Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Rocket Mistake

by ajayajayaj - Jam Entry

This game is really weird and challenging but slightly fun (maybe). I am so happy to finish this, I wasted 13 hours on getting rotations to work and happy I go them to work. It is not the best game in the world, not at all what I thought I'd make, but it's something. I'm very surprised that I finished even with this annoying wastage of time. I was getting to the point close to giving up. Anyways, it is pretty simple. Fly your ship with the left and right arrow keys. Each move one thruster and guide your way to collect certain objects and avoid others. The levels explain. Except, if your confused, the weird swiss flag this is a extra fuel upgrade and is supposed to look something like this (https://www.google.ca/imgres?imgurl=http://www.bordercenter.org/chem/images/gascan.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.bordercenter.org/chem/portablefuel.cfm&h=287&w=300&tbnid=3dNl9_1MEmxWBM:&docid=wMOoF6KF4IQr1M&ei=M3ZvVsmPE8nXeNTAl4gB&tbm=isch) with a plus.

The reason why it's called "The Rocket Mistake" is because it is supposed to be like a rocket lost a thruster (that's why it's hard to control).
Anyways, thanks for reading this and playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#286Fun(Jam)3.45
#491Theme(Jam)3.70
#584Overall(Jam)3.25
#620Audio(Jam)2.70
#646Innovation(Jam)2.95
#760Mood(Jam)2.89
#893Graphics(Jam)2.55
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

Aree Vanier says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Level 6 broken! Apart from that great game

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:04pm

@Aree-Vanier Fixed... I used == instead of <=. Stupid mistake...

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Good game. Controls felt strange at first, other than that I loved it!

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:24pm

@CaptainRed It is supposed to make it challenging.

andyman404 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:55am

Don't be too hard on yourself. You learned many things in the process of making the game, right? You finished a game in 72 hours after all - that more than half the people who start the jam can say! I'm giving you 5 stars for not giving up.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:50am

Cool game. The wonky controls were, I think, part of the challenge- the music fit as well.

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:12am

Really nice considering you only used java and no libraries (I know what that's like.) You should really look into using a physics engine like JBullet though. It would have saved you time on your physics.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Fun little game dude!
Controls were a bit hard to get used to but I got there in the end and it was quite enjoyable!
(Since hard controls are the point, I say you did a good job there!)

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:13am

@pianoman373 I'll look into that!

@Hot Box Games Yay!

Marthog says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Great game. It's definitely fun although the learning curve is a bit to steep. You didn't have the time for many levels, I assume.

acotis says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Controls were unresponsive, especially the small amount of spin per fuel unit. The collision boxes were off, too, and pressing left at the title screen is VERY laggy. I did enjoy the music, though, that was nice :P

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:43pm

@acotis hmm... I didn't notice a lot of lag. I'll look into that.

Dimitri0xFF says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 8:53pm

The controls and the tweens are really fun! :)

Nega Drive says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:00pm

Neat game. The quirky way the ship controls was actually quite interesting. Not bad at all!

anv says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:10pm

Gets a moment to get used to, but controls actually work well and are main strength of the game. Game over animation is too long after several deaths.

ajayajayaj says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:35pm

@anv ok thanks.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]