Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

What Shall We Do With All This Spacejunk?!

by LostTrainDude - Jam Entry

FEEDBACK NEEDED: Do you think the game is TOO dark?
Please leave a comment: we are afraid that on some screens the game may appear just too dark but can't really tell, since we couldn't test on different screens. Thanks a lot!


WHAT SHALL WE DO WITH ALL THIS SPACEJUNK?!
by Leafdog Games (@LeafdogGames)
===========================================

"Governor! Our planet has gathered tons of spacejunk in the last few centuries... What shall we do with it?! Why don't we pile it all up and build something for future generations 'to look and despair'?!"

HOW TO PLAY
-----------
1) Place your fingers as pictured in the second screenshot!
2) Depending on the hand you're using, use your little / index finger to hit the [S] key and switch between different blocks of junk
3) Wait for the perfect angle
4) Hit the [L] key to release the block and let it pile up!

CREDITS
--------
Leafdog Games are:

@LostTraindude - Code, Design, Guitar, Bass
@SidneySacchi - Art, Design, Drums

http://leafdoggames.com - @LeafdogGames

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#299Audio(Jam)3.41
#533Theme(Jam)3.65
#555Innovation(Jam)3.09
#662Humor(Jam)2.38
#678Graphics(Jam)3.14
#719Mood(Jam)2.97
#743Fun(Jam)2.88
#788Overall(Jam)3.00

Comments

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:56am

Nice game. Especially love the background music

gene-z says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:11am

Nice game, congratulations

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Fun game. Did not seems too dark on my screen

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Pretty crazy game, not sure if it delivered fun.

retraffic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:11pm

it's a simple idea but it works well.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Pretty interesting idea!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Cool idea. I felt like I got better height by simply button mashing the L button. No real strategy needed

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:37am

Fun game. stacking the blocks was great

colinator27 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:52am

This game is awesome! Awesome sound, graphics, and use of theme! The gameplay is great too, reminds me of Tetris.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:18am

nice game!

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:46am

Good game style

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Liked the music.

philipp says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Liked the impact everything made when it hit the construction. Bam!

Was a bit bothered by the fact that I had always to wait a bit until I could hit the button again.

Music fits very good.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Cool game and very nice music!

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Loved the graphics, and no, I did not think it was too dark. I didn't see very much in gameplay, but it was still fun.

Bocodillo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Neat idea with great background music.

_benhumphries says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Fun game. I don't think it was too dark at all, and I really liked the audio. I don't really get the purpose of using any block other than the big one, however.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]