Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SAAAM

by Ogniok - Jam Entry

Play as a Crewmember 341 who is waking up in their cryo-stasis pod on a ship called Trieste.
You will be assisted by S.A.A.A.M. (System Automation, Assistance, and Analysis Matrix).
Will you do what it wants you to? Will you be obedient?

THE GAME HAS MULTIPLE ENDINGS BASED ON THE CHOICES YOU MAKE

IF YOU ONLY SEE A BLACK SCREEN AFTER STARTING THE GAME PLAY IN WINDOWED MODE

Team
-----------------------------------------------------
Kacper Kowalczuk - Lead Programmer
Krzysztof Heldt - UI Programmer
Marek Derkowski - Lead 3D Artist
Michał Antkiewicz - 3D Artist
Daniel Kończyk - 2D and Level Artist
Jackson C. Gordon - Writer

Special thanks for Elijah Lucian for voicing the game.

Post Jam Version Changelog
-----------------------------------------------------
* Added fourth ending when player tampers with panel but decides to come back to the elevator
* Added option to skip dialogues
* Doors now open much faster
* Added starting from the elevator after finishing
* Fixed several bugs and glitches
* Added ability to see unlocked endings in the main menu
* Added ability to disable Motion Blur in the options menu

Feedback
-----------------------------------------------------
Please, leave your feedback about the game and report
bugs if you've found any. We appreciate it very much.

(We choose to focus on the "Two Button Controls" theme)

Fireline Games | firelinegames.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#10Graphics(Jam)4.76
#24Audio(Jam)4.21
#41Mood(Jam)4.14
#41Overall(Jam)4.06
#191Humor(Jam)3.35
#390Fun(Jam)3.31
#575Innovation(Jam)3.05
#764Theme(Jam)3.36

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:31am

We have only to watch the pics for know the quality!
Good job guys, u rock!

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:33am

We're glad you've liked it! :)

thiagoferraro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:38am

Love it so much!

Kakureta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:43am

Love the visuals! Good job guys!

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:50am

Thanks for the nice words guys. :D

ZONC says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:53am

Amazing!

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:55am

Great graphics quality. Found it a bit confusing as what to do.

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:57am

Nice pics, but I couldn't run it on linux via wine :( Sorry!

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:57am

I am really blown away by the quality and depth on display here. Really great job!

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:03am

@josefnpat We'll investigate the possibility of a linux build. :)

Mr_Fudd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:06am

Very interesting concept. It looks very nice, runs well, and sounded great. I didn't like that the doors took so long to open, it make it feel like a chore to watch it open. I didn't feel very invested in the choices presented to me and I didn't feel like playing the game again to see the other endings.

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:06am

Super impressed with this game! It's very polished for a LD game, and the atmosphere was genuinely creepy. Loved it! :)

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:09am

I went really scary at some points, haha, i have a cronical fear from frights haha, i dont know how you guys did it, but its really professional the art, gameplay, and everything, congratulations

MrMordem says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:09am

Ok Well... Just beautiful ! Love it :D
GG Guys ;)

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:20am

Amazing

Jebby says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:36am

Love it! GJ

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:37am

Looks nice, but this just loaded a black screen for me.

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:40am

Very nice!

Rufson says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:40am

Nice!!!

banana4life says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:53am

Looks good.
Slow
doors
open

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:55am

I'd pay money for this hahaha.

Sourtrance says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:55am

It's very interesting. It seems very polished for a jam game. The graphics are fantastic and the mood is well established. Also, the voice over is very good!

Troma says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:01am

Just a black screen :/

nucleartide says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:01am

Amazing! Not sure if there are multiple endings, but I died at the self-destruct button part, haha.

Ryusui says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:15am

Impressive work for a three-day project. Only two gripes: there's no way to skip dialogue you've already heard, and two of the endings differ only by which button you choose to press at the end.

Also, a bug I discovered: if you're quick, you can exit the lift before the doors close, which breaks the game. (I was hoping the game would have a response for that, since it's expressly something the computer tells you not to do!)

Also: "Sharks. Winged sharks." XD

antonuklein says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:11am

Can I give more than 5 stars? Because holy shit, this is impressive.

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:26am

Thanks for all the kind words guys!

