Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Critical Balance

by tjxx - Compo Entry

Critical Balance is my final product for Ludum Dare 34. It was aimed towards the 2-button control theme and might even follow the "growing" theme a little bit.

Objective:
Score as many points as you can before the timer runs out. You score points by dropping balls with the paddles onto the target below.

Controls:
W/S - Move up/down in the UI.
- Tilt the paddles.
D - Select an option.

This game was built from scratch in 4.5 hours. It is currently only built for WebGL, but I hope to get at least a Windows download link up there soon. There also remain a couple bugs that I'm aware of and hope to fix soon but in the meantime, I really hope you enjoy my game. :)

Bugs:
- Points don't matter, sadly.
- Issue when navigating the options menu.
- Difficulty doesn't change. (Lack of time)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2163Coolness22%

Comments

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Little hard to get going, but did get it to go. Fun to play. Suggestion might be to use A and D work independently, where A tilts the left panel, D the right ... that way you can better control the direction of the balls.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:40am

Good physics! Not so easy and it adds more interest!

MHaton says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Nice physics, could possibly do with a bit more gameplay to it, but it works and it's nicely challenging

Andy Gainey says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Intriguing concept. I actually tried sitting back further from my screen to see if I could defocus my eyes a bit and have each one stare at its half of the screen. Perhaps the distance the two platforms are from each other (affected by size of display device) could therefore affect difficulty?

There are probably all sorts of directions one could take this if extending the gameplay mechanics. Different shaped objects (or platforms). Different physics materials with adjusted bounce/friction or other attributes. Target receptacles with a variety of behavior. Plus any number of aesthetic themes one might layer on top. (Arcade basketball was the first to come to my mind.)

tjxx says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Some of these suggestions are great! I'll keep them in memory until I meet a similar challenge. Thank you guys, I appreciate the feedback!

Skruffye says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:35am

Simple, but surprisingly challenging. Whilst I did have a quick chuckle at the playfully self aware ending message, I feel that all the game (simple as it was) needed, in my mind, to complete it was a goal, scoreboard or any form of assessing your skill at the end.
In summary though, a simple game, but simple is not automatically a dirty word. :)

MoreRPG Team says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Curious concept, I would like to see it grow into a finished game =)

Phil Strahl says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:40pm

Interesting concept, albeit a bit lacking in player interactivity. Here are some suggestions for it (very subjective, as always)
* Have the balls not drop (haha!) at the platforms' center points, so it would be possible to play a bit of pinball with them
* Have the platforms on different levels and in different lengths so there's a bit more variety. Maybe even move them around a little bit?
* It took me a bit to realize that I should target the object on the bottom instead of avoid it. It could help to give it some kind of "shovel" or "basket" appearance to hit home that it collects the balls.
* Maybe even have other shapes (cubes, pyramids) and/or surfaces with varying friction to make the game less predictable?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]