Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Need For Seed: Undergrowth

by RhythmLynx - Compo Entry

Direct the growth of vines to avoid lawnmowers. If you run out of seeds, fly the bee to lots of flowers to pollinate them for more. Try to survive as long as possible!

I used both the 'Growing' and 'Two Button Controls' themes. I made this game in/for the wonderful PICO-8 fantasy console by Lexaloffle Games, you should check it out - http://www.lexaloffle.com/pico-8.php

Source is available from the itch.io page.

=== Update v1.1
Post-compo version with lots of improvements based on all the great feedback I've been getting in the comments, thanks a lot everyone! There's a changelog included with the updated version.

=== Let's Plays!
Some awesome people have been streaming/recording their impressions of LD games, mine included! Big thanks to these folk for giving feedback and helping spread the word.
- killswitch423 did a whole video! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UCBY6bV8YWI
- Lars K streamed it https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U397JBUuDWg&feature=youtu.be&t=7m15s
- Alvaro_as streamed it http://www.twitch.tv/alvaro_as/v/30132917 (jump to 04:03:47)
- Wasteland Dan recorded his impressions https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZqxXORTP7Gs&feature=youtu.be&t=1m32s
- ShaunJS streamed it http://www.twitch.tv/shaunjs/v/30293633 (01:33:35)
- ArchonTheWizard streamed it http://www.twitch.tv/archonthewizard/v/30288965 (03:06:00)
- Jupiter_Hadley gave her impressions https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i8PM6O3S2Ao&t=6m2s

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#54Theme4.30
#161Innovation3.71
#193Overall3.63
#249Fun3.48
#258Audio3.12
#261Graphics3.53
#262Mood3.31
#275Humor2.82

Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:46am

nice little game. the lawnmower coming off screen was nice

zatch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:19am

Cute, fun!

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:20am

Now that's a nice twist on the classic snake game. Loved the retro arcade game feeling, sound effects included. Took me a while to figure out the controls, but once I did it, I was having a lot of fun! :)

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:23am

This is pretty cool! I like the concept. The only improvement I would suggest is giving a little bit more of a visual indicator of where you're going to start sprouting next, as sometimes you waste some time trying to figure out where you are (also gets worse as more elements are on the screen). But other than that, I really enjoyed it. Kudos to you!

Halleflux says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:23am

The basic idea is very solid, but it was almost entirely luck based. I kept feeling like I never had any chance of doing anything in it, which isn't a good feeling to have.
Beyond that, though, solid graphics, nice sounds, and a good job implementing both themes rather well.
Great work!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:19am

Nice game, I really liked the sound effects. High points for mood for sure.

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:47am

the sounds and graphics made to feel nostalgic. I couldn't understand anything, the game is overloaded with functionality. need tutorial or hints. how do I win?

irwatts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:52am

Great presentation! I was unclear of my goals until the game over screen, but still enjoyed the experience.

Duobix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:10am

Too much text for me-explaining things-and the constantly dissapearing vine made me curious WTF was going on :D I don't know if this was planned or not.

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:34am

I feel like it was a little arbitrary how successful you could be.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:48am

Nice game!

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:59am

Nice art and fun gameplay!!

John Drury says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:06am

Fantastic! Really enjoyed this. The concept has potential to be a mobile game.

NuSan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:49am

Cool game, I like that you have a plant phase and a bee phase. Having feedback on where landmower and next plant/bee will spawn could let you plan instead of react to luck.

_stice says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Lovely game. I love everything about it! The audio, the simple, striking art, even how messy the screen gets as you keep playing.

laFunk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Super awesome! Quite engaging; I didn't understand what I was doing for the first minute but I was already engaged. Brought me back some child memories for real. Super cool retro feel!

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Sprouted for 134 seconds! :) This game is fun. Played for multiple rounds.

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Cool game! Got a bit cluttered as you progressed but I had fun, the graphics were great, the audio was okay and this is a nice little timewaster with pleasing aesthetics.

Thank you for your game, hope to see your games in the future as well!

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Hard to play.

Kapura says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Absolutely fantastic. The dual modes of play was a wonderful way to spice up the common two-button steering pattern of this compo, and the random vehicle coming in and destroying everything in its path kept the game from becoming overly strategic with the flower patterns. One of the absolute best I've played so far.

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Love it! Very replayable with a nice level of depth to it, it's fun figuring out what strategies work and don't.

wilsk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Nice work! Fun to play and a good retro feel. Thanks

Hegemege says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Both audio and visuals in similar retro theme, nice! Took me a few tries to understand how the game works, a sense of success after getting a nice combo :)

tgrehawi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Love it. Pico 8 is really charming (though I must curse you for introducing me to a new way to sink my time with Lua) and the lawnmower reminds me of duck hunt dog with its frustration induction. Great work!

