Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Lost Contact

by commodoreKid - Jam Entry

What happens when the fate of last two members of the human race is in the hands(?) of an arrogant AI?

Lost Contact is a base defense game where you are trying to defend your power source and find a control sphere to connect to by growing your base.

You have to use different types of towers for your advantage and keep the power source and the towers you build connected at all times or they will not function at all. That's how they are powered.

Who are you defending the power source from? A primitive alien race that invaded Earth, now it's time to wipe off the human race off of galaxy.

WARNING: Better to play the game in 1920x1080 due to some UI issues.

Controls:
LMB: Select
Hold RMB: Rotate Camera
Scroll MMB: Zoom in/out
Hold MMB: Move Camera

Have fun and tell us what you think!

(Features that couldn't be implemented:
- Shared online scoreboard,
- Upgrade to turret, blockade and mine towers
- Intro cutscene
- Different types of creepers (faster, stronger etc.)
- Removing towers
- In-game How To pop-up
- In-game Pause menu)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#304Graphics(Jam)3.81
#318Audio(Jam)3.37
#358Overall(Jam)3.49
#370Mood(Jam)3.39
#557Fun(Jam)3.11
#741Humor(Jam)2.19
#844Innovation(Jam)2.62
#863Theme(Jam)3.17

Comments

manabreak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:54am

Nice work! It's a bit Starcraft-esque tower defense. It's rather difficult at first, but when you get the hang of it, it's quite a bit of fun. :)

Geti says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:57am

Pretty good, saw the early work on twitter or something. Enjoyable enough but the whole "mines are very important" thing wasn't quite stressed enough early on imo :D first game lost to my own not reading the manual ;) once you've got that down, balance is a bit in favour of the player for quite a while.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:02am

The HUD for creating elements is not very accessible. I have to middle click/ pan multiple times to make it accessible/viewable. Apart from that, the mood is very well described; music and sound effects are especially good to me. It also took me quite some time to understand that turrets must be connected to source power to fire (but I guess this is pretty logical). Anyways, appart from those little problems, it's a very good job.

Geti says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:18am

After playing a bit more there was a recurring but "random" bug with the turret firing cooldown - every now and again all my turrets would fail for a while, seemed to possibly get better upon placing another turret. Some timer being mismanaged perhaps. Stopped playing after 3 levels, gets a bit stale without more enemies ;)

flukeshot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Game looks great. Took a little bit to get the hang of, but worth hanging in there for. As other comments mention the HUD is a bit inaccessible at times.

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:47pm

When I figured out I needed to build mines, everything fit into place ;)

Fun game, maybe could do with some difficulty ramp up (perhaps increase the costs of additional turrets and mines). The music is great too

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Really juicy game. I like the visuals a lot. Also the gameplay is interesting because it gives tower defense a nice twist. However it was not challenging, except for understanding that you basically just need to have ten mines and you win. So I'd say instead of mines call them "Resource Collector" or something like that and then make the map bigger and let game spawn a lot more enemies the further you are from the center. That said I really had fun playing this game. I'd just like to get challenged a bit more. (Also, i didn't have problems with the HUD)

Dzik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:59pm

DEV COMMENT:
the HUD problem doesn't occur when you play on 1920x1080. At lower resolutions I've noticed it tends to drift to the top right screen corner. So if you don't want HUD problems, play in 1920x1080! Cheers! :)

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Good start! I like the idea, and I'm always up for some TD. Hope you continue with it after the jam. :)

candlesan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:16am

Great little tower defence game

MartianGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:23am

‚ÄčAmazing work for a 3 day jam! Music is freakin awesome and love the setting/art style. I noticed I ran out of stuff to do after a bit, but I realize this would be implemented with more development time .. something like a gradual resource acquisition over time would help keep the action going.. great job keep it up! :D

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:04pm

I love the style!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Great concept. Would have an incredibly addicting game with some more polish and balance.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:25am

Awesome take on Tower Defense.

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:01pm

a great tower defense! graphics and mechanics are very good and polished, everything works just fine! it would be very good see a upgraded version with more monsters! oh, the music its very good too! nice work =D

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:02pm

A sweet 3D tower defence game, fun to play and impressed you got it all done in 3 days! :)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:11pm

first off, thanks for trying out my game on your stream ;)
this is a very cool strategy game, the graphics are awesome, love the scifi visuals, dark and moody environment. well done :)

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:53am

Good game. A nice start for something that could be bigger. Graphics were fantastic, gameplay was fun, and the mood and atmosphere were well established. My only complaint is that I wish there was a way to click and drag to move the camera instead of it being locked in place. Or maybe a WASD control to move the camera around.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Sorry for the confusion. I wasn't talking about rotating the camera. I'm aware you can rotate it. I meant actually moving it around. Good game nonetheless!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Please make this into a full game!

Allthebees says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Really cool game, with a great sci-fi vibe. Love the art-style and the game is fun to play. The sound effects and music are really good but you haven't made it clear whether it was made for the jam so I don't feel as if it can be voted on.

Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:10pm

You've been featured in Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LVgAZTrVZag

LeReveur says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 6:17pm

A simple but good tower defense. Great work !

Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:11pm

It took a while to get into swing of things but once I got to grips with how the towers worked I had a lot of fun! High production, great visual and audio. Amazing stuff! :D

Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:23pm

As a tower defense game sometimes I feel the need to conquer a lot of space before ending a level and it was good. It reminds me of UFO: Enemy Unknown and Space Hack at the same time in a positive way. The music is goes along with a great atmosphere. Sometimes I experienced slowdowns or unresponsive turrets even if nothing changed. It was unpredictable to lose turrets because of inactivity, but brings some balance if you are way too powerful.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]