Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SUPER SCIENCE CORP

by Hot Box Games - Jam Entry

DESCRIPTION
---
You are a janitor at a high tech scientific research complex called SUPER SCIENCE CORP.

After a busy day sweeping floors, you decide to take a quick nap in your janitor's closet.

Somehow, in the 10 minutes you have been asleep, catastrophic events have occurred.

All employees have been evacuated & the complex is overrun by strange mutant insects.

Use the power of an experimental DNA disruptor hand cannon to take on these beings - you must make it to the generator room and press the TWO BUTTONS to shut down the energy reactor that is feeding these mutants.

But watch out! Energy can make these monsters GROW and become something much, much worse...

Luckily, you have your trusty broom - use it to sweep away any toxic goo they may leave in your path and smash them in the face like the badass janitor you are!

CONTROLS
---
WASD/↑←↓→ - Movement
RMB - Aim Weapon
LMB - Broom Sweep
RMB + LMB - Charge / Shoot Weapon

THE TEAM
---
Jess – Programming Lead
Sean – Programming, UI, Online
Sam – Music, Sound & Art
Ollie – Art & Animation

TOOLS
---
Engine – Unity 5
Language – C#
Editor – Visual Studio 2015
Sound – Pro Tools, Elias, Musagi, SFXR
Art – Illustrator, GraphicsGale, Pyxel Edit, Paint.net

DEVELOPER NOTES
---
We decided to make a linear game playthrough this LD. While we are quite happy with the end result, we did have to cut a lot of the planned content (extra rooms, voice clips, etc) due the obvious time restrictions. This also gave us less time to polish the game, we wanted a lot more fancy particle effects and other little touches - oh well, that's LD for you! :D

Knows issues:
- Broom sweep does not sweep enemy parts (oversight on our behalf, you can still use it to clear goo).
- Aiming slowly becomes slightly misaligned over time.
- Reported occasional collision errors with bullets.
- Changing resolution options in-game doesn't seem to work correctly sometimes (fullscreen).
- Linux version may not work (we can't test, so if you could confirm that would be awesome).

NOTE: This game uses online leaderboards/stats. You may receive a firewall warning when starting up the game.

Looking for people to Play + Rate your entry?
http://goo.gl/forms/RnbPQ3WTtK

Thanks for taking the time to look at our entry, we hope you enjoy! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#68Overall(Jam)3.95
#76Fun(Jam)3.85
#149Humor(Jam)3.52
#154Audio(Jam)3.70
#170Mood(Jam)3.69
#350Graphics(Jam)3.73
#575Innovation(Jam)3.05
#883Theme(Jam)3.13

Comments

SovietBear says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:12am

This is an awesome game, especially considering the fact that it was done in 3 days! How big was the team?

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Solid entry!

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Waiting for the Linux Version! :-)

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:42pm

A good idea for a game rather unusual. Good graphics and nice gameplay, great job

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:07pm

I love the story and the graphics are great. Aiming, firing, and trying to move all at the same time made it hard but it wasn't too bad. It's a nice addition.

Great game!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Great entry. This is an awesome project, considering the fact that it was done in a few days. The janitor reminds me The Big Lebowsky :)

tGiant says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:04pm

This is the best game so far for me.
Well done guys.

Zulgot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Pretty fun game - a lot of action :)

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:12pm

good game with beuty art

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Though I don't see how it fits on any of the themes, it is a great game, considering it was made in three days. I finished and absolutely loved it. Amazing!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:21pm

This is a great entry. Very polished, lots of fun and with a great use of the theme. The fact that enemies grow when hit is very original and fun. Also the voice acting is top notch.

anv says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Atmospheric sci-fi top-down shooter in the vein of Hotline Miami. Though not obvious at first look, enemies are surprisingly varied, with various stages and abilities and main weapon can be upgraded with new attacks through the game. Overall, very nice.

PanKamil says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:30pm

I like that you don't know what enemy do you deal with until you attack it. So you literally have to shoot first, think later.

