Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Dragonic

by jsmars - Jam Entry

A 72h game made by me and my wife @jorecca, all content done within the jam time.
First time JavaScript game, hope it works for everyone.

Online highscores! If you don't enter a name you won't show up on the highscores.

Controls: Space/Up & Enter/Down
M to toggle music

If window isn't taking your keyboard input, try clicking once around the screen or on the screen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#66Graphics(Jam)4.45
#134Mood(Jam)3.79
#265Theme(Jam)3.96
#315Overall(Jam)3.53
#336Audio(Jam)3.33
#593Fun(Jam)3.06
#657Innovation(Jam)2.94
#693Humor(Jam)2.31

Comments

fede0d says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:18am

Very cool game. Not so fun to play but the graphics are awesome!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:00am

The game is beautiful, especially for something made that over a weekend. The game is incredibly difficult; I found that once I was airborne, the game became nearly impossible; usually a line of bats would come across in a tight pack, and there was nowhere to go because the jump was so wide that it was bound to hit something.

Also the game was a bit intuitive in that as I got bigger and looked stronger, I was actually getting weaker and far more vulnerable. It would probably have made more sense to give the third form an attack, or something that would make it a bit easier to progress.

You've got a great presentation going here, with some control issues that need to be sorted out. I encourage you to look at the game's balance or controls post competition to see if you can make this shine.

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:57am

Fun but hard game :P

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:15am

I love the background art, but dont like the characters / enemies. The music its ok, but i dont like so much, remember me to Flappy bird. Good job

Johan Blade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:17am

I love the graphics and the sound. The mechanics were really interesting too, getting more abilities the more damage you take.

anael says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:18am

I like the mood

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:36am

hard game to play, i liked the concept :)

prymidion says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:36am

Graphics are fantastic-- really really impressive!

Design wise, I don't think it was a good decision to tie getting hurt to advancing in the game. Getting hurt allows the dragon to grow up (which seems good) but then you also are destroyed if you're hurt too much? Maybe if there was a way you could grow that was independent of being damaged the game would be more intuitive.

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:39am

art is stunning, controls decent but the gameplay is unforgiving. less enemies would be nice. beautiful, beautiful art. good job.

Efuvex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:57am

Really good with the mood aspect. Also the evolution of the characters abilities as your health changed was really cool!

fxtagn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Fun time kille. =)
Looks and sounds fine!

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:16pm

this game is a winner. Everything is perfect!. Really impressive

cudabear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:27pm

The graphics and mood of this game are amazing! I love every bit of it. The actual gameplay is a bit lacking, mostly because it feels like there's some situations that are just impossible to avoid. Even so, well done!

sim9 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:28pm

In order to grow, you have to get hurt. Kind of a deep message there :)

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Could use some balancing on the gameplay end: ground-bats are practically unavoidable in the first 2 stages, then far too many come for how "flappy" the controls are.
Art and mood-wise, this is incredible, just some polish on the gameplay here and there and you're set for perfect!

vidarn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Great graphics and interesting take on the theme. I enjouyed it a lot :)

sleepYxy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:31pm

I dig the subtle sound effects and music. The art looks beautiful and crisp. It's a nice blend of both themes, good job!

You also got a really good balance through the evolution stages. It's getting harder once you lose a life, I don't know if that's intended or should be the other way around. I also like the abilities you get when evolving, just noticed the higher jump of the second stage.

What's frustrating is that sometimes a bat spawns on the ground and it is impossible to avoid while in egg form.

Zetym says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Nice graphics and solid gameplay, the growing mechanics were confusing at first as I first noticed them by hitting a mushroom, thinking I somehow consumed and grew. I was then surprised to see that I had taken damage as I didn't notice when it happened.
Nice game but more feedback about what happens would be great.

uncade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:33pm

I really loved this game!

I like how the gameplay changes based on your number of hearts, that could be something really cool if explored further. The background art is beautiful as well.

Thembi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Very fun. The only thing I didn't like was that sometimes the RNG set up impossible situations. For example, a bat spawning along the ground that cannot be jumped over when you're an egg.

JALgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Really good game, but a bit to hard, less enemies would be better. The graphics are great for only one weekend.

adamk33n3r says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Fantastic game! Only issues is that I seemed to just get screwed a lot. There would be times where I simply couldn't avoid a bat. Especially in 1st and 3rd form.

