Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Rap Game

by Rocketship - Jam Entry

The first rap battle card game on the market! We're pretty sure it is at least.

Grow your hype with sick disses and maintain a good flow to make your dope lines even doper.

Just added a HTML5 player!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#66Audio(Jam)4.00
#91Innovation(Jam)3.83
#141Mood(Jam)3.77
#159Humor(Jam)3.45
#186Graphics(Jam)4.06
#205Overall(Jam)3.67
#262Fun(Jam)3.48
#1052Theme(Jam)2.46

Comments

Garris says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Really solid game! The art was great, and using record scratch to represent rap voice was a fun idea. The UI was a bit sparse. I would have liked just a little bit more indication of what was going on, but it fit the aesthetic well.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:19am

This was great. I didn't think it fit the theme much but it was an awesome game on its own merits. Card system seems like it'd be pretty expendable but still fun. I wonder if you might want a timer on making moves to keep a better pace.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:35am

Not really sure what hype and flow do...

FindX says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Absolutely genius idea. By the end I was freestyle rapping to myself 10/10

MrMordem says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Nice entry, the graphics and sound were pretty good, and the use of record scratch for voices is indeed original, as well as the rap battle / card game thing, i was just a bit confused by the mechanics, i didn't really knew what to choose to counter the opponent,

a good game nontheless :)

pokipsy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Great game! I really love the art and the card system. Congrats !

cudabear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Wow, this is really fun an unique! I love the idea of this game. Art and audio design was perfect for it as well. Would have loved a two player mode!

BioBazard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:30pm

I am a rap fanatic so this game was perfect :) !

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Well done! I truly do hope you win something!
Game was well implemented with some cool tactics, even though they took a minute to figure out.

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:41pm

5/5, a really strategic and exciting game! Well done!

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:03pm

very fun and addicting card game, graphics and sound design are pretty good, nice work!

MoreRPG Team says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Great concept, hope to see the growth of the idea into a big game =)

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:28am

Nice job. Art was really well done. Top marks.

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:05am

Simple gameplay, but a lot of fun, great graphics and audio :) I'm glad someone else made a card game too! Great job.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Yoyoyoyoyo! Let go let go let go!
Cool, maaaaan! (Big Smoke voice)

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Art looks awesome, sounds was amazing too. I like the concept but was confused by the game mechanics a little bit.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:35pm

This is a very neat idea! :)
The text on the cards was a bit hard to read in the web version though. Even when fullscreen, it was really hard to read the text on the card your opponent played.

vicious_br says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:08am

Ow, greate game here, ah! I love the battle with cards.
I would like to take this opportunity to ask a favor. You already rated my game, but I was not allowed "innovation rating." Please could you assess this item now? Take the opportunity to play with some corrections. Very thanks:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=36629

LeReveur says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Polished design, fun to play, I didn't catch the link with any theme, but... A rap battle with a card game ! All is said.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Super solid and polished. The cards should be expanded just a little. Also, stating the relationship between flow and hype is a must.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:28am

This was cool! Art's good, beat's good, and loved that scratches stood in for words. I now know how precarious freestyling can be.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Neat graphics and audio, but it's too hard to win and there isn't usage of theme. Overall a great and original game.

4/5

SiENcE says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:01am

Super great entry! Thats indeed the first rap battle card game. I wished you had more explained the cards before. I'm a dumpnuss in rap battles ;-).

Where is the 2 player mode? Need it! Now :) !

The two guys look great, the sounds 'Fett' it's polished.

Only the theme...is no 5 stars...but thats only a minor concern.

Rest is 5 for me!

ssodelta says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Haha really nice game you have there! :D And awesome background music !! loved it

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Great entry. really innovative and fresh. I loved the mechanic and the AI was pretty good.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:01am

Tight graphics and music, really contributed to the quality of the game. Cards were initially a bit confusing, but you get the hang of it as you play.

Pusty says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:38am

Looked nice, sound was good too, but I don't really know what to do / what I did

squigglez says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:50am

very nice game. would be cool if the heads bobbed in time with the music. also the text was a bit small to read and I didnt understand the objective until i won. overall fun game

nuprahtor says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Daaamn man that's dope

klianc09 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Some explanation or tutorial would be nice. Still, got the hang of it eventually. The text on the cards was a bit tiny, and viewing the enemy card until button press instead of timed would have been nice for the beginning. The 50% chance cards seemed to backfire whenever I needed them.

OnionBlaze says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:51am

Fun concept. I like the music. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]