Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Eda

by alpha_rat - Jam Entry

Eda is a game where you can grow a prodedural Bonzai. Eda is the name given to Bonzai branches: grow and subdivide them carefully to create an harmonious tree.

With Left click, you can grow some branches:
click in the void to subdivide them, click on a branch element to make it grow.

Right click stops the growth of the active branch.

Created with Unity 3D
Development, art and design : alpha_rats - http://alpharats.com
Music : Mathis Bouron - https://soundcloud.com/mathis-bouron

Due to people reporting a lot of bugs, if you come across them please precise your OS/internet browser

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#390Mood(Jam)3.36
#404Graphics(Jam)3.65
#428Theme(Jam)3.77
#439Audio(Jam)3.16
#689Innovation(Jam)2.88
#926Overall(Jam)2.82
#1051Fun(Jam)2.20

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Very peaceful. I feel like my screen is always beautiful once I'm done with my tree.

Yamzho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Interesting experience.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Very peaceful and captivating indeed!
Has caused some strange freezes though, and the dev build embedded threw a bunch of errors on a panel.

recursor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Definitely a zen-like and relaxing game.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:50pm

@eeemmbbeeerr : maybe you reaches a number of branches too important, which caused the bugs! I dind't limited the number of generated objects properly for this build. I hope it did not wasted your experience too mcuch :(

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:25pm

I ran into the same issue with getting a ton of errors in the console - a few null reference exception errors right at the start, and "argument out of range" errors for index whenever I snipped a branch. But if you close the console it stops bothering you. :)
The music is very soothing!

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:02pm

@MorseAmalgam : thanks for your feedback! There are indeed a few bugs I didn't took time to correct before the deadline, as they were not game-breaking ones ;) sorry for the inconvenience

edgeofcode says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Very relaxing. From the start it kept freezing - probably linked to the errors showing up in the console - but I still enjoyed it.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:14pm

@edgeOfCode: what version were you playing? I wasn't able to test the OS/X build at all

guoboism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Experience oriented game. Nice! Yet why I can't grow a beautiful one as screenshot...

Lullaby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:07am

Nice mood. The game is really relaxing.
But it's as hard to master as a real bonsai. Sometimes the branches grow far from the mouse cursor. Nice entry anyway!

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Null reference exception and crash. Couldn't play to rate ;(

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:13pm

For a relaxing procedural bonsai tree generator this is quite good.

However, right now there's nothing interesting to do after creating a pretty enough tree. Here are a few ways to make it more engaging, if you are up for that:

You could make it into a simulation by adding in elements like water and nutrient requirements; insects, both useful and harmful; and environmental changes such as humidity and temperature. This, in itself, would be compelling to watch for a while (similar to what Mountain did, sort of).

You could then make it into a game by giving the player tools to maintain and shape the tree while it grows. Using the right tool at the right time would differentiate between winning (having a resilient, beautiful tree) and losing (having a dying, pest ridden nightmare).

Technical issues:

- The hit boxes on the branches seem to be a bit off. It's quite hard to make specific smaller branches grow due to this.

- The web player still has console errors, as pointed out by others.

- The Data folder in the windows version has to be renamed in order to work, which is kind of a hassle. Even then it only works with the x86 exe, not the x64 exe.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:30pm

@HuvaaKoodia : thanks for taking the time to give such complete feedback! I'll fix all these bugs as soon as possible.

Pusty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Not sure if I'm stupid but no matter the amount I clicked (and pressed other buttons) nothing happened (I even waited a while just to see if something is happening). I tested win64 and web build. Kinda sad ,looks promising

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:10pm

@Pusty: if you clicked just right away, the trunk might have no time to grow properly! You just need to wait a bit for it to grow and then branch out from it ;)

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:36pm

It seems like it would be fun but there were many errors with the Web version that almost made the game unplayable.

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:39am

Great mood. I adore the music and the cool teal hues-- you definitely nailed a somber-yet-happy tone. I couldn't make a bonsai as pretty as your thumbnails but I had fun trying. Nice play on the theme, and I love the title.

euske says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:44am

Interesting concept. The control was a bit less obvious to me. I'd like the color of leaves to be a more yellow-greenish to my preference, as the blue tint isn't very realistic.

By the way, eda just means a branch in general, not necessarily limited to Bonsai.

uvwar says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:57am

I love bonsai games! I wasn't entire sure what/where I was growing, and it seemed to be locking up browser or something (I think I grew into infinity at some point) but otherwise really cool!

adsilcott says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:14am

Good use of the theme.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:00am

This is interesting, beautiful and relaxing. I like it but I'm not sure I can call it a game.
This piece of art could be more like the real process of taking care of a bonsai.

Your entry have the same relaxing approach of mine! Nice job guys!

tjxx says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:22am

This game was a very peaceful experience. Nice work!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:29am

Is a very pretty game and the atmosphere is great

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:56pm

A pleasant, calm little experience with a very nice aesthetic.

Good job. :)

loxo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Very calming game with an interesting concept. A full screen mode would be great. I played the web version in firefox and it was too slow for me.

Jace239 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:41pm

It's a bit hard to control growing the branches in a way I'd like. Aside from that, I like the concept, the graphics look nice and the music sounds good and fits the mood. If it were easier to influence how the branches split and in what direction, I'd enjoy it a lot more. Still, good work. I love that you did a bonzai growing game. I hope you'll continue to work on it!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:37am

Like the graphical presentation. Would be nice to highlight the currently active branch. I had a similar idea but didn't implement it so I'm really glad to see a game like this. Nice job.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Nice chilled out vibe. I would have liked a bit more control over which direction new branches headed in, but the results were pretty anyway.

Farelle says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:35am

nice peaceful experience. Only thing that bugged me a little bit, is that growing new branches didn't always seem to add where I was clicking :/ so I had to check a few times to see if it's entirely random or not, but they were adding to the branch I clicked on, just seemed the Hitboxes were not clear.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:55pm

With a feel tweaks this can be BIG! Awesome job guys

local minimum says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Very well made visuals and fitting music. Really appreciated that there were different bowls to grow from. There were some interaction-issues though. One you did mention about clicking the stem too early. I would suggest adding a delay upon resetting the game during which the game doesn't respond to clicks to avoid the state where it looks like the game is stuck. Also I think that if you had left clicked something and then tried to left-click another branch. If you missed the second branch, you would grow again on the first branch. This could probably also be fixed with some minor adjustment. Finally, it did happen that I grew out of view. It would have been really nice if the camera enlarged its view when parts where starting to fall outside. In all though, a very nice experience.

Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Really nicely done, calming experience. Liked the idea of growing and developing your own bonsai tree and think this worked well. The music helped set the mood and the slow pace enhanced the soothing experience.

Did have an issue with one of my replays where the bonsai grew extremely large before I actually did anything. So two branches in and I was out of the screen. Not sure how it happened though. I was playing with windows version on windows 10 if that helps.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Cool and quiet concept, nice growing visuals ... sadly each time I try the Web version it everything freeze (with FireFox) quite soon, and nothing seems to grow with the windows x64 bugfixed version :/
Otherwise nice experiment !

emmes says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:13am

Very interesting experiment, very zen-like. Didn't really catch me, though, guess the growing didn't feel naturally enough for me.

cilerba says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:24am

Gorgeous and relaxing! Takes a few tries to get a hold of the controls, but lots of fun to play with once you've done so.

Side note: I'd love to have this as a live wallpaper on Android, continuously watching it grow and split throughout the day.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]