Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Procrastinator

by martim00 - Jam Entry

You are a procrastinator. You need to get things done (clean the house) but you prefer to watch tv. The problem is that dirt is growing and the cockroach are invading. You have to work around!

Let's see how many dirt you can clean while fighting with procrastination devil.

Controls
Z -> to clean dirt
X -> to kill cockroach (with poison)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#115Humor(Jam)3.64
#407Audio(Jam)3.21
#607Graphics(Jam)3.27
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#750Innovation(Jam)2.77
#868Fun(Jam)2.69
#880Overall(Jam)2.88
#942Theme(Jam)2.96
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

linseyray says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Humorous statement on procrastination in a tight package. Love the audio and graphics, they set the mood nicely! Only the controls bothered me after a while, they made it frustrating to aim for the dirt and cockroaches.

NoradZero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:10am

Graphics remind me of old gameboy.

Neoludo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:26am

Nice retro aesthetic and a funny concept, but the controls were very floaty, and also not really two-button so it didn't really fit the theme. Still a very impressive and entertaining game!

psychonull says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:34am

loved this game, felt weird when I started to procastinate a more smooth transition would be better, anyway awesome graphics and sound, good humor and well use of theme, great job!.

CalmKai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:02am

Not sure where the themes come in.

martim00 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Hi CalmKai, thanks for playing my game! The theme choosed was growing and comes in when you have to avoid that dirty "grows".

XtremePrime says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:44pm

I love the gameboy graphics! But the random game interruption kind of ruin the experience for me, but that's just my opinion! The game itself is alright!

NecroMac says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:48pm

A fun game, but there is more then 2 buttons used to control character

logon13 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:22am

It would be kind of nice to have a little warning before the procrastination starts. However very well polished gameboy styled game I like it.

Ludic says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:08am

Fun game, it represents my life

Tuism says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:32am

Weird, couldn't run it, came up with an error "MissingKeyMissing Key-Pair-Id query parameter or cookie value"

ObsessiveNerd says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:29am

As someone who once lived in a cockroach infested apartment (not because of me) I can relate. Excellent game! The movement was a bit floaty but I couldn't decide if that was by design or not. Maybe less floaty movement would actually take away from the frustration of getting a roach/dirt before procrastinating. Just a thought. Anyway, I thought this was super cool.

Larzan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:21am

Couldn't run it, it gave me the same error Truism had (Mac, safari)

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:42am

A nice and humorous game. I think the controls are great and the gameplay is fun. In fact, I think that the procrastination parts were kinda annoying. Really liked it overall.

SamH says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Funny concept, could be improved into something nice and complete. But I am afraid I *HATED* the movement smoothing, it makes the controls too frustrating.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]