Big Cow says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Brilliant gaming experience! Reminded me of Alien Breed :P Really balanced difficulty. Required strategic cannon firing and strafing . Liked the upgrades. Liked the funny guy on the tannoy. Just really good work well done!

ViKing Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Upon first running the game, fullscreen was completely broken for me. My mouse had to be in strange areas to click buttons, so I could barely make it through the menus. Luckily Alt-Enter puts it into windowed mode. My monitors are 1366x768 and 1280x1024, if that means anything to you. It started on my second screen instead of my primary, and it didn't function on either screen.

Once I was able to start the game, I would frequently stop being able to move, the hand cannon shots would stay still instead of moving (although I could use the broom to sweep them towards enemies), or the hand cannon would stop working altogether. Once I got to level 3, I died to these glitches and an enemy that wouldn't die no matter how many times I hit it (I even used the sweeping laser thing from earlier to get around 20 hits on it at once). After I died I got a voice clip, but there was no way to reset, and it just stayed on the same screen. Restarting the game brought me all the way back to level 1, so I stopped playing.

Bad experience aside (it seems like everyone else was able to play the game just fine), the graphics and audio were both great. The ambience was good, and the voice acting was funny. Good use of both themes, for reasons you already know I like the 'hitting enemies makes them bigger' idea.

It's clear a lot of work was put into the game, but it stinks that I had so many problems trying to play it. If I get my new computer before the end of the rating period, I'll redo my review. For now, I've left fun and innovation out of my ratings.

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:18pm

The game is super awesome! I liked the story, audio is perfect, gfx are nice, great story and it has this half-life-feeling!

Well, I have some points to mention:
-Screenscrolling could be better. Sometimes it feels like the screen would run behind the player.
-Sorry to say that, but aiming is a pain! It seems, that your aiming-algorithm uses the position ~1/2 tiles to the right and bottom as the player-position. This gif might explain, what I mean: http://imgur.com/Jg0q7hU
-The thing that buggs me the most is the fact, that my firewall told me, that your game was trying to access the internet. Why is that? Is it some unity data collection, I (the player) am not informed about? This may be a bit exaggeratedly, but I get quite mad, seeing programs trying to make a call home without any good reason, especially, when that happens in bg ;)

You have created a really awosome game with minor flaws! This is one of my favorite games this LD! Nice! :)

ViKing Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:19pm

To add to my previous comment, I was running the game on Windows. Forgot to mention that.

daveh says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:09am

Great work. The controls were solid. I liked the different forms of the bugs; there was a good variety and I liked not knowing what they were going to become until I'd shot them for the first time. The voice acting was a nice touch and added some humour.

Echo Team says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:24am

Half-life Miami!

intXparts says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:11am

Fantastic all around! Loved the ambient music, it was really creepy and fit the mood perfectly. The variety of enemies and their transformations were great. Keep up the awesome work!

Firellon says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:01am

Well done! Thought gameplay strongly resembles Hotline Miami, there are several new features making a game more interesting. Theme's connection is nice, graphics are decent (very good pixel art), but overall mood lack some backstory and dramatic moments. Dead are everywhere, bugs should be eating them (why not?) and protagonist is more like poker-face about pretty much everything, what feels. Game's easy and I did not need broom even once, because disruptor is more than enough in every situation. Bugs actually are more dangerous when close to you rather than shooting at you from a distance.
Very, very good work! Good luck!

MrMordem says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:08am

Awesome, just completed it, really nice work for something done in 3 days, dig the graphics, the audio is awesome for the voice acting alone, the humor is spot on, and i like how you always get the surprise of the mutants evolving and you can never guess what form they'll take, solid entry overall well done :D

Warboys says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:36am

Really brilliant stuff. Hilarious dialogue, solid gameplay, horrifying creatures (god those gaping maw things were terrifying). Not sure what else to say! The hand cannon bullets seemed a little buggy at times, hitting invisible collision objects somewhere. That's my only gripe! Also I was hoping that sweeping would be more used in terms of the combat design, although I got to use it a ton in the last room... great work!

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:57pm

I am in the top 10! Great game, had a lot of fun.

