@jcmonkey We did have some issues with terrain collision that we didn't fix in time -- we were banking on the reset button carrying us through. =P

@mattlevonian The audio increase was meant to indicate that the ball is absorbing water. The range is admittedly large. I'll clarify the instructions in the description.

comatomatoes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:30am

@Epicruins195 Thanks for the feedback! =)

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:39am

I really liked the minimalist graphics, it made for a very pleasing aesthetic. :)
I would've liked to have some sort of "sprint" button though, sometimes it felt like it was taking quite a while to get to where you needed to go.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:41am

This is a very mood-y game if I ever saw one. Interesting gameplay, soothing music, pretty nice experience all around!

Gunzil says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:28am

Sit in pools of water in order to grow just the right size for a judgmental yellow ring. Didn't find the gameplay terribly engaging, especially after accidentally growing too big, forcing me to restart. Would have preferred ways to mess with size via a shrinking pool, or having the goal be to suck up all the water in the level instead of sucking up just enough to pass.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:16pm

All the improvements I'd thought of have been named and answered already. I'd just like to add that I enjoyed playing this game.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Very nice looking game. Sometimes the ring was red (I assume this means I was too big) but I couldn't split.

Ghen says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:18pm

i like the presentation, very clean, the control is ok for me, the gameplay also ok
the music getting louder when you get into the pool for indicating it absorb the water a little bit weird to me, and it'll be nice if the music volume change had a smooth transition
overall very nice game :)

maartene says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:18pm

excellent usage of the theme, great mood (the level names really help) and great visual design.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]