@nucleartide There are multiple endings. :D

@Ryusui As for the dialogue skipping... What haven't we think of that? :D It was implemented in the game but as a debug option.
Escaping from the elevator was noticed after we've sent the script to the voice actor. :/

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:49am

What? How?! I thought we polished our game, but this one... just blows everything I've ever seen here right out of the water. This sort of production quality on a 3-day jam game is un-fucking-believable! 5/5

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:02am

@ChaosCult It's just a matter of practice and time :D Glad you've liked the game!

manabreak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:07am

The graphics, the aduio and the mood were top-notch, but the theme was not that well laid out - it felt like it was just slapped on top of the game. Nice work otherwise. :)

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:33am

I played through 2 of the endings, an I have to say that this game probably has the best atmosphere of any I've played so far. The tension created through ambient sound and grungy visuals really sold the game for me. The voice acting quality was well above what I would expect for a Ludum Dare game, and the writing was mostly funny and well done. I would like for a bit more gameplay than a few binary choices (although I do see the theme connection), but overall it was a really enjoyable and impressive interactive set piece.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Top marks on Graphics! Looks lovely.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Amazing!

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:22pm

@Troma Try playing in windowed mode.

Kep says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Got all three endings!
Awesome job, well done.
(Much faster doors, please.)

Leuthil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:39pm

It goes without saying that this game is a visual feast, with it's high production value, but I felt that you also nailed it in other areas as well. I thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere you were able to create and really felt like I was a worker on that sub. The narration was very fitting, and not overly distracting as is sometimes the case. The sound effect also were spot on, along with your left/right button control scheme. Loved the idea of putting in alternative endings. Your team created a fantastic entry here.

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:42pm

It's amazing how much you guys made in just three days. It's a well made game. Okay, now for the thinks I didn't like :D : The game is extremely sloooow. Since most of it is just going through the same corridors over and over again, faster doors and a sprint function really could have helped. Also I didn't feel like there was much consequences to choosing the smaller thinks. As such it felt kind of hollow...
Well regardless, good job people!

vedmich says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Awesome!
But yeah, fix the doors :D

nosfer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:09pm

would love to check it out but I get blackscreen :( but screenshots look impressive. Also got virus warning on main exe file using Avira Antivir

DevDad says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Awesome graphics.The atmosphere is amazing and spooky!
Very interesting gameplay I'm waiting for more.
Congratulations Unreal people ;)

parias001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:44pm

A very good and great game, very impresive that it was done in 72 hours. Awesome graphics. Well written and intriguing story.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:03pm

A few nitpicks concerning the game.
SAAAM seemingly acts human but then fails to out of nowhere like where he told the "joke".
There's a bug with the elevator door disappearing as you descend.
I liked the game.

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:09pm

@nosfer Try running the game in windowed mode.

Tyler says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Amazing visuals!

NoradZero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:58am

Amazing atmosphere! Really loved it.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:05am

Loved the voice work, made the game feel like an interactive short story

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:11am

Excellent polish and quality. The audio is phenomenal, the voice acting is great (even the delivery of the comedic lines is spot on). I love that even the "non-interactive" components had small interactions. A lot of people would have ignored things like additional doors, but you put the care into making them clickable, and giving them a reactive sound - it goes a long way towards making the world feel less like a corridor and more like a real place! The scratches on the first door/wall really adds to the atmosphere too!

The only flaw I can think of is not giving the player the option to skip the dialogue for the second play through. Also, the game crashed on my for my first try, but on my second try it worked fine. Those are incredibly nitpicky, and what you've accomplished here is incredible.

kostak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Prety work, good graphics

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Crashed on load for me. I'd love to play this!

Ogniok says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Thanks for all the kind words guys. It really means a lot to us!

@Kep Thanks! We'll work on the doors in the Post Jam version. :)
@TheBreakfast We'll add skipping dialogues in the Post Jam version.
@DeathBySnail Have you tried running it in windowed mode? Also, it would be awesome if you could send us logs from your game so we can investigage the issue. They're located under C:\Users\Username\AppData\Local\LudumDare34. Send them to contact@firelinegames.com if you can.

kaype says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:13pm

This is the most polished game I have seen so far.

Ogniok says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:30pm

@kaype Thanks! We decided to focus on the polish this Ludum Dare because feel like it's one of the most important things.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:47pm

The pacing of the game is very slow. Although the visuals are very impressive I was expecting something else from it when I booted the game :|

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Wow! The most impressive entry I've played yet. Very stanley parable!

blohod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:35pm

How did you do this in only 72 hours, it is amazing.
judged on stream at http://www.twitch.tv/meep706, watch the highlight to see me play

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Wow. This is insanely professional. I don't even know how this is possible. My only complaint is that there should be a skip dialogue button. Also a black screen on ultra settings.

Ogniok says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:18am

@blohod Thanks for playing. We'll watch it right away!
@Evergreen Games Skipping dialogues will be added in the Post Jam version. Black screen is a problem only in fullscreen mode. Try ultra settings and windowed mode - it should work.

CremaGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:36am

Well, this game looks awesome. Not my kind of game, but I can't believe how good the graphics are.

Muel says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:34pm

People, don't get me wrong but...
Before I play, I wish I could know: is there some sort of screamer or jumpscare on this game?

This graphs are too good, so if the game got some of these, it will look very realistic.
I'm really really not into this style of scaring... ><

Ogniok says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:40pm

@Muel No. This is not a horror game. You can safely play it. :D

PanKamil says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Great game. It looks amazing, and it has The Stanley Parable vibe. But the intro monologue should have been a lot shorter or skippable :/.

Ogniok says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:46pm

@PanKamil We're planning to make it shorter in the post jam version. :)

alvarop says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:12pm

This game looks and feels amazing. You guys nailed the presentation and design of it.

I really enjoyed playing it even though I felt a bit of motion sickness as I played it. But that might be more on my end than the game's fault, actually.

Really great game guys!

Ogniok says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:14pm

@alvarop Thanks for playing the game! We've watched you live streaming. :)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:30pm

WOW that was really cool.
Amazing graphics and sound and the mood was thick!
Excellent!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:08am

Impressive! Reminded me of Portal

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:33am

I think my only concern with this game is the user interface. It could be done nicer. Other than that, great use of assets to create the environment. Reminded me of Stanley Parable, I'm pretty sure you were inspired by it. I had a very little performance problem but that wasn't much of a big deal. Great work.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:00am

Impressive work!
The graphics are awesome, the lighting effect, the mood, were incredible. The game is too hard in my opinion, too bad i can't see the whole game, i'm stuck in the first corridor. I had a hard time controlling the character because of my azerty keyboard, i wish you bind arrow key also.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:16am

Oh fuck, sorry for my last comment, don't pay attention to it, I mistook yours with another game. Your game is amazing. The mood and the narration are really well done.

Warboys says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Man these graphics suck. Juuust kidding! Overall tremendous level of polish.

It felt like SOMA mixed with Stanley Parable, which is cool.

Like a few others have said, the pacing is really slow... I wanted to see more and different choices but I can't put myself through all the intro dialogue again and again. Another gripe is that Left-click is to disobey and right-click is to obey. Feels backwards to me.

I decided to basically go down to storage to see what would happen if I screwed around. As it's a 72 hour jam, I'm sure it would be tough, but I feel that choice needed to have a longer pathway. It felt like I just went downstairs, pressed a button... then game over. Kind of annoying since I'd spent so much time doing the start stuff. Stanley gets around this by starting you at the 2-door decision, so something similar would be nice (like maybe starting you at the elevator).

bradur says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Very nice! The writing is almost AAA level. The graphics & sound work is gorgeous, every vent, door and monitor makes a sound... Very good job!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:30pm

For me it's a black screen on Epic, even on lowest setting it's stuttering, I'm using windowed mode. My computer's done this with other games before, I guess it doesn't like the engine, aw.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Amazing work for three days! Congrats!

Ogniok says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Thanks for all the feedback!

@fragileannihilator It was one of the inspiration for SAAAM's character :D
@Warboys We felt that tying the right-click with obeying was a good choice because it's a "right" choice. At least that's what SAAAM tells you. :D And through the game you discover these are the choices good for him, not you. (I'm might be the left option, but I'm the right option for you) :D
@BackslashYoutube Unfortunately, if we choose to use UE4 which is an AMAZING engine, we have to deal with it's minimum requirements. But we're working on heavy optimization for the Post Jam version. :)

Zeriver says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:39pm

It's a mini The Stanley Parable :D
I really enjoyed playing your game, voice acting is top notch! I played it 3 times so far and every ending was interesting, shame i can't skip "intro section" where i can't move and have to listen to S.A.A.A.M again.

Kawał dobrej roboty ;)

Muel says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:36pm

In 3 days? Seriously?!?!?!
Damn, that's good!

That's 3 finals, right? Did I forgot anything?
And also, couldn't not notice the font. The text font with the graphics made me think I was not inside a submarine, but inside you know what ^^

Ogniok says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:00pm

@Zeriver Dziękujemy :)
@Muel Yes, there are three endings. We'll have an additional one in the Post Jam version coming in about two weeks from now. ^^

jsmars says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:21am

Very well made and nice game! Impressive!

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:17am

Absolutely incredible work!

Great atmosphere, voice acting, art and everything. The writing was especially on-point, and stuff like the automated shower made the game worth playing more than once.

