Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Let's go to the SPÄTI!

by Reisn - Compo Entry

Let's go to the SPÄTI!

After there is no beer left you and your friends are on the way to the next SPÄTI. You must cross multiple streets to get there. On the way you have the chance to grow your group by yelling at drunk people.

Will you reach the SPÄTI?

Hold left mouse button: Stop moving
Click right mouse button: Yell at people

Play the Windows or Linux build for better performance.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#98Humor3.48
#249Fun3.48
#296Theme3.95
#444Mood3.00
#519Overall3.19
#525Innovation3.10
#618Audio2.24
#762Graphics2.52
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

cicanci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:24am

This is really fun, you did a great job!

doitle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:28am

The surprising thing is, once I reached the "SPATI", everyone just stood outside and were killed by a car anyhow. Simple but does the theme well and is pretty unique. Well done.

Cyranh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:50am

Game works well, but doesn't really do much for me. Bit too easy for my liking I guess. Well done though!

deadpixl says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Great job! I took me a second to figure out you had to hold the button down to stop, entry description just says click. Overall it's a really fun game.

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:11am

What is the SPÄTI? I think that in your game should be a highscore system.

felilix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:53am

Haha berlin street beers!

MAnimal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:20pm

I must google SPÄTI :)

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Did not work on Linux for me.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:18am

Fun expression, I almost expect the scoring to work the other way around. After all, if no one else there, there's more for me!

Also, you might want to disable Audio category for your entry as there is no sound (at least not in the WebGL version)

Reisn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:36am

@zenmumbler The sound works on my system with WebGL. Maybe there are WebGL audio issues on some systems / browsers?

David Cookie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Yep, really fun even if it lacks audio! Original and cool concept :)

sergicollado says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:04pm

The game is rally fun and great controllers

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Cool, like frogger with a mob and road traffic accidents.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]