Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Griffin Card

by uheartbeast - Compo Entry

In Griffin Card you play different number cards to give your pet Griffin the power it needs to defeat the evil growing tree creature.

The first time you play the game TAKE THE TIME TO READ THE TUTORIAL. This game can be a little confusing and I spent a large portion of the compo creating the tutorial.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#8Graphics4.56
#77Overall3.89
#86Innovation3.90
#124Humor3.35
#167Fun3.62
#228Mood3.36
#857Theme3.06
#2373Coolness10%

Comments

nameoftheuser says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:05am

Its good, btw im peanutbutterluver on twitch ;) still working on ben x ryan fanfiction date simulator 2022

Mattress says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:13am

Watched some parts of the stream. :) The game, without any bias of, you know, how awesome you are ( XD ), is pretty great. The humor in those text boxes made me laugh a little when I heard them (and, well, I created one), and I could play this game for hours. Good Job!

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:24am

Interesting concept - it feels like a few things aren't covered in the tutorial, though. Using a card that goes above the enemy's defense seems to have strange effects with no real clear explanation as to what caused them.

Ethan Allwood says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:26am

A card game I actually like... Now thats rare. I loved the stream

SagyDemn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47am

There are some bugs

Jakylgamer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:11am

nice concept :)

guigaichi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:13am

i liked it. nice graphics. i think would be better if the enemy growned 2 points by time. And for me does't make any sense if i'm over powered i loose points.

Peekotus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:26am

Really awesome graphics and some funny text boxes with okay-ish gameplay.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:27am

I really like the animation. Great gameplay too.

Gunn3rboi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:46am

Great game really enjoyed it, though i do think there is a bug with adding a card that goes above the enemies defense, it set the players attack to 1 and takes away defense. other than that its a great game with great graphics.

GagaPete says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:38am

I love that art. The gameplay is pretty cool but a bit repetitive. The game should not force you to play the tutorial, as long as the info isn't stored across sessions.
A bit more enemy variation for a postcompo version would be great. May with their own special abilities.

dvdfu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Great mechanics and graphics! Got to a score of 138. the stat swap card is very interesting. Also felt like the tutorial nicely introduced the game. Only problem is that I didn't pay much attention to score, to gold cards weren't very compelling. Great game otherwise!

Tsundown says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Very well done game, I feel it could be expanded upon to be really awesome! Maybe have various sprites, etc.

uheartbeast says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Thanks guys!
- Gun3rboi, make sure you pay attention during the tutorial it explains that mechanic. It isn't a bug.

- GagaPete, info should be stored across sessions. I'll have to check that out. There may be an issue in the HTML5 version.

-dvdfu, Gold cards add to both attack and defense. They can really help to get a bigger score and if possible you should always give them to your creature. Great score though!

mar3k says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:10pm

This game is just amazing I was really surprised when I found out that this is not Jam, but compo, really well done, I played a lot of it and enjoyed it.

et1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Amazing gameplay, art, sound, screen shake, and puns.

loxo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:53pm

I like the idea and the graphics very much. The game is fun to play and looks very polished. A great game that's definitely worth to work further on. I would like to see more enemies and more card types.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Neat idea. However, the tutorial didn't cover all the cards so it was kinda sad that I didn't know what I was doing after the tutorial.

Good concept though. Wasn't sure how it fit the theme.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:04pm

lol "Pine have it your way!" But this game was really satisfying and well made... the art was really nice for the compo ;D My hat goes off to you.

uheartbeast says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Elenesski, Yeah, the tutorial took quite a bit of time to do and I didn't have to to explain every card. I was hoping that the player could use some experimentation in that regard. :) Thanks for playing.

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:17pm

The art is amazing, and it is a great concept! I think the tutorial could have explained a bit more (like the swap cards?) but other than that is was great!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Loved this! Looks great and it's really fun. I hope this is worked on more! Some ideas of things you could add: function modifiers like add/subtract/multiply/divide, a mulligan card that discards and redraws entire hand, maybe have doubles restore a bit of health. Just a few ideas I had off the top of my head after playing :D

Maixior says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Great game :D love you style <3 please more!!!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Wow the pixels are so cute. This game is really a nice one... can feel the love of the creator inside of it :D

uheartbeast says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Hey chunkybrewster! Those are really good ideas! I'll have to do a post compo version.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:25pm

This was fantastic! I love this and would love to see this as a somewhat bigger game, with more cards/mechanics/bosses.

This game somehow makes you feel super smart with it's awesome mechanic. It's fun to be able to use all 3 cards in combination to get the perfect attack/defense values.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:34am

Good Game! Congratz!

ProgramGamer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:47am

Cool idea and execution, good work! Wish there were music though.

