Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Exttach

by VascoF - Compo Entry

Release a part of yourself in order to gain the parts of others.

Grow.

Survive.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#14Innovation4.29
#90Overall3.85
#124Fun3.69
#161Theme4.09
#451Graphics3.15
#658Mood2.72
#672Humor1.82

Comments

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:03am

I have never seen anything like it, as a concept, it is really good.
Without sounds, it is quite underwhelming and kind of boring, but the visual effects are smooth and look good. It was a bit annoying that I couldn't choose from which part of my ship will I fire. Maybe if it fired as close to the mouse as possible.

Jeroenimoo0 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:16am

Damn those homming projectiles were hard. Super cool concept though!

Ko_ry says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:18am

I absolutely love it! The ending boss was such a shock to me, very cool. At least I assume it was the ending boss, he's too hard for me right now :S

I love shooters and would massively enjoy something like this took even further :D

I'll say that the beginning is a bit slow, after a death. Or perhaps the curve is too jarring, the sniper field of Flyers was crazy.

Overall: I love it! 5 stars

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:53am

Pretty innovative game! Difficult, too, seeing as sometimes the ship fails to shoot. Maybe I'll beat that boss sometime...

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:50am

wow, this quite innovative and fun,i like how you shoot the debris that you taken as part of you
and i doesnt recall any game like it
great job dude!

Borodar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:54am

Amazing concept, innovative and funny game!

merrak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:54am

Intriguing concept!

Fervir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:04am

got the boss down to like 20 blocks left
pretty neat

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:10am

Wow this is intense. I was really curious when you posted screenshots on the blog, I didn't expect it to be this cool. Amazing concept.

Zarkith says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Daaaamn that's a brilliant mechanic! :O

I'd love to see more be done with it.

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Really took the theme and ran with it. This is such a good concept! The difficulty curve could use some work

oxysoft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Very innovative, could be expanded to something bigger

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Nice use of the theme! Simple but really cool idea! Congratulations :)

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Tumiki Fighters Forever!!! What a great LD game, well done.

Yamzho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:33pm

I love the concept and the minimal look of the game ! Only music missing and that would be perfect !

rjhelms says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:41am

Nice job! Really cool take on the theme, and a good visual style.

zaniarm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:52am

Great game. Loved the concept.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Interesting game concept, the game was quite fun for a while. After the boss appeared I was quite overwhelmed on the shots needed to kill it. (if one block disappears at time)

zebi24 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Really something new, nice thinking. And perfectly executed.

RoseNinja says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:17am

like the concept of the game and gameplay. good job

VascoF says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Thanks for all the comments everybody, I really appreciate it.

Since there seems to be interest, I will try to expand on this somehow. I'm undecided between a bigger & better Flash version, or an even bigger & even better Windows/Mac/Linux Steam version. If anyone has a preference let me know :)

mikoĊ‚ak says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:18am

To honest, it made me think: "wow, I wish I would think up something like this". I can't recall playing an obvious spiritual successor (the only that comes to mind is Pixelships, and there the mechanics were actually very different).

Seems almost Zen-like. Great submission!

gmatsura says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:31am

I like the mechanic, it was easy to pick up and play. Fun game.

dustyroom says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:31am

Very creative. Add more powerups, increase the speed a bit and you have a great game. Had a pleasure to play.

LittleThor says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Awesome take on the theme!The concept is very interesting and the game looks very polished. I really enjoyed this minimalist art style.
Try to take some time to add music or at least few SFXs next time.
Great job!

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Nice concept. Kind of reminds me of cellular automata. Its a bit hard because attaching a block can change your shooting position.

Aaants says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Great concept, really smooth gameplay too. Awesome work.

NoradZero says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Very nice game! Loved the growing of the ship.

lawendt says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:26am

Pretty well done, mister!

Eduardo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:20pm

That's fun!

mahalis says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:32am

Great entry. Incredibly simple concept, extremely well executed. Nice subtle difficulty ramp too. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]