PeteDS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Very good, can be a bit repetitive but fun all the same! Graphics are amazing as well.

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Amazing artwork. Leaderboards are great. First two stages are kinda boring though.

tazdij says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Overall a very nice game.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:17pm

The best Flappy Bird-ish game i have ever played, way better than original. It's really innovative that you have three states and every state is a different mechanic in game. Also graphics are just stunning probably one of the best graphics in LD.
The only complaint i have is that sometimes bat spawns at the bottoms which means that there is no way of avoiding him in egg state.

KayZ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Hard and kind of frustrating game. Couldn't even get to 4000 points. Flappy bird potential, great :).

utgarda says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Awesome graphics, I enjoyed every bit of it, even if the background stripe is a bit short. The lantern is particularly good.

modenv says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Beautiful graphics! The biggest area of improvement is probably the audio. The gameplay is a good improvement on flappy bird, but it's still flappy-bird-ish. Nice work! :)

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Beautiful and very interesting take on the theme.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:03pm

The visual is stunning for a game for such a short time-frame and I love this atmosphere. What I found disturbing is that the random generator presses you to evolve further when you are an egg by smashing into a bat, but not counting this, it was a really relaxing dragon game.

loxo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Addictive and challenging game with great graphics and audio. The concept with three different player states and slightly different game play is also great.

Dokthar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Nice entry. Sounds good, graphics are great.

Lullaby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:02am

Pretty graphics and nice mood. The 3 states depending on your life is a cool mechanic.
Procedural is cool too, but has a too big influence on the difficulty imho :)

Well played, nice game!

NecroMac says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:07am

Really good art style. Gameplay is solid. The metamorphosis mechanic is very interesting.

guoboism says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:48am

Great job! Just love the graphics!
But the egg would hatch by hitting the obstacles?

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:51am

Well done! I see that this IS very hard as you had said in your postmortem. I wanted to try and beat you, but gave up. ;)

LeReveur says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:10am

Intersting concept of gaining ability while losing lives, this is a clever idea and good interpretation of the growing theme. Well done. :)

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:08am

I really like the idea of 'progressing' so to speak, as you get closer to dying, that was a really interesting mechanic.

the sound and general atmosphere were spot on, very nice.

the graphics were lovely, kudos to the artist!

overall, while simple, it was a pretty fun little game, nicely done! :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:46am

I really like how each stage played a little differently. Starting off as the egg to the full dragon was interesting. The gameplay itself is a little lacking. Balancing may have been an issue. I thought the art and overall mood were exceptional for this game!

xhunterko says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:19pm

A bit difficult for my liking. I thought the mushrooms were supposed to be good things? No? *shrugs*

Cute though. And pretty solid.

philipp says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:36pm

I would second what dalbinblue said. This has potential but I think you could work a bit on the balance. I never lasted long in the first state and the third state was getting hard very, very fast.

And yeah, it is really beautiful :]

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Nice idea with egg and his growing!

MrMordem says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Awesome graphics, the music was nice as well, but the gameplay felt a little unbalanced, with some tweaks it could be better, still a good entry :)

Herzucco says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Graphics are awesome and ambiance is cool !

Pusty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Looked nice! Music was good aswell. Good job

Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Graphics: wow, this is what the five-star rating was made for! The dragon sprite looks wonderful. Great music and sound.

Pretty original premise (starting as an egg and growing as you get hurt), but once my dragon was hatched, it kind of turned into a "Flappy Bird" clone. Still, it controls well.

tl;dr: I'm not too fond of the gameplay, but everything else is great, and the concept is fairly original.

beetracks says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:39am

Very nice game! Good graphics and a unexpected way of playing. At first I thought the objective was to become the dragon, not that this would be a "disadvantage". Very good idea. Nice work!

YoungHorses says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:09pm

It's interesting that the game sort of gets easier the more hurt you are (in that I always survive much longer as the dragon than I do as the egg or jumping egg). The health system is less like a number of mistakes you can make, and more like three separate games you play right in a row.

scorched says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Cool idea! Though it's impossible to stay in egg form, because bats fly low at times :D

x92rwzb says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:10pm

I found the game really hard to play. Also nice graphics!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:34pm

Nice art. Liked the dragon. Was unclear how to grow at first, and it appears just dodging until time passes? Great entry.

Mar 30, 2016 @ 4:47pm

Really cool idea, nice graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/S5oK4fsls3Q

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]