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:59pm

I managed to find a windows PC to run the game. Linux did not work, I tweeted you about that,.

Now to the game:
It is super awesome for an LDJam entry! Sound, graphics and mood are just perfect. The sneery narrator is a little bit overdone but that might just be me. It worked well enough.

A few points I noticed:
- Internet accesss, as noted before. I guess it's for an online highscore? But without knowing this, this is kind of bad.
- I too noticed the aiming is off. This is quite annoying.
- The first weapon upgrade changed nothing. I guess it already worked correctly before picking up the upgrade.
- You can sweep away chair and TV's but not the actual remains of the bugs. Like this would be your proper job! And the game does not allow you to do it! ;-)

I hope this didn't sound too negative. I consider your game one of the best I've played so far.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Whoaw, really polished entry, it's amazing what you managed to do in 72 hours. I like how you can interact with pretty much everything in the game, you can use desk to block enemy and buy you some time to get distance between you and monsters. Voice acting was also pretty neat. Really good entry in every aspect.

fafastudio says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Wow i surprised myself to play the entire game !
You have a story, a voice actoring, some real graphics, a pretty good sound design, and i simply loved the color-monsters system !

The only lack for me is the music, but i guess you had no time for that ^^
Very nice game !

PieChronicles says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:34pm

well thought out game, really enjoyed it. awesome work on the audio. Would have been nice to have something else to do in the empty rooms while the tracks played though.
really enjoyed it overall.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:40pm

This was pretty fun to play although I have no idea how to kill the bugs properly without mutating them by accident.

ramoncb says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Impressive!
There's a lot of content, voice acting, and a well polished presentation, even for the Jam.

You guys should totally keep working and improving this game! Good job!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:33am

Great game, good idea. A few tips:

- Make the intro faster or the level bigger when the narrator is speaking.. takes too much time to take to the action.

- The broom is obsolete.. remove it from the game or make it usable.

- Make the shower room 10x faster.. don't get the player out of the action. (I gave up on the 2nd shower on frustration even when I knew there were more game up ahead)

DeepBlueJeer says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:39pm

I really liked the feedback from shooting the monsters. I could shoot them all day.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:18pm

This is a very well executed premise. I did have a hard time getting past a couple doors and I could not tell if it was a puzzle (did I have to sweep something into the doorway to keep it lodged open?) or a bug?

Still very solid game. The radio bit was a nice touch.

"Let me see if I can get this door open for you... Boop." Made me laugh.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:18pm

This game is soo cool!!
Voice, weapon upgrades, different monster and boss fight!!
Congrats very well done!!

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:27pm

amazing game! The story is nice, graphics are aweseome and the sound fits perfect. Good job!

AndyBrown says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:30pm

There is an insane amount of polish here for a Jam Entry. I am thoroughly impressed, nice job! It felt like a complete little game, with a lot of attention to detail. I didn't mind the break from the carnage that the shower rooms provided personally, but I can see how other people would dislike waiting.

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Final Score 1,172,183
Best entry I have seen!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:32am

Love it. It's a huge work for three days.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:34am

Great work on this guys. Especially with the voice and story line included. This answers the question of what would Roger Wilco be like if he was an action hero. Just wish the broom had been more useful.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:02am

The game is nice, I feel as if there was a certain expectations that was set from the start when you showed of the physicality of the environment, that was kind of a bummer not to have any reasonable way of using that for anything.
The audio was a bit lacking also, (Mac build untested) there was only the door opening and a couple more sound fx, which is fine tis but a jam, but the door opening and closing gets on your nervs when its the sound you hear most often for the whole game :p
Pressing the buttons on the machine was a bit buggy, took me some time to get it to work.

Other than that graphics were great, polish was great, a great entry love it :) had a serious Half life mood to it, which is always fab!

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:56am

Amazing game! Great work in all aspects.

abuzreq says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:34am

The game really has no clear drawback at first glance ,
I liked the voice acting(I hate him now because I deserve to live :P )
I couldn't tell what kind of bug the one I am fighting will evolve to so I think it's random.
but I really liked the variations in them.

