Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

UpUntilTheNight

by kaa - Jam Entry

Two women thying to get home until the night comes

Controls: q, w for woman in blue and o, p for woman in red

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#125Mood(Jam)3.81
#187Audio(Jam)3.60
#228Graphics(Jam)3.97
#240Innovation(Jam)3.52
#390Overall(Jam)3.44
#418Theme(Jam)3.78
#487Fun(Jam)3.19
#679Humor(Jam)2.33

Comments

DevDad says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Interesting concept.Controls are not intuitive and it will be much better if you can switch characters with numbers.With some improvements it could be very good game. Nice work.

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Cool art style, i really liked it

LavWa says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:03am

Love the art, amazing and beautiful :)

anv says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:25am

Very nice idea, though a little bit confusing at the beginning. I like the art work.

coffeeBeans says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Cool concept, nice graphic, love the character design!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:36pm

The game is a bit complicated of understand at beginning. But the gameplay is solid, the art is cool and the music perfect. Very good entry ;-)

Aglavra says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:12pm

It was a bit difficult to understand the concept of your gameplay, but I really like the style of art and sounds.

zebi24 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:24am

Nice game, I really liked the "must work together" puzzles. Music is awesome. Great work on the camera movements.

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Art style is beautiful :3 good job my friend.

lawendt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Very cool art and concept, but the game itself was all buged for me. Anyway, keep up with the good work!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Nice art, challenging puzzle entry - nice work!

adsilcott says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:09pm

I really enjoyed solving this puzzle! The graphics and audio also worked great to create a mysterious tone.

ooku says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:10pm

nice mood, and cool mechanics

Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Now this is just superlative. Games where you control two characters to solve puzzles have been done before, but this is excellent in terms of graphics, audio and mood. I particularly like the way you've done the women's dresses: simple, but it looks like real cloth. And the starry night visibly rising up from the bottom of the screen looks beautiful. Good use of both themes.

Challenging, but I toughed it out until I made it home.

Couple of bugs: at one point, moving the levels up and down caused some gaps between the levels. Also, there was an occasional bug where a character could stand in front of a door without entering it, which confused me a bit (for a while I thought that only one of the women could enter a specific door).

A longer post-comp version with more puzzles would be great! This is excellent as it stands, however.

One of the best entries I've played so far. Thank you for making this.

kaa says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:44am

Thank you all!

2Christina:
Thank you for such detailed feedback!

About bugs with buttons. We know that ground movements are buged in different ways and it may cause inability to play or too fast progress. We tried to fight with that but didn't have enough time...

Didn't find troubles with doors. They may just be closed and closing animation is not very fast..

Anyway we'll try to improve this game and make some other levels.

Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Elegant entry. Thank you!

Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:50pm

@kaa: You're probably right that the doors thing wasn't a bug. Possibly the character wasn't in the right position to enter the door.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:25pm

cool game

DecayConstant says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:16am

Pretty great art and sound! :)
I wasn't really sure where I was supposed to be trying to get to though.

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:41am

Cool idea, really like the graphics

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]