Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Velociraptor Cyborg Post Apokalypse!

by LadyS - Jam Entry

What happens, when you put together a group of ten programmers, artists and gamedesigners for a Ludum Dare Jam? 3 mechanics, 3 artstyles and one game. This is the outcome of our really weird and hella fun experiment.

You're Jamie, a Raptor-Cyborg-Postman living the post-apokalypse in three acts. With "F" and "J" you navigate through his life. Firstly, you have to collect all the letters in the post office. But be careful, you can only move through magnets drawing you to them or pushing you off. Made it through? Perfect! Let's jump to Jamie's last tour before the post-apokalypse. Now you drive through the town, putting the mail into the right mailboxes. But be careful to collect enough food on the way, else you won't make it! With the end of this drive, you'll end up in the hospital. The accident was really bad, but as ambitious as our beloved protagonist is, he aims to leave the hospital without official release. You take control over his heartbeat and breathing and lead him through the hospital and into the city.

EDIT: For all the people that cannot get past the first game: PRESS A TO SKIP LEVEL.


We're a weird bunch of german gamedesign- and programming-students:

Programming

Julian Viezens
Vivien Baguio @hollowspecter
Benjamin Barz
Sebastian Krause
Yasmin Juncker


Art

Maxine Hammen
Julia Wolf
Saskia Hohmann
Michelle Kaufmann
Maximilian Furrer
Yasmin Schraven


Music

Vivien Baguio @hollowspecter
Julian Viezens

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#51Innovation(Jam)3.98
#61Humor(Jam)3.87
#137Graphics(Jam)4.17
#141Fun(Jam)3.68
#152Overall(Jam)3.76
#170Mood(Jam)3.69
#191Theme(Jam)4.05
#223Audio(Jam)3.54

Comments

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Wow, very interesting concept. I had a lot of fun, great job!

George says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:42pm

I don't know what's going on but it's fun! I had a little trouble getting past the first level (not the tutorial, the one after), but after that it was pretty fun - good job guys!

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:02pm

A lot of fun to play. Only thing I can note is that it was really difficult to aim in the second chapter.

Xinelu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Wow, so much fun, dinosaurs wow

monetai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:21pm

it was kind of hard understanding how the game works, but yeah, raptors!

ohmaigawd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Wow this was fun! It took me a while to realize I need to sort letters in second chapter. 5/5! :D

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Fun to shoot random stuff from the past raptors FTW :)

vinipereira says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:19pm

The OSX link is off.

gv1351 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Fun game and great graphics

uthamon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:50pm

It wasn't RAPTORRIBLE, but it was RAPTORSOME. Nice concept and game overall.

newbeings says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Awesome art! Real cohesive.

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Wow, this game was all over the place :D You really have to fix your GUI, in full screen most of the stuff was outside the screen.

WitchLake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Whhhhaaaaattt??? :D

LadyS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:13pm

The UI should be fine if you pick the right resolution for your screen :o its tailored for widescreen 16:9 or 16:10 tho

JALgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:40pm

As some of the others, I had some problems understanding the games (especially the first one), but the game was really gorgeous and polished!

UntitledQ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Until now I didn't know that I wanted to be a Velociraptor Cyborg.

Neoludo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:22am

What an experience! I have no idea how you made this in 72 hours. It was sometimes a bit hard to work out what I was meant to be doing in each chapter, but it was still damn impressive.

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:23am

Velociraptor. Cyborg. Post apocalypse. Grawrl!! Liked a lot the idea, m kids had so much fun watching me play this one. Well polished graphics and good mechanics.

2pae says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:28am

i love the sound and very moody. Congrat

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:49am

hahaha three games in one... really nice use of two buttons as well :) understanding each game was a little difficult but I figured it out in the end and died peacefully... well done!

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:18am

It's an interesting concept and quite a lot of work done for that short time. Graphics are so detailed, I'm impressed, but the audio is just annoying after a while.

StitchesMagoo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:50am

Hahaha super cool entry guys, love the graphics and I was totally seduced by dinosaurs. Well done.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:25pm

‚ÄčThis is very beautifully done! Some of the minigames seems a bit obscure. E.g. I never really knew when to throw the letters exactly. Some more visual feedback would have been nice. Also, in the hospital one, it wasn't immediately clear to me when to press the heartbeat key. I found out through trial and error, but it would have been nice if a short explanation was given before the game. It's still an excellent game overall though! Very content rich and just plain beautiful!

domo_demo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:19pm

You died too early!!! :)) I like the idea of having three completely different levels. well done!

NuggetTeam says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:28am

Interesting concept, it was funny to play, though the games were difficult to understand, and the first one a bit hard. But graphics are well done, it has a lot of work besides it and the humor is great :D

Abominas says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:45am

You rated my game, so I figured I would check yours out :D
Neat idea and pretty fun.

Ludum34 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Coooooooooooooo00000011111111l!!!!

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:28am

Raptor, I love you.

local minimum says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:47pm

Great graphics and generally well designed games, though the controls were really hard on the first and last chapter.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]