Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Night Radar

by ranseur - Compo Entry

Night Radar

(as always, title is just two random words)


Theme chosen: "Two button controls"

Armed with just a Morse code capable communications device, guide friendly fighters squadrons to fend off enemy, evil bombers.

Reading the README.txt provided is essential.


Thanks for playing.

Made with Game Maker: Studio.
Sfx: Bfxr.


Version history:
v1.00: initial release.
v1.01: reduced difficulty, fixed small graphical bug.
v1.02: fixed a crash bug.

I am told there are some crashes, but I don't seem to able to reproduce them. If it happens to you, please take a screenshot or copy the text of the error and show it to me. Thanks.


(The original design was quite different, sadly I quickly realised that it would take about 7 days to make that project, and so I had to settle for this instead. Graphics are non existent, and the code is just horrible.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#36Innovation4.08
#262Mood3.31
#392Fun3.27
#493Audio2.61
#536Overall3.17
#610Theme3.57

Comments

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Nice game, good work

victorfisac says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Good work! :D

DivineOmega says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Awesome and creative. I really like style of game. I think I'll come back to this one later and try to master it. I'm not very good at it yet.

Gameplay is very engaging if you're willing to sit at all. The challenge is good. Graphics and audio are appropriate for the game style.

Awesome. :D

timsjostrand says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Cool game! The Morse code mechanic is unique. Will return to later!

Carnivoris says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Very cool. You don't see morse code in games enough!

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Wow, awesome game, really difficult at first, you have to memorize and rehearse the sequence before inputting it, Great job !

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Great game! I'd love to see the morse code mechanic in a more robust military strategy game.

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Really nice and unique gameplay. I think some further instructions woud be necicarry thougt because I had a very hard time understanding how to do things. Like getting a response

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Really interesting take on the theme. I have to give it another go at some point - I'm a bit too tired to really comprehend all the depth this game has. Nice work, nevertheless!

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:09pm

I like the idea of using morse code to send commands, very innovative.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Woah, great! Insanely hard, but it's good!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Great idea, though it'd obviously take a lot of time to master! In a way, the simple style actually suits the theme of the game, so good work making the most of your limitations there!

Unfortunately, I hit an error upon taking down my third fighter, and got the following message:
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object obj_fighter:

Variable obj_fighter.exploded(100048, -2147483648) not set before reading it.
at gml_Object_obj_fighter_Step_0
############################################################################################

ranseur says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:53pm

@RockhopperGames Thanks for the report! Fixed it.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:35pm

HARDCORE!!! Love it. Reminds me of Subcommand! :) Great stuff. The basic audio and visuals actually give it quite a tense feel as the player is free to project.

davesoft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:28pm

10/10 would radar again :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:45am

Nice! I'll be sure to give it another go later, just to see how far I can get!

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:20am

nice game!

antonuklein says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Extremely fun game, really unique too!

Taldius says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Really hard game, but the morse code is very well used !
Nice work !

Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Very interesting game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/sMG1ENTyKkU

mahjong50 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:58pm

This is very cool game.
It only needs to give a little bit more feedback about which airplane you are currently controlling.

ninos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:15pm

Loved the idea 10/10

astrophics says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:36pm

Great game! Like the concept

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:40pm

good idea for the game! well done!

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:29pm

Can't play windows games :-(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]