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:42pm

My beautiful flowers died a lot :)

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:06pm

I didn't understand at first, having my growing plants for so very short time but later I got it and it was very addictive.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Great game, very innovative and challenging

diest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:39am

Pretty well designed and very unique. I enjoyed it!

walaber says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:42am

awesome entry! great interpretation of (both!) themes, and just overall really well done. I love pico-8 games :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:56am

My friend just sent me a link about PICO-8 last week. good job on the game

Acerio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:11am

Replayed this game several times it was really fun!

AdamAlexander says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:51am

Nice game, hard to get your head around initially.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Love the use of tank/vehicle controls to set where the plant grows. Game flows really well, very simple but very challenging!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Pretty interesting game! Took me a while to figure out what was happening, though, and the randomness made it pretty hard.

anael says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Nice :) the plants falling reminded me of Fruity Frank on Amstrad, thanks!

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Really cool idea!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:30pm

I really like this idea. It's neat, simple and immersive. Well done!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:29pm

A very well done and challenging game, I really enjoyed it.

I agree with others that having an indicator on where you are going would make the game a little easier. But to me that is the only gripe I have.

recursor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Quite an interesting and original take on the theme to take it back to the old school arcade feel. Nice job.

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:51pm

I like the idea a lot, and it's kind of philosophical.
You want to replay it all the time to try and get better results and that's good. However the randomness feels kind of unfair.

Good job overall :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:27pm

This has the perfect retro feeling. At first I didn't understand the controls/game mechanic at all (the movement kind of wasn't visible enough), but when you get trhough that it's a nice little game.

tedling says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Very cool game. Pico-8 is something I still have to try out for myself. The one thing that you missed: Handling what happens if the player moves out of the viewable area.

Dyn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:20pm

very cute pixel art and interesting idea

Jwatt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:33pm

A thousand points for the name alone. Bookmarked so I can try this after finals week.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Cool game, took a bit of getting used to but enjoyed it.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Really nice game, it reminds me of Atari 2600 games. The sound effects were pretty nice, it was fun to play, and I admittedly laughed at more than one of the puns on the title screen. However, some elements of the game were not quite clear at first, most notably the pollination.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:13pm

An all round nice game that's fun to play. Great job!

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:08pm

I liked this retro feel and the game was fun although took me a while to get used to :)

Well Done!!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:45pm

awesome, cool game, love the vintage effects

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:09am

Cute :3

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:46am

This had a very arcade-y feel, solid gameplay - although a bit cryptic at first - and nice game design ideas.

I enjoyed playing it, a lot. However, I felt like the placement of the vines and bees was a bit random and sometimes it would cause the game to be unfair. Besides that minor inconvinience, I think this is a solid game!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Really nice gameplay, had fun :3

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Interesting idea. Became more fun once I got the hang of it. Could be more intuitive and less deterministic though.

KZdev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:16pm

I had a lot of fun playing this

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:35am

The graphics for this game took me back to an earlier time when games were about gameplay and not flashy graphics. This is a beautiful game full of simple yet engaging gameplay. Well done!

Webravenz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:30pm

I don't understand everything but it's was fun !

Adam Gould says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:00am

That was really well made!

Joror says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:15am

Cool little game. Had some time figuring it out a bit. The screen gets a little too cluttered at times to see where I am. All-in-all pretty nifty.

oz2mura says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:48am

I was hooked once I figured out what to do. Devising strategies to how to get the most out of each run. I bunched up flowers together, only to be foiled by the lawn mower. Wanted to keep playing, but I has more games to rate!

my best score. :o http://i.imgur.com/1Jikuhe.png

Overall awesome!

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:47am

Nice arcade theme. The font is kinda hard to read though.

Efuvex says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:08am

Hmm nice graphics. Probably most drawn to it by the humour ahaha :) Got 75 seconds (is that how highscores work?)

Jod says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:59am

Supercute, loved the graphical density! Took me a while to figure out what to do!

Larzan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:03am

Nice idea of a snakesk-game, good look, but i didn't really understand the mechanics, the time ran off so fast...

KayZ says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Very nice game. Played it several times. Survived for 154 seconds in my last game. The post compo version has some nice additions.

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:55am

Very cool idea for the theme! I like how the role of RNG adds a skill mechanic to the game. Feels pretty balanced!

Excellent job!

batmanasb says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:50am

All the dead plants make it hard to seed (pun intended). It's a nice little game, really grows on you.

Jwatt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:57pm

A fairly unique experiment on using both themes, but it's very RNG as a game.

It feels very much like an arcade game, thanks to the whole PICO-8 environment. (I'll translate this to a high mood score.)

23 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:33pm

This is great! It feels good and like a real game, and the difficulty is right where it rewards a little practice. Sometimes having unlucky spawns can feel pretty unfair, though.

aemiliu5 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Need for Seed: Most Planted :P

Drauthius says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:43am

Was a bit confusing at first, maybe something could have been made to indicate what the player is controlling.

Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Nice little thing, the timeouts felt a little harsh.

Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Really neat, little game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/i8PM6O3S2Ao

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:46pm

My only problem with this is that the randomness of spawning fucks me over a lot, especially when I spawn off screen going away from the screen and literally have no way to fix that. o.o

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]