Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Kill the Christmas Trees

by rd127p77 - Compo Entry

Chop down the Christmas trees while you try not to fall. But wait there is more, there is a surprise at the end.



Controls:
A - Jump
D - Swing Chainsaw around like a crazy man


NOTE: If there is anything wrong with the link or game, please let me know.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#489Humor2.35
#670Audio1.80
#781Theme3.29
#790Graphics2.45
#840Mood2.13
#920Innovation2.00
#930Overall2.48
#945Fun2.05
#1611Coolness44%

Comments

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:56am

Funny little game. Dat ending tho. Good job!

Pepejson says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:02am

Quite good, however it's more like "one button conrol", cause you can hold D and kill all trees. You should add more game play, it could be clicking "D" in right moment, otherwise a tree kills you, something that makes this game more intresting

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:12am

Tis a nice little game :P I played till he end but the screen just flashed white and closed... idk if that was supposed to happen? ...was that the surprise :D ??

Big Cow says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:55pm

I killed all those trees. Ha ha he got his comeuppance tho! Tree killing noise hurt my ears a bit.

Pusty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:55pm

I don't know why I turned into tree fertilizer but ok.. xD
looked ok but the chopping sound was too loud

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:56pm

winter is coming)) nice little game

tweedle says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:46am

Neat little game. Good job with sticking to the theme!

Troma says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:16am

We can't kill the christmans spirit! Haha good game.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Ended up closing the game by accident so I couldn't properly see the ending but this was quite fun to play.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Simple game, a nice start, but definitely needed more. Maybe some obstacles that you can't cut but have to jump over? Fit the theme nicely of course. Good work overall.

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:31pm

I think the comments have already covered everything both good and improvable. I say continue the development of the game, if not for anyone else, for yourself. See what you can make of a simple concept and run with it! Great job!

LordKawaii says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Interesting idea :) Definitely could be expanded on, the ending could have been better built up to (Could have added some text joking about the inevitability of your fate etc)

shadow64 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:08pm

OH NO MY BONES! Simple, but quick. The tree sound was a little loud and the game could use a counter so that you know how many trees you're chopping/how far you are, but those can be added later. I actually hopped over the ending the first time I played - lol! Nice job!

Ryusui says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:35am

Simplistic but not bad at all. It could use some music, and maybe some more dynamic difficulty (i.e. the game speeding up over time). And maybe a proper score mechanic to justify killing all those Christmas trees. ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]