I wondered how are those metrics about accuracy are implemented.

I hoped for a different way of upgrading other than increasing number of bullets.

well done !

pkenney says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Wow, seriously? This is a full-featured and very complete game for a jam, I'm impressed!

The voiceover is great. The graphics are very nice, and often a true-top-down protagonist has no character but your art does a good job of avoiding that pitfall. The variety of monsters in both look and feel is great. The mop is a hilarious and fun touch. The end is very satisfying... A complete package!

If I had one nitpick it would be some of the tactics I ended up choosing because of the controls. I would often, especially when walking up or down where I have less sight distance, feel the need to be ready for sudden battle. So I was constantly walking around with the charge-up going. This had a couple of downsides, such as moving slower, not having quick access to the mop, and not really learning to dodge the charging guys as much as I should.

Maybe the whole "hold right click to aim" thing isn't necessary. What if the guy was aiming by default (but not moving slowly) and right click used the mop. Holding left click alone charges the shot.... I dunno, just a thought. The whole thing was great, but I have this feeling there's a slight tweak to the control scheme that unlocks a bit more fluid interaction.

Joror says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Great polish! Love the voice-work, it really upped the mood. Movement and shooting feel good, maybe an added 'dash' move might have been cool to add some diversity there.

MoreRPG Team says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Wow, great game!

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:03pm

I liked it, my only regret is that there not so much to sweep.

shadow64 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:16am

Thanks for playing, voting, and commenting on GET IT OUT!!! I really appreciate it and plus it gave me the change to play your entry! I had a lot of fun. The upgrade system worked well, the enemies had enough individuality so I wasn't bored, and the VO was great. It reminded me a lot of the style or Portal or The Stanley Parable. Definitely had that same feel going for it. I enjoyed the art too. Also I think this is a really good example of a game that can have mood (those footsteps were a nice touch) AND humor (the VO and some of the enemy audio).

Thanks for sharing and congrats on finishing! :D

Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:46am

Really nice work!

r8berto says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Nice game, a lot of content in there. All alien forms are realy cool :D

nosfer says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:24pm

awesome, reminds me of half life in 2d :)

CremaGames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Nice game, I really enjoyed it. But I must say that for me doesn't fit the theme. The "press two buttons" at the end is not enough when the whole game is not about clear rooms with multiple controls.

Otherwise as I said, is a great game! One of my favorites!

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Very cool. This is super polished! I love the transformations of the creatures, the physicsy touches, and little nuanced features like the player leaving holes in the smoke when you walk around in between levels. I didn't realize until the final zone that I could charge up my weapon, but that made combat much more enjoyable. Overall this was a very nice entry - gameplay is solid and fun, there's a fair amount of content, and nice presentation. Well done!

kaa says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Awesome! Very much for 72 hours. Great job!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Great game! I've had a lot of fun playing this. The aim it not so precise, sometimes I put the mouse and shoot but I fail.
Btw, I love this game, very nice entry!

icereci says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Game looks and feels awesome. How much of the assets were reused I wonder. Looks very polished and is ambitious for a 3 day jam game.
Really good job.

Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:45am

Awesome and really polished entry! The monster designs were especially nice and the narrator was great.

Drauthius says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Those were some scary bugs. Very nicely done. The collision detection was a bit too forgiving. Some bugs hit me but it didn't count. I also liked being able to push around things with the broom. Can't really say that it was a two button controlled game though.

Logicon says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:16am

There was one crappy door. Couldn't get through it unless I backed in

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:16am

Oh! I remember you guys from previous ludum dare =)
Not, talking about the game: Nice! What a cool final! I liked the graphics, the mood, the gameplay, the voice speaking... and the reactor u.u! Overall, nice entry!

napoleon says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Really difficult!

