Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

InertialGrowth

by PurpleApes - Jam Entry

Just a small Flappy bird in Space with a growth Factor:

Do not forget Inertia!!

Do not Collect the Blue stuff!
You may not notice but you get bigger!

HighestScore 52 by @Pantoufle :p
Impressive !!!

Enter to Start

Arrows Up and Down to play.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#624Audio(Jam)2.69
#645Theme(Jam)3.55
#790Mood(Jam)2.80
#879Fun(Jam)2.67
#926Graphics(Jam)2.44
#1010Overall(Jam)2.67
#1031Innovation(Jam)1.97

Comments

fistmaker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:11am

Controls were very touchy, but good job on sticking to the theme!

qwetro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:28am

Can't play it on Chrome. Saw a play button after loading, but it's not responsive to mouse click. I tried arrow keys, enter, space, blabla, just couldn't start.

PurpleApes says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:11pm

@quetro which version of chrome? Should only respond to ENTER.

Keelan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Controls were twitchy but you do eventually fall into a rhythm of small bursts which feels fun to play. I would have made the points based on just passing through the asteroid lines instead of getting the blue things. But I liked it a lot. Good job:)

PurpleApes says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:46pm

@Keelan Thanks a lot!
Actually the points are the number of asteroid line you pass!
The blue "things" make you grow in size(like sweets :P)!
Do not Collect them if you can :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:02pm

It's very hard to find the right rhythm to play this, but it's fun.

Cheers,
Zazine (Tyrants-not-found-team)

Stuntddude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:26pm

This is a fun game. The controls are touchy indeed, but I suppose that's the point. The controls are challenging, but not at all frustrating - when I lost, it was always obviously my mistake and not the game's fault, which in my opinion is exactly how controls should be. Once you get into the rhythm of quick taps, it's hard to stop playing! I enjoyed the chill space ambiance, some sound effects would be good too.

And since games like this seem to invite competition, I will brag that my high score is 28 :P

Taldius says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Controlling the ship was difficult, but I like how you've managed to make a game far enough from Flappy Bird.
Good job.

antonuklein says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Controls are a bit too floaty and touchy, but it's a solid addition to the theme and fairly fun overall. However, I only got to about 11 (which was several plays worth) before I gave up. Music's amazing, though, seems like something to come out of EVE.

Pantoufle says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:08pm

My highscore is 52!
I like how you managed the difficulty curve. The game becomes harder as we get the blue things, but they are hard to avoid.
I would have thought of a more rythmic music for this game, but it is overall really good.
Congratulations!

ssodelta says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Nice game :) It takes a while to get use to the controls but from there its simple classic enjoyment.

rujo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:30am

very basic gameplay, needs some extra polishing
nailed with the theme but could be a little more original

Auroz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:22am

Controls didn't feel very good and the idea was fairly unoriginal.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:26am

Once you get grasp on controlls it is pretty enjoyable game, my highscore is 42

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:37pm

The concept is a bit old now, but your game add to a different gameplay, and reward players for being precise on their movement!

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Nice challenge ! Didn't go beyond 20 though :(. Well done

tazdij says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 6:58pm

overall I thought it is a fun little game

Skywilly says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:23am

Nice try for this theme ! :)

Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:17pm

It's monotonous, meteorites barrier is always the same but shifted, it'd have been a good idea to add another type of barrier as you get points. I would have thought of a more rythmic music for this game too. But its a nice work! Well done! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]