Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

A Growing Prince

by Sandcrawler - Compo Entry

This...game came about more as a challenge for myself in using php. I wanted to create a system that could save the stats of a character is a flat file based system, then add some silly game logic and win parameters.

The goal of A Growing Prince is to grow your prince by both defeating enemies and consuming different food objects. To complete the game go to the castle, and if your level is high enough you will rescue the princess.

In the Ludum Dare compo version you cannot lose/die and it is just a matter of clicking enough times then clicking on the Castle link. I got started on this entry really late, I spent well over 24 hours just thinking up ideas. By the time I got started I only had around 8 working hours to complete the game.

Edit 12/23/15 -
I released the post compo version of A Growing Prince, complete with combat, NPC, a story, and equipment. Basically all the features you would expect.Feel free to try it if you want to see what this entry could have been.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#886Innovation2.27
#890Theme2.91
#945Fun2.05
#949Overall2.32
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Yay! Hardcoded HTML! :D Great job!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:26pm

The concept is really nice, but I just ate and attacked everything I found.
I got to level 194 and rescued the princess, without taking damage or dying. But it is always a good thing if you learned from the experience of making this :)

tanjent says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:05pm

I think this is a perfect example on how to get stuff done with an (untested) technology! It also really helps when you have a deadline, know you will have some players + some direction in the form of a theme. I've been thinking about making a HTML game like the classic BBS adventure games for a long time and this reminds me a lot of that :) One thing I felt was needed was a way to lose? I think that the warning about entering a too hard dungeon could be made into a suggestion and not a barrier, so you might take a risk to either die hard or grow faster.

Sandcrawler says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Thanks, for the feedback. This isn't so much of a game, rather than a framework for a game. If I had started sooner I could have developed it a bit more, but I wasted the first 24 hours trying to think of ideas using both themes.

It is definitely reminiscent of the old BBS games. I grew up playing a few of those games, mostly the Space Based ones like tdzk, Blacknova Trader, and a few other. Back in 2012 I even started developing one using a mysql database but it quickly became to big and unwieldy.

This was a stab at making a manageable system that was just a lot simpler. I'm considering a post compo version that is expanded on with a lot of expected features. (Movement, health, items, equipment, combat) Could serve as a nice engine for a future LD entry or other game.

tl;dr game is not a game because you can't lose and it might become a game post-compo.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:20am

nice game!

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:24pm

No sense repeating what was already said, it just isn't much of a game. But keep trying :)

GodsBoss says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:40am

It's like Diablo, without all the bullshit. Straight leveling. ;-)

narve says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:22pm

I liked the concept, but I didn't really have to do much. There wasn't a challenge, I couldn't die etc. So I just leveled up and beat the game. But good job! I thought it was a great idea, been awhile since I've seen a simple game like this.

Charzendat says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:56pm

I would of liked more variation. Having consequences to attacking something when you are not a high enough level and perhaps having attacking things gain you more levels than consuming things. There is no challenge or thought required to play it. If you want to do something similar again I recommend you check out some text adventure games.

Sandcrawler says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:59am

I knew where I wanted to go with the game by the end of the compo. I just ran out of time.

This stated with two ideas, one was to make a text based adventure game, and the other was to make the game so stupidly tedious by putting everything within two buttons worth of menus [just to use the 2nd theme] (ended up scrapping that idea halfway through)

Check out the Post-Compo version. While not a great game it does have all of the features that you would expect from this style of game.

RiOrius says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:23am

Good effort, but there's not much here.

CMG says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:43pm

It seems like a good concept to deliver a basic story with simple leveling mechanics, but right now it's pure mechanics without anything else. Some flavor text would add a lot. Characters/scenes would add even more.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]