Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SPEED COURT!

by flwns - Jam Entry

SPEED COURT is a game about quick and arbitrary decision making.

In SPEED COURT, there is no time for tedious tasks like reviewing evidence, or waiting for juries to decide verdicts. You(Judge), must decide someone's fate by quickly judging their NAME, CRIME, and FACE, then hit F (for Freedom) or J (for Justice).

I encourage you to review the SPEED COURT[Official Guidebook®] within -[HELP]- on the main menu, to better understand your role as Judge.

(there is a mini-game on the main menu, Hint:RGB)

fullscreen is a bit broken

Thanks for viewing.


[Mechanics]
All faces, names, and crimes are randomly generated. A guilt amount is calculated for each character based their facial expression, and crime.
If the sum of your face and crime is above a certain guilt threshold, the character will be determined guilty. If they are under this threshold, they are innocent.

Your Job is to arbitrarily determine if they are guilty or not by judging their face, name, and crime.

This mechanic is not perfect but it feels accurate for a good amount of the time. Certain face elements with stereotypically "evil" characteristics weigh more toward the guilt threshold. Similarly, for crimes, the severity of the crime is based upon a simplified US law system of (infractions, misdemeanors, and felonies), where felonies weigh the most towards the guilt threshold. If you incorrectly judge people(i.e. sending a guilty man free, or a innocent man to prison) 10 times, you will be disbarred. If you commit 5 time penalties you will be disbarred. If you correctly judge 10 people, with no more than 1 time penalty you will receive a special message.

Stats: (possible faces = 36k+)(possible names = 10k+)(possible crimes = 180, pretty low in comparison to the other 2, I found it hard to find good lists of crimes so I had to enter these manually)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#101Humor(Jam)3.69
#150Theme(Jam)4.10
#286Innovation(Jam)3.45
#464Fun(Jam)3.21
#472Audio(Jam)3.10
#592Overall(Jam)3.24
#614Mood(Jam)3.10
#634Graphics(Jam)3.21

Comments

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:12am

Nice idea ! Love the procedural generation for the characters, impressive for a LD game. Really interesting idea. The artwork and animations are very well done. Great work :) Cool arcade use of the theme :)

fergarram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:25am

The art could be better, the idea is ok. I like the audio.

yesandgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:32am

Nice, this one is hilarious.

xevozfighter says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:33am

I got sort of a "Papers Please" vibe from it. Found it hard to tell if people were criminals or not.

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:47am

This is the next Ace Attorney.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:14am

Enjoyed it! Great idea with speed identifying targets. Good use of theme :)

Ghen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:14am

eh this remind me of a game in steam, forgot the name, pointing finger or something
quite nice idea with the speed judgment,the audio nice, and the graphics probably need a bit more workout as a jam works
but overall great :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:16am

Neat idea, kind of random as to which people were criminals but overall I liked it, nice job.

VideoDog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:16am

Slick Intro graphics and fun concept! Wish how many "strikes" you have gotten was displayed.

sirono says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Hahahaha, How a meaningful game. It also test my english skill. although it is a simple graphic but it is fun.

pkenney says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:02pm

An interesting idea well executed. First playthrough it felt a bit too arbitrary and maybe like it was just a joke, but then I read the description and I started to get better. I still didn't get the special message for being a good judge though, I always made a few mistakes and never just one.

The variety of faces is great, the crimes are often funny, and the conveyor-belt court system with the hammering fist ruling in the absence of evidence was all a nice farce.

Good work.

luysse_l says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:59pm

nice word man

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:13am

After trying a few times I could infer no correlation between facial expression, crime and guilt. Fun idea, would like it to be a bit less random. I think the music in the help screens is the nicest.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]