Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sunder Farm

by BudaDude - Jam Entry

DO NOT PLAY THE GAME FULLSCREEN, THE GUI WILL BREAK ON SOME COMPUTERS!

Sunder Farm is a game heavy inspired by Harvest Moon.

You play as Jenny, trying to pay back her massive debt of $200!

Buy seeds and sell harvest to progress and watch out for rabbits!


Controls:
* Right mouse button to assign tasks
* Move Mouse near edge of screen to pan camera.


This game was made as team with me and Kyle. Check him out at https://twitter.com/Kyle_Crafty

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2073Coolness26%

Comments

SethR says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:39am

Nice style on the artwork. Gameplay seemed a bit slow and I never found more kinds of seeds to plant, maybe that was it or they show up later, unsure.

Trash Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:41am

Art was really pretty, but the gameplay was a bit too tedious, and for a Ludum game, I feel the play sessions were a bit too long. I can't iterate how much I like the art, though.

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:43am

I love it. It just a little bit to slow for me :) It would be great if there were a chance to speed up ;)

adamyounis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:25am

This game is *so* slow! A fast-forward button would be really appreciated. Otherwise, a really nice and relaxing experience. I enjoyed the music and graphics a lot. I especially adored seeing that little yawn animation at 25% energy. That was a great touch. I think with a little more pace and depth, this would make a great little game to have running in the background while I do stuff at work.

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:33pm

It's right up my alley, I love farm sims. But it's a bit slow, would be great to have things speed up a bit. :)

Nicolas Gass says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Nice style, game needs more speed, nice graphics.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:34am

Nice relaxing game. Until a rabbit tried to steal my carrots out from right under my nose!

thristhart says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:07pm

I loved the little animations - the yawn and falling facefirst when you're out of energy. (I can relate!) There was a lot of downtime where you just queue up all the actions and watch it slowly go, but I was fine with that because I was just listening to a podcast and managing a little farm. I'd like more things that I can do while I'm waiting for animations to play out! Very enjoyable!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]