Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Laser Dodge

by QuexD - Compo Entry

Growing is the wave system, could not think of anything that fit to theme.
_________

Controls:

Move: A/D
Jump: Space
Full screen toggle: F
Close Game: Esc

______________________

Tools:
Game Maker Studio
Abundant Music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#135Audio3.50
#401Graphics3.24
#412Fun3.24
#451Innovation3.20
#481Overall3.23
#953Theme2.14
#1611Coolness44%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:19am

NOTE: Avast blocks Game Maker games silently if the shields are active.

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:33am

Catchy music, bright and colorful too!

mf1214 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:35am

Cool game. The special ability system was a good idea.

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:36am

Magic flying block rave. love it. don't see the theme... at all. anywhere. the music is awesome. YOU GOT THE MARIO VARIABLE JUMP THING SOMEHOW. which is really awesome. props for that. the perk system was cool. some of the trails for the bullets seemed a tad wonky. especially the vertical ones when the screen is tilted. the screen tilt thing seemed kinda strange and randomly thrown in. all and all i liked your entry. good job

Baecun says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:36am

Really enjoyed the music, and the fact that it was so customizable, with the perks and even changing the color of the player. Well done!

Halleflux says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:39am

Well made! I enjoyed the tilting of the screen, although it would also be interesting if that also affected gravity. I would play around with that some.
I also liked that you had perks that were all useful (well, debatable, but mostly) but also weren't the same thing. Very good design choice.
Other than that, solid dodge gameplay. Technically three buttons, but I'm going to cut you slack on that, given that 'two button game' is really far too limiting.

amras0000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:40am

First issue that came up: the top-fight and bottom-left ability descriptions are partially obscured by the edge of the screen or the color picker respectively. You might want to fix that.

As far as the game itself goes... it's a relatively average jumpy dodgy sort of thing, with the gameplay mostly boiling down to sitting in one spot and moving back and forth or jumping occasionally. Not the most exciting thing, but it does the job.

More importantly, though, I've got to ask how this ties in to either of the themes. I didn't see anything growing other than the wave number, and there's at least 3 buttons used for controlling the game. I'm honestly confused there.

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:41am

Your source code wasn't sent correctly. gotta zip the whole folder and send it

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:45am

Nice game! really liked the different options to change the gameplay

QuexD says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:53am

PATCHNOTES 12/14/15

Fixed menu clips(thanks to amras0000)
Zipped source code - sorry about that (thanks to ORECROS)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:19am

I liked the music. Cute idea.

alvarop says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:19am

Nice presentatio, although I'm not quite sure how the game fits the theme. I've pretty much said most things I have to say about this game on the stream. Hope my feedback was useful!

blohod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:06pm

So many lasers! very hectic and entertaining, good job!
judged on stream at http://www.twitch.tv/meep706

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Fun game. The perk system is pretty cool. The music fits very well with the gameplay.

Catmoo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:41pm

I loved the perk system, added a nice changeup for each time you played.

Although I found it a little too easy to dodge sometimes, and that I could just stand still.

Loved the screen rotating based off where the lasers hit you from though :)

Jan 6, 2016 @ 5:10pm

Simple, well made game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/eeRk2tDl2JU

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]