Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Fruit Shaper

by Rialgar - Compo Entry

Both themes, grow a fruit into a given shape.

Space to grow fruit cells.
R to reset level.
M to toggle music.
Anything else to change movement direction.

Levels 7 to 10 contain references to internet/gaming culture. They are made to look like popular pixel characters. If you feel that this is not OK for COMPO, there is an opportunity to skip these levels.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#88Innovation3.89
#506Theme3.70
#581Audio2.39
#591Overall3.11
#607Humor2.06
#711Graphics2.63
#731Fun2.78
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Really cool! Great job! :)

WebFreak001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Really nice game but i got stuck on the level with the cross in the middle. I just couldnt get in there

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:21am

nice game!

Indiestry says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:48pm

good concept!

thelasthour says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:08pm

clever little game. Seemed kinda sluggish thought but they could be a linux thing.

Geck0 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:10pm

cool

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Interesting concept. 2 controls were too much for this entry, how about 1? Nice.

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Really nice concept! great work.

wuppy29 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:09am

The controls are a little unresponsive when you're trying to get this one spot but you end up placing 3 blocks. However, awesome concept!

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:27am

Original game idea! I enjoyed playing your game.

omaha says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:32am

The game didn't seem to want to trigger level completion for me. Do you have to get it 100% correct to move on to the next level?

Weloxux says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Oh, a puzzler! Loving the concept, although I think players should be punished more for going outside of the perks.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Neat idea, but I wasn't sure how to fill in a hole I accidentally made to progress to the next level.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]