Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Day by Day

by Maxi and The Gang - Jam Entry

Thousand of men are enlisted to the great war. This is not a story about them, this is a story about those who are waiting for their return.

Gameplay:
arrow to move
space to bark
e to interact
s to sleep

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#10Mood(Jam)4.45
#15Audio(Jam)4.34
#42Graphics(Jam)4.55
#68Overall(Jam)3.95
#367Innovation(Jam)3.33
#583Theme(Jam)3.60
#665Fun(Jam)2.97

Comments

blohod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:09am

A very emotional experience, how did you make this in only 72 hours?

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:17am

Couldn't find any food even though the food thought bubble was popping up, and couldn't sleep at any of the dog houses, are those options in the game? Art syle is great, loving it!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:21am

@blohod with lots of people and few hours of sleep :D

And yeah, we also use some of our old code and animation for starting. It helps reduce our workload a little I guess.

@Charging Llama

Take it slow and interact with things! Bubble is there for showing what he wants, not-

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:59am

Amazing graphics, especially considering the time restraints. A very worthwhile experience overall.

middenkwaaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:16am

Wow nice game! 10/10 ^^

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:05am

Awesome graphics! Love it

thelasthour says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:09am

This game is beautiful but very buggy. I was blown away by the visuals and how much I could feel the dog's emotions. The constant bugs really drew me out of the experience though. Probably a bit too ambitious for 72 hours. Amazing job though!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:16am

thanks guys!

@thelasthour

what kind of bugs do you experienced? we need a lot of feedback because we need to polish this more :o

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:26am

awesome and beautiful story telling ;) I enjoyed it very much.

NuvlearGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:42am

Very well done, I absolutely love the art and music. I didn't finish it because I was scared of what may happen.
But if you guys work on it after the jam i would look into picking it up

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:49am

Nice art and good idea ,we need web version:)

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:01am

A very emotional game! It's amazing what you guys made in just 3 days!

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:45am

Beautiful. At first I thought it was a cut scene, and then I began to move. Great. Lovely audio too.

roninfight says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Beautiful environment and very cute dog animation. However I got stuck pretty quickly after helping the boy and playing ball with the girl. I'm unsure what I was supposed to do after that.

All in all, a very pretty game. A bit confused by the mechanics.

Bastionride says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Interesting, but sometimes it's soooo slow.
P.S.I think that the mountains have to move more slowly than the first layer.

mortus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Beautiful experience and great work! But have you ever seen a real dog in your lives? :D Their legs don't bend like that. At all!

wilsk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:46pm

A great looking game.

I got stuck on the third day, ate the two chicken legs on the ground and then tried to interact with everything else in the level but couldn't find any more food.

Eldraev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:30pm

This almost had me crying. The atmosphere is amazing. I can't really rate it on fun though because its just heartbreaking. Definitely the most emotional game.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:48am

thanks all!

@NuvlearGames yup, we're gonna polish it and release it. most likely on gamejolt.

@roninfight did you try asking for food?

that ambiguous "player-stuck-don't-know-what-to-do" is what we definitely need to practice.. it's kinda hard to tell what the player should do without handholding a lot :/

@Bastionride noted! I agree that we need to polish the parallax more.

@mortus ahaha, it's the animator's first time to animate an animal, especially a dog. lots of confusion when we did that :D

@wilsk did you try biting someone?

@Eldraev agree! I personally didn't want to enter that category but the team said why not, just for seeing what you guys think!

MrAmlice says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:45am

Very polished for jam! I'm personally not into story driven games, but I must say I almost shed a tear here. Almost! Great Job!

holgk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Nice graphics.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Hey sorry guys, I couldn't play it to the end. I love this game. It was so full of emotions... but the day where it began to snow I lefgt the game... It remembers me to much of my old dog as I was young. +1 emotional depth... Maybe this is one of the best games I've played so far.

DevDad says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Nice game concept.You could build a game from here.Just avoid to cover game area with big elements in front layer.Also some guidance in the game were confusing...at one point I thought the dog is sleepwalker:)

hiki911 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:14pm

nice atmospere and story

Bacontree says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:32am

I really like games that tell stories like this. The art style, music and slow paced gameplay comes toghether and creates an incredible mood. This is one of my favorites.

scorched says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Encouraging beautiful world, but can't understand what to eat here!

randomhuman says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:34pm

Beautiful game - I love the sense of depth that the environment has. However, I can't find a way to progress beyond the second day. I've barked at everybody and pressed E on everybody, but it just won't let me sleep.

Tapehead says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:31pm

very atmospheric!! well done!

Jan 6, 2016 @ 5:12pm

Really nice looking! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/eeRk2tDl2JU

hack9r says ...
Mar 14, 2016 @ 8:25pm

Can you say name of song in this game?Game and music is fully incredible!I was crying for hour...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]