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 1:59pm

This was fun. Much content. I had intense moments when multiple monsters charged at me. Satisfying when they exploded. Cool!

aare says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Really well developed entry. The mechanic of growing monsters while shooting at them is really interesting, also love the different evolutions. All of them looks very polished.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 12:44am

Definitely one of the most solid entries.

scorched says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:27am

Awesome, like the enemy behaviour, mood, like how your current objective is always shown. Was confused by profile creation at start, made me think that it wants my email to play, also subtitles would be great. Monor things: the sound of a creature that shoots red dots (blood?) made me think at first that my avatar is hurt :-)

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Nicely polished game - both graphics and well made dialogue. Could have been faster to the action in the start. Nice and responsive game mechanics. Good job :)

nassi says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:04am

On 64-bit Arch Linux the game window never opens as execution seems to stop after printing config-stuff (last line was "Importing game controller configs") to the console.

stefenism says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Holy buckets was that great. Thanks for making this game...it was challenging and fun!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:55am

Very nice! Good graphics and a great mood. Narration was a nice touch.

Did get stuck in level 2 just before the corridor heading south. I hadn't killed every enemy yet and attempted to go through the door. He said he couldn't open it, but the camera had already switched and wouldn't switch back.

terryg says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Nice game. I liked the voice work to tell me how to advance. Nice game play.

Dec 30, 2015 @ 12:40am

Overall a really great entry, a lot of fun, and a fun story to follow along with.

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 1:13am

Awesome level and shooting design. Plenty enemy types. Great work! I was looking forward to encountering a boss at final area :D Most of the time I could just kill the enemies one by one and it wasnt too hard. Maybe you could add some stages or traps to make the pace more exciting!

barkergames says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 1:14am

Sadly I got stuck on the Weapons level, the door would open then close immediately, way too fast for me to get through.

Loved it, up to that point anyways.

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 3:20am

Awesome entry. I have to say after pressing those buttons and getting that end result, I had an "oh man!" moment (as in... oh man, that's it?) would have loved to play more. Good job!

Knowledge says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 11:37am

Great game.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 5:44am

Nice work! Metroidvania-esque = awesome

Blake_Lead says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:39am

This is a great game ! Congrats to all of you ! You really paid attention to details and the overall feeling of the game is all the more pleasing.

LukeZaz says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:46am

Very enjoyable game. Bit easy though; only had trouble with one tier three monster, and healthkits were very plentiful.

KanedaXIII says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:48pm

One of the bests i've tested so far. I agree mostly with others comments, so i've only one comment.
The radio guy talks a lot at the beginning to say the obvious thing, should be skipable!! >_<
The lack of music is somewhat bad too, and I've found a bugged dor at the third area. But all else great ;)

Jan 2, 2016 @ 7:54pm

I like the humour, and I really like the way the bugs mutate!

freaknarf says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 8:35pm

Cool game, i liked th narration a lot :) the camera was stuck at the end of the first level as i did not clean everything so i had to restart, but that was good, monsters' evolutions have cool design. Thr broom thing should be more exploited.
Nice level design, and fun take on the theme :)
Well done!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 8:59pm

I really like the way the bugs mutate!

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:16am

Awesome all around!

Nega Drive says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:23pm

Great game. I like the guy over the radio. Graphics aren't the best but they're functional. The aliens evolving is pretty cool. Reminds me a lot of Alien Breed from the Amiga. Fun stuff!

Tapehead says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:05pm

very well done! :)

Mikaza says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:06am

Very Nice ;)

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:50pm

Good job, nice game

Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:50pm

I really enjoyed playing this. For a weekend's work, it's a good, solid game! Great job! :D

Alphish says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:19pm

Pretty cool game. Liked the different enemies kinds, the narrative, the way theme is used and the janitor as a protagonist. Maybe a few kinks could be ironed out, but generally very solid and complete entry.

One thing I'd like is having subtitles for the crazy scientist's audio; I understood most of what he said, but sometimes had trouble figuring out what he said (plus, it's always nice to have subtitles, especially for deaf people). Also, I found the control scheme to be a bit tricky, especially since the most frequently used option is the one that requires two mouse buttons pressed (is that "two buttons control"? ;) ). I think it'd make more sense e.g. to have LMB held - aim & charge, LMB released - shoot, RMB - sweep.

Krafty says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:55am

This game was cool! Nice graphics! :) Controls were a little bit difficult =P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]