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:39am

Loved everything about this one! From the amazing visuals and unique and fun mechanics to the aw(some?)ful puns, really fun game.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:51am

Great artwork. The user interface looks really nice and polished. Agree with some of the others, could have used some music. The penalty for not totaling the enemy's defense didn't seem to work the same way the tutorial explained - or maybe I just misunderstood.

uheartbeast says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:44am

Hey SeriousCreeper! That is great feedback! If that is the part of the game that makes people feel the coolest I should give score bonuses when you *combo* cards. :D

Anarbitrarymustache: Yeah, I'm still not sure the best way to explain that. It sort of loops around the enemy's defense.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:51am

Very good game! Unique and interesting. A very pine game indeed.

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:53am

Love it, nothing less from my "mentor" haha

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:56am

Great entry. I love your art style and the tutorial was very well made. The decision to block the game unless you finish the tutorial first was a smart one. I think audio could have helped a lot with creating the mood but I understand priorities and what not. Overall this was awesome and inspiring to me.

Jebby says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:14am

Amazing pixel art as always, keep up the good work!

huminaboz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:36am

Love the art, reminds me of Ogre Battle just a tad. Lots of detail to the tutorial. I'm still a little confused on the gameplay though.

ehgoodenough says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:01am

You even had time to make a tutorial?? Good work!

Zeriver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Huh interesting game mechanic and nice job with tutorial, quickly shows basic mechanic and in real game you kinda get grasp on new rules on the fly (like new "special" cards).
And as always, graphics are fantastic!
BTW so far my top score was 111 but im sure i will get better score later ;)

lonewookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Fantastic! I love the gameplay. It's simple, makes you think and gets pretty challenging! Great job! I love the art!

dusho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:01pm

really good math game :)
solid gameplay, addictive
art is also really good

PeteDS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Good job Ben, enjoyed watching you make it on the stream and seeing how it turned out! Loved it!

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Congratulations for you game! The gameplay is very clever and creative. I really liked the art. I wish there was different enemies and cards

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Super cool card mechanic! I'm not usually a table-top type of gamer, but this was a lot of fun!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Quite an interesting mechanic. Well done. :)

oxonwater says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:03pm

for post compo release you might want to consider going over the score system as right now you can essentially get as high as you want by staying in an early level(one where the enemy has 1 attack, but you can still draw up to 6's from the deck) and just cycling your cards into enemy defense for 2 points each. Whenever a gold card comes up give it to your creature to get more health and save any stat swaps for when you get low hp to get it back up. This can last really long unless you're very unlucky in draws(especially with a mulligan every turn). I never lost doing this, just got bored and stopped.

broknecho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:07pm

That was really neat! There were times when the numbers just wouldn't come close to matching so I would definitely have to take damage but overall a really neat mechanic for combat.

I liked how it was a sort of puzzle game mixed in with the combat. More thinky than the bejeweled like combat systems. Nicely done.

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:36pm

I liked the puns! Cool card mechanics, kept forgetting I could give cards to the enemy.

ORECROS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:38pm

gorgeous art. The game is pretty fun, I got 130 on my first. some more variety in card types for post-compo would be cool, like x2 or something

uheartbeast says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:39pm

oxonwater,

Hahaha interesting. I'm working on a post compo version I'll have to fix that.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:07am

A really cool game mechanic that works well, along with very nice graphics. Great job!

fishtrek says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:08am

Rules were a bit weird and unintuitive, but still easy to see a crazy amount of effort went into this. Great pixel art too, btw.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:52am

Nice minimalistic card game, Math ftw! ;)

srichards87 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:55am

***SPOILERS!*** I figured out how to go endless with the game. The tree opponent will only have 1 attack until he has been killed four times. At that point he spawns as a 2 attack / 6 health creature. The trick is to simply never kill him a fourth time, as soon as he spawns as a 1 attack / 5 health creature you stop killing him entirely. In order to do this you buff his health with every white card you get. Soon enough he will be a 1 attack / 30 health creature. You get 2 points every time you play a card on him, and even when he is at the maximum life total of 30 he will continue to take cards.

With this strategy you will only ever take 1 damage a turn, so then the goal becomes fishing for golden cards. Golden cards add to your health as well as your attack. Because your opponent will always be at or near 30 health you are never in danger of killing him with golden cards. Each golden card in essence gives you at minimum one more turn in the game. As the game progresses normally the card values naturally go higher. So the 1 attack / 5 health opponent is the optimal choice, you will have the highest value golden cards and the minimum amount of damage intake each turn.

Additionally you want to mulligan every turn in order to fish for golden cards Throw away polarity cards first unless you happen to get two of them for a double swap on the opponent, doing so nets you 2 additional cards, increasing your chance of getting a golden card even more. After the mulligan play white cards on the opponent and golden cards on yourself, clearing out your hand entirely. Doing this gives you the maximum number of redraws and ultimately lets you break the game.

