Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SupRunner

by agilejoshua - Jam Entry

Warning - unexpected things may happen make sure you open the game in a new window...

This game is primarily for Windows users. Designed in collaboration with my son (xit123).

*****

A two button variant of an infinite runner.
Run by pressing ALT and F4 alternately.

Go for your highest score - you have 15 seconds, Good Luck!

*****

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#11Humor(Jam)4.30
#225Theme(Jam)4.00
#464Fun(Jam)3.21
#651Overall(Jam)3.18

Comments

agilejoshua says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:23am

My highest score so far - 4816!

ohmmus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:02pm

You are evil for putting the controls on ALT and F4, but it's a fun game, so i re-opened chrome to come back and give you some good ratings! =p

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Great idea using ALT and F4, we just cracked up when we read the description

uthamon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:32pm

It was great idea to design the game around, I mean putting controls on alt and f4 of course. It such a small thing, but makes the game stand out, makes it unique. Nice.

chaomoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:34pm

omg that's the best idea ever haha

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Hilarious concept. Well-executed, although kind of frustrating that there's no lose screen!

joekinglake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Fun concept, great humor, well executed... ;)

xit123 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:40pm

*cough* *cough* Concept, Game Design, Art all by me but go ahead and take the credit Mister Programmer ;-)

Auroz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Certainly an interesting idea.

Dokthar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Nice, lot of fun thanks to the horrible key mapping.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Big humour rating from me, but alt f4 and space bar that's 3 buttons!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Score: 2849. Brilliant button mapping :D

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Funny idea, good job :p

foolmoron says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Hilarious idea. There's not much beyond the initial humor of the alt and F4 buttons though.

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:26pm

ahaha great idea! some fomr of scoredboard would be great. Good job!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Pretty simple but wonderfully evil.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:52am

Ahaha That was great. Almost rebboted on my third attempt.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:59am

Ok 4846. I just came back for the highscore :D

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 8:58am

Gah! You are too clever! That is pretty hilarious honestly. I totally didn't get it at first and closed my only window that was open. XD

Nice job. :P

markusfisch says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:21am

Creative but mean. A striking combination :)

Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Damn, clever, clever, clever, sooo clever and hilarious!!
I love it so much!!

_benhumphries says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Such a great idea! Why program a loss condition when you can use Windows for it. The game itself is simple but it is very innovative.

Fadobo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:23pm

That's deviously creative. Love it!

Nicolas Gass says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:54pm

3855 =D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]