Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Pixies Flowers

by puppetmaster - Jam Entry

Pixies Flowers is a game aimed for young children.
Please keep this in mind when you rate our fun game.

My seven year old son had a lot of fun playing, testing and trying to beat his high score.

-°- Instructions -°-
A magic wand and book can let it rain.
Give your garden flowers enough water but not too much.

max score are 800 (100 points for each plant)


-°- Controls -°-
- mouse


-°- Tools -°-
This game is created using
- Godot engine
- Inkscape
- PixiTracker/SunVox


-°- Team -°-
puppetmaster - art, sound, animation and leveldesign
sammakko - programming, animation

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#225Theme(Jam)4.00
#272Graphics(Jam)3.89
#348Mood(Jam)3.42
#505Audio(Jam)3.03
#589Innovation(Jam)3.03
#600Overall(Jam)3.23
#685Fun(Jam)2.95
#723Humor(Jam)2.25

Comments

akien says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:50am

Hi there,

As you seem to be used Godot engine, could you provide builds for other platforms than Windows? (or better, the data.pck, or even better, the source code :)).

fergarram says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:07am

Graphics look like clipart.

Shivur says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:25am

Very Beautiful game. Simple but fun.

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Cute art. A kid would be happy playing this :D

zebi24 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Lovely game, liked it.
The game window was a bit to big for my screen. :/

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Cute game! Great for children in that it is very simple and visually appealing, but requires a bit of timed precision.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Nice little entry, the art was simple but clean, everything fit nicely. I can see how kids would love playing this. I only scored 617, I don't think I should be allowed plants. Great job!

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:11pm

@hotboxgames You need more training :-)
To beat the record from my youngster you need to have more than 760!! Thanks for playing

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:43am

Small and cute, like it =)

purrpurr says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Nice looking little game that is quite enjoyable.

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Was a treat to play :)

rkhadder says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:27pm

This was a really fun game. I think 8 might be too much. The graphics fit the game style perfectly. The mechanics are straightforward and the theme is well implemented. Great entry

Jace239 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:11am

Cute game. I'm sure kids would enjoy it, and I found the mechanics interesting. Personally I'd prefer tighter controls so that the water stops when I click, but perhaps you intentionally have it work that way to force you to plan ahead? Anyway, nice to see something the kiddies can enjoy, good job.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:36am

really like the mood you set here - fun trying to figure out how much water to grow - great job

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:24pm

That was quite nice, fairly simple and colourful. There is quite a delay on stopping the rain, which makes timing very irritating, but great job on the particle effects and the artwork.

Markus Brand says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Awesome Graphics! Nice Audio.
Cool game for kids.

Miko says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:46pm

What a cute game! It took me 5 tries to get a "perfect" plant, but it was still fun nonetheless. Great job on this!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:15am

Nice graphical style, and a good concept. I can see how this would be great for kids.

At first it bugged me a bit that there was a delay before the water stopped, but once I got the hang of it it made for a good challenge.

beetracks says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Very good entry. Beautiful and simple (and hardto beat! haha). Good job!

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:34am

Cute game! The sound and art style created a really nice mood. It was hard to get the plants to be perfect! I really loved that the game just threw you in, didn't explain anything, and let you figure it out for yourself. Nice job! :)

puppetmaster says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:33pm

Thank you so mutch for the comments and feedback!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]