I'm impressed with what you accomplished in the very short time frame Ben! Thanks for providing quality tutorials. I hope you will consider doing some tutorials on Android/IOS extensions for advertising and In-App purchases. There is very limited information or tutorials on the internet or youtube. Either way, thanks Ben!

Rodaja says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Interesting game mechanic, well explained and well executed. I feel that with some sound effects and some music the game would gain a lot. Good job!

Codexus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Nice sprites!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:42pm

it's a simple but very gameplay! like it very much!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Really good amount of strategy in here, I like how you can use cards on your enemies to aide you somehow. Really good sprite animations as well! Great job!

redmassacre says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:44pm

hi, gm bro)
the game has a flow - i liked it a lot
Graphics is cute
And source is shared- thank thank thank you)

blohod says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:38am

SLightly confusing at first but I had fun, really cool.
judged on stream at http://www.twitch.tv/meep706, watch the highlight to see me play

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:53am

Liked this a lot! The art looks great and the concept is really interesting and unusual. Really impressive compo entry!

Bogden says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:58am

Really cool idea, but the game is kind of unloseable if you just flip the tree dude's attack to 1, and constantly buff his defense. You keep getting points for spending 3 cards per turn, and you get way more defense than he can take out.

http://i.imgur.com/qL2dwqA.png?1

Would have been cool to make the attack grow every turn or something. Awesome graphics though!

Anachron says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:38am

Fun mechanic and really good pixel art!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:07am

246

Great game! Very original concept that just works. Really enjoyed this - would love to see a full game. It would also be a great math learning tool for kids

blackmagic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:56am

Interesting & original gameplay! the game might deserve a full version with more ennemies, animation and good music!
Keep up the good work!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:16am

The game art is beautiful and fits the mechanics and theme well, and you get tree puns, what's better than that? It's good that there's a tutorial that you must go throught the first time you play, because the defense loss mechanics are kind of difficult to understand at first, but very good entry!

propter_ludus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Pretty cool game!
The effects looked very good!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:03pm

This is excellent. If something like this this was made into a game about fighting creatures with "alchemy" you could use it to teach freshman college chem students how to to balance equations. I know edutainment usually sucks but you're onto something here. Seriously nice work.

Also I'm pretty sure you're the same guy who I attempted to learn to pixel from on youtube based on your art style and name, so thanks for that too.

francoisvn says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:03am

I'd love to see a mobile version of this. I wonder if the penalty for going "over" is perhaps too much at later levels, but that can always be tweaked later :)

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:06am

an odd, simple, beatiful and fascinating rpg mechanic, good work!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:00am

I played a swap card when I had 0 attack and died. Oops. I was doing pretty well too. Love the puns.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:24am

nice game - good graphics and well thought out mechanics

Larzan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:45am

Love it. A bit difficult to get into indeed, but very captivating once you start playing.
The theme connection is a bit slim though...
Sweet touch with the funny comments of the trees, hehe.

parias001 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Wow! Really addictive! I can see this game been popular for mobile devices!!!

careless says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Some nice pixel art and a good UI. Good work.

Tselmek says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:23pm

I'm in love with the mechanics. I couldn't handle all the cheesy puns :P Great pixelart, just wish there was a little music. Awesome entry nonetheless.

hexagore says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:47pm

It's nice this. Not sure how it fits into the theme.. also I was surprised to die instantly when using the swap defense/attack card on myself? Still, solid entry.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Beautiful graphics and well polished, but the gameplay isn't really for me. Really needs some epic battle music.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Beautiful art, and the dialogue is funny, but the gameplay isn't really for me. Really needs some epic battle music.

Patomkin says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:20am

The idea is really cool, but it got really boring after a couple of minutes. Oh, and please add a tooltip for cards with effects.
Overall - a surprisingly good quality for a compo game :)

Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Pretty cool idea :)

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:36pm

Highscore: 385

Great Game!

Simple mechanics and really good art...

just missed the sounds to complete the environment!

Congratulations!

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:24am

Stopped at 100. Nice game - if more creatures and different cards probably would be fun longer. Excellent graphics and sound, good gameplay... very smooth. Great job!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:54am

I really love the pixelated art and your concept twist is neat. It took me four or five run to get the core of the game. I really miss a good soundtrack from the background, it goes well with keygen and chiptune music. It has a great potential with more creatures to fight, for example against different "trees".

Jan 11, 2016 @ 10:44pm

Lovely graphics, well made game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/qJFJJ6gq7Ak

mao says ...
Feb 19, 2016 @ 4:33am

It's surprisingly addictive! Also it works really well with a touchscreen :3

My only complaint is that it could use a little more 'spice', like different enemies and a fancier death animation.

TolMera says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:20pm

This Game is awesome! I wish I had kids so they could use it to learn basic Math! Capital A Awesome!

Dunno if this was fixed or not, but the game stops you using overpower cards on yourself and taking the damage. Or if that was an update.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]