Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Oklahoma Tempest

by Fanatrick - Jam Entry

!Notice!
This game uses pixel shader model 2.0 and above. Playing on a machine that doesn't support it will not work correctly.

A storm is rising above the skies of a small redneck settlement. Control the tornado and wreck the townspeople. Destroying buildings grows the tornado, killing things and breaking objects earn points.

Controls:
A/D or Arrow keys - Movement

Credits:
Programming - Matej Kresić
Pixel art - Antonela Juriša

Virustotal scan link:
https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/16bb6c0e78645bb1f4f5430a5e91de8d1ef4efd10281ecc958594e840dfcfdd5/analysis/1450143157/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#7Graphics(Jam)4.79
#225Humor(Jam)3.26
#296Theme(Jam)3.92
#310Mood(Jam)3.47
#358Overall(Jam)3.49
#363Innovation(Jam)3.34
#407Audio(Jam)3.21
#421Fun(Jam)3.26

Comments

gkxd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:52am

Those rays of light that get occluded by background objects look so good.

The game was pretty fun too.

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:53am

As an art piece, this was beautiful. The graphics were top-shelf, and the audio was fitting if a bit sparse. Gameplay-wise, I wish there had been a bit more depth. I played this several times through just for the art though. Fancy!

amorphous says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:55am

Very good graphics. I actually think this could work as a one-button game, as once I moved in a direction there was little incentive to go backwards.

After finishing a game, I got this error:
Unable to find any instance for object index '4' name 'o_whirlwind'
at gml_Object_o_dude2_Collision_0

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:02am

I got me an error, crash on run:
FATAL ERROR in Vertex Shader compilation
ShaderName: shaderAlphaClip

D3DXCompile failed - result

at gml_Object_o_cloudrender_Draw_0

Fanatrick says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:51am

@amorphous
Thanks for the feedback. It has been patched.

@Thought Reactor
It failed to load shaders. If you're on a laptop with a dedicated gpu, try right clicking the exe -> Run with graphics processor -> choose the gpu that supports shaders. The game will now let the player know if shaders didn't get compiled.

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:58am

Nice sprites and sounds, but should have a light music on background, its really fun watching people and stuff exploding, lol

The Vall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:01am

Amazing visuals, nice entry.

Sokar92 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:02am

I do not understand very well. It is very nice

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:04am

WOOOW
Amazing game. The art is really the kind of stuff that touches me, what a work ! Good job. 5 stars graphics !

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:05am

Such an impressive game, the graphics are awesome, wow !

carlsommer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:06am

Looks fantastic! Definitely a solid game. Maybe it could be more challenging if you got more points for getting people, but people can run away really fast.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:34am

the graphics <3

mclewis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:45am

GOTY material right here. My lifelong fantasy of being a tornado has been fulfilled.

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:47am

Wow! Fantastic graphics! I really enjoyed the looks of this game. Also, nice use of the theme! Congrats.

banana4life says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:09am

So nice looking... Never had that much fun wrecking stuff. Time limit is harsh, though... maybe add time by fullfilling tasks, reaching enough points in time?

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Beautiful art, those sun-rays... Mmmmm. Gameplay-wise, I'm looking for a little more depth with the movement of the tornado. I don't know how effectively I could fling things with my movements (i.e. Throwing a tractor into a dude), but I was hoping I could.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:20am

This was quite pretty, but the game play could have used something more. A very nice entry, though!

Lullaby says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Very nicely done, the two buttons controls work very well and the graphics effects are so well polished!!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:39am

Launching sheep into space since 2015! Blowing stuff up is always good fun!
The clouds and lighting effects were spectacular, how did you get the clouds to change shape?

aare says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:59am

I love the clouds! And the rays!!

Catmoo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:57pm

That was awesome! It was really well drawn and the game itself was awesome, I loved being a tornado killing everything!

Awesome game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]