Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Jumping J.A.C.K.

by Donar - Compo Entry

Hello Everyone,

From the two available themes, I chose "Two button controls". Mainly because I already participated in a GameJam this year that had the theme "Growth", so I took the one I didn't already think about.

Used Software:
- Unity3D + MonoDevelop
- Photoshop
- SFXR

This game is a pretty simplistic platformer. Since I had to implement two button controls, you can't walk in this game; There are other ways to move, especially when you have a grappling hook and a thruster.

I hope you aren't here for nice art, because that I can't deliver. If you're looking for great music, this is also not for you. If you like platformers though, please feel free to give it a try.

Regarding the Source code: Feel free to look into it, copy it and do whatever you want with it - just don't sell it as it is (not that anyone would buy it). It's pretty quick and dirty, as it is to be expected in 48 hours. 90% of the Code is in the CharController.cs and I didn't really write comments. I'am also well aware that the code is not really the most performant but well, the game doesn't really require a high end system.
Btw. I used the PSD files in Unity but I didn't include them in the source package. Instead I added PNG files, so Unity might have some missing links.

Last but not least: Good Luck to everyone participating.

//EDIT:
I've added a Unity WebPlayer Mirror on Kongregate, since it's more performant than WebGL but requires additional software.

I've also added Linux and Mac OSX Binaries. The OSX Version is not tested, so please leave a comment, if it doesn't work.

The Linux Version works but on my native Debian with official NVidia drivers it lagged quite a bit - it happend to older games as well though and they worked fine a while ago, so I assume it's the new driver or something else specific to my machine. On my VM with a virtual GPU it ran better than on my native GeForce. Please also leave a comment if everything worked for you.

All those new builds took a while because I wasn't able to make it run on Linux with Unity 5.3. I didn't build the Mac version because it might be an OpenGL problem (if Linux doesn't work, OSX might also not work). I downgraded my Unity to 5.2 and had to change some code, because 5.3 had a few new methods. I didn't notice a difference but I can't be sure. I didn't update the Windows and WebGL Versions, so it's still the unchanged code compiled with 5.3.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#88Innovation3.89
#233Theme4.00
#320Overall3.44
#325Humor2.71
#387Fun3.28
#785Mood2.42
#844Graphics2.23

Comments

BROWNY_09 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:50am

Great job man. Impressive work for such short time. I found the limited controls very difficult but made it more satisfying to complete levels. Having a limited amount of fuel was a smart idea. It really makes you think and plan out what to do.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:53am

Really enjoyed the game. Though, I couldn't beat the "Sometimes you have to let it go and fly"-level :D

It's really difficult to get the feelings for the controls, but after a while I was having a blast! Great Job!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Frickin' 'ell, this game is bloody difficult. But an interesting concept, nonetheless!

Donar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:34pm

@BROWNY_09: Thanks, I'm happy that you like it.

@GenusNymphicus: I wonder how you tried to solve that level. Did you use your thruster to gain momentum and than swing up or did you just grabbed the ceiling and then used the thruster to fly up? The second solution is much easier; I'm not even sure if the first one works.

@justinooncx: It's supposed to be difficult, so thanks I guess. I would be really sad if someone plays through it in 10 minutes without any problems ;)

fistmaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Very difficult game. The "let it fly" level was too much for me. Great controls and a good concept.

TheWzzard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:58pm

The thruster stops working periodically for me on the web version.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Enjoyed it! Very innovative controls!

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:59pm

It’s a good idea for a game. Good job.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Difficult platform puzzle with neat physics, really fun to play if you don't mind restarting the level several dozen times =)

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Very fun, nice cute character was very charming

mrjorts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Awesome platformer! I think it works really well and feels like the 2 button controls really fit. It has a great difficulty curve and some really satisfying challenges to pull off. Great job.

Andrei_S says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Well done mechanic.
The limited fuel makes it harder, and I did not noticed that there was a fuel meter at first. I thought the game had a bug :P

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:46pm

crazy hard game with very intelligent mechanics and design in general, i like it, good job!

exhidor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Nice game !

icereci says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Got stuck at first, but figured out in couple of restarts.
Nice game.

ahmeni says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Simple, awesome execution. Controls difficult overall but I think that's why it's so fun.

Indie L says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Very hard but very good!Nice job!

puddelipip says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Really difficult control scheme (using gamepad) but lots of fun, thanks!

I didn't notice the fuel meter until a few retries, thought it was a bug :)

Auroz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Fairly enjoyable game, although the controls seemed needlessly complex.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Really good game! I love the constraints you place in the controls. It really forces you to think about how to beat a level. It is hard but definitely rewarding!

Donar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:29pm

@Auroz: if you ever read this, can you specify what you mean by "needlessly complex"? If you, or anyone else, can give me advice on how I do it less complex with only two buttons, I would be very grateful.

guru-guru says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Super hard.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:36pm

It's pretty difficult as others have said but quite fun to play. Maybe the grappling hook should have shot at the place your mouse was pointing.

Donar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:40pm

@Digitaldude555: I decided against that, because I understand "two button control" as "two buttons only" and not as "two buttons and whatever non-button input device you got".

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:34am

This was a neat mechanic, nice entry!

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:10am

Nice game! Controls were hard, but in a game with only two buttons, things are bound to be hard. ;) I enjoyed it though. Each level, even the "tutorial" levels feel like good accomplishments once you beat them. I also like the idea of have a fuel limit, even though it is a little bit nullified by the restart button. Good job!:)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Neat idea, but I think it would have been a lot better without the fuel limit.

teamvr says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Cool concept for theme. Physics indeed.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:27am

The utilization of two buttons is pretty cool, and the hookshot feels pretty neat. Probably enough challenge without the limited thruster - this was a bi frustrating to run out of. Otherwise cool stuff!

Dec 31, 2015 @ 6:37pm

I really liked the physics aspect of this, and it was very satisfying to make jumps etc. I found it just a little too frustrating to play for long though, I appreciate that not being able to go left was part of the mechanics, and it was interesting, but it just felt like a bit of a grind to me. This definitely deserves high marks for theme as you took the limitation and built the whole design around it, and I know there will be players out there who appreciate the challenge

Mar 30, 2016 @ 1:55pm

Very challenging! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/S5oK4fsls3Q

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]