Amazing game!

totalspelnerd says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:22am

As a CS:GO player I find this game impossible to play because of the super high sensitivity in game. And it seemed so good :/

Alloyed says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:11pm

+ I thought the environmental storytelling was very strong. The barren living quarters, and the fact that the AI uses the sprinklers if you don't shower give a good strong first impression that you're just a meat puppet and nothing you do is of consequence.
- The long intro sequences and evaluation sequence feel like missed opportunities, since one locks you into a single position and the other don't provide you anything to interact with. Long monologues are usually used as excuses to give the player an excuse to look over the environment but since you can't do that it just wastes the player's time.
- The fact that all of the choices are binary prompts really kills my impetus to explore for more endings: I already know roughly what dialogue I'd hear, the order I'd hear it in, and where I can deviate from that, so I don't feel like I could be surprised if I just try playing it one more time. It feels more like a Telltale game, with a single story that has a bit of variance, instead of the Stanley Parable, which is an environment where you play hide-and-seek with the dialogue triggers, if that makes sense.

NecroMac says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Increadible graphics, twice impressed given it was done on a Jam!

Ogniok says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:04pm

@Alloyed The fact that all of the choices are binary prompts are a theme connection (two buttons). But yes, it would probably be a lot better if the player would decide by doing something instead of just clicking.

Mantlair says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Well I loved Stanley Parable. I cant say anything bad about this game I wish I could vote more than 5. But please make dialogues skippable. Not like a button to skip but if you rush to next part make SAAAM skip that part. Well Done! Please continue developing this as a full game I would probably buy it on 3-5 dolars. And remember "Submarine is love, Submarine is life!"

vortex says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Your game is about the only Ludum Dare game, that actually requires a decent PC...
My laptop unfortunately wasn't able to run the game above roughly 5 Frames per second...
Sadly I couldn't play your game :(

Ogniok says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:27pm

@vortex Unfortunately, Unreal Engine 4 has it's requirements. :/

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:44pm

It certainly looks good. Were all 3D models created in the three-day period? That's quite impressive by itself. Bravo for your modellers. The story, being kind of a GlaDOS redux, was fine but if you lay it on too thick ("I would not do anything wrong, would I?" etc.) it breaks the immersion for me. But overall great team effort!

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:42pm

- lack of possibility to end dialogue
+ everything else!

I found out three endings, I'm curious if there was more.

Ogniok says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:56pm

@wdebowicz You've found all endings. :D There will be fourth ending in the Post Jam version. :) As well as possibility to skip dialogues.

Dreyan says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:22am

Pretty cool entry with an intriguing atmosphere. I really like the voice acting and dialogue, although I think it could have been made to be a little more different than characters like GLaDOS and the Stanley Parable narrator with some unique traits. Overall a really cool game.

Krafty says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:57am

Very nice game, good graphics and ambient sounds, it really created a scary atmosphere. The whole time I wasn't entirely sure whether the computer was evil or not, but of course you assume he's evil =P Great job! I found the turning a little bit disorienting, though, I think you might want to add an option to remove that blur or allow for increased mouse sensitivity.

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:01am

The graphics are great on epic but I can only run the game in low. the concept was cool but I didn't have too much fun playing it.

Logicon says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:26am

I enjoyed the saaaamley parable. I didn't want to go back and see the different routes because of how long the intro WAS.

Gunzil says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:17am

The intro really could have used a skip button, as it's about 60 seconds of listening to a voice and not being able to move. I really enjoy the black humor. I would have tried for more endings if it didn't take so long to get to the meaningful choices.

The audio / visuals are very impressive, it felt very much like some kind of underwater science base.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:36am

Nice entry! Graphics and audio are excellent! I love the atmosphere of this game, I was totally in! good job ! ;)

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:56am

Amazing work on the modeling - the environment was very impressive given the time you had to make it.

Didn't really like playing after doing it once though. Being stuck because of dialogue made a for a lot of boring waiting, though the endings were decently interesting.

Also, extremely good job on the shark AI - was blown away.

Ogniok says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:08am

@Krafty We'll add disabling motion blur in Post Jam Version.
@Logicon @Gunzil We'll have skipping dialogues and starting from the elevator in the Post Jam Version.
@LukeZaz Glad you've liked the shark AI. We have spent an enormous amount of time working on it. :D

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:58pm

Dam ! This is a very nice entry !
How did you manage to make all of this in just 72h ? All off this look very polished, audio FX are well executed, graphisms... I even see some flying shark in the lift !

Well done !

Jan 6, 2016 @ 5:03pm

Pssst - you are featured in today's INDIE SLAM JAM! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZpQKHDasPto

Ogniok says ...
Jan 6, 2016 @ 7:42pm

@ButtonMasherBros Awesome! Thanks for playing the game! :D

Jan 9, 2016 @ 3:25pm

Really interesting, well made game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/yY4Ylj7ccuc

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]