Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Space Mitosis

by thelasthour - Jam Entry

A slime planet has become unstable and exploded! As a fellow slime planet, grow larger and merge with its core to give it a second chance at life. Be careful not to meet the same fate!

Made in Unity. All assets and code were created during the 72 hour jam with the exception of the music.

HOW TO PLAY
----------------------------------------------------------
Move along the surface of the planet with "A" and "D".
Collect a resource by standing on it for 3 seconds.
Bring Meteors and crystals to the pump to make the planet grow.
Bring Meteors to the stabilizer to keep the planet from exploding.
The goal is to reach and save the slime planet that has exploded.

Press "r" to restart and "esc" to quit.
----------------------------------------------------------

Jake Panitz (Programming and Development)

Roman Kalinovksi (Art and Sound Effects)
http://www.romankalinovski.com/


---------------------------
Music by Alex G
https://sandy.bandcamp.com/



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#360Theme(Jam)3.83
#383Innovation(Jam)3.32
#466Audio(Jam)3.11
#602Mood(Jam)3.11
#636Humor(Jam)2.43
#685Fun(Jam)2.95
#692Overall(Jam)3.13
#731Graphics(Jam)3.03

Comments

AboLD says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:25am

It's great for a one guy to make this game in a 72 hours. Thumps Up

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:31am

I was... utterly confused about what I was doing. Why was the camera zooming out while I didn't move? What were the resources I collected doing, and why didn't any actually get to my blob after the first wave? Just... confused. Definitely two button control, but I had no idea of the point or my goal. Maybe a more thorough explanation?

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:44am

I think I must be missing something? I'm a slime ball on another slime ball. I can move left and right., When I move the camera zooms in.

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:44am

seems interesting. but maybe you should include a HOW TO PLAY in either the game or introduction. I tried for some time, but haven't figured out how to play this.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Fun game, I like how the music's volume increases and decreases with respect to how zoomed in/out you are. Well done :)

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Sweet! Loved the graphics. Got stuck at one part where the planet stopped growing and I could not collect anything.

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Sweet! Loved the Music. Got stuck at one part where the planet stopped growing and I could not collect anything.

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:34pm

They both were good.

monetai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:35pm

i did not understood a single thing here! but damn, the graphics were cool

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:34am

As others have said, the game was a bit too cryptic and difficult to understand for me. But somehow, I had a lot of fun playing it - isn't that weird?

If you made things a bit more clear for the player, this game would be solid. It already seems to have the basis for some interesting gameplay elements, a solid camera, cool graphics, etc.

It's only a matter of communicating what the game is about to the player, as he plays it. Tutorials, maybe?

shadow64 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:55am

Thanks for swinging by and rating/commenting on Get It Out! I'm glad you liked the humor. :D This was a cool experience. I definitely needed the controls written down, so thank you for putting that in, but once I got rolling I made it to the end. Definitely a fun little game and the music totally fit the mood. Thanks for sharing and congrats on finishing!

Big Cow says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Ahh I think this was a really lovely concept. The music is gentle and I love the way if you do nothing it zooms out and slowly fades out. Nice sense of scale and atmosphere!

Auroz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Fun idea, I wasn't a big fan of the camera zooming though.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:18pm

So unexpected, inovative and I loved the mood!
Great music and grafics, mechanics were great, good job!

Farelle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:52pm

at some point I couldn't pick up resources anymore when I was almost touching the other eye :/
I liked the music, but I have to say that even though I was reading the how to play description I was confused on what those 2 towers were actually doing, so I was mostly randomly picking up stuff and trying to balance it XD

thelasthour says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:06am

@Farelle you mean you weren't holding any resources but when you walked over to a resource and stood there, it wouldn't pick it up? Did the collection sound effect play? Did you try walking back to the pump and then going back to the resource? I'm really curious about what caused this bug.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:55am

wow, you nailed the theme. or should i say, speared it? :D the music was interesting, the gameplay nice, the camera was strange. it was kind of annoying trying to land on an object when you turn at such a high rate of speed. I got to the other eye.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Took me a while to get the hang of what i had to do despite reading the instructions, was quite engaging when I did!
The movement could have been a bit smoother and there could have been some more UI to display some information like a pickup-timer and a goo-stability bar or something.

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:02am

Nice little game. Wish there were some progress bars for picking things up.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:16am

The game had a good feel with the camera controls and sound effects, though towards the end it gets really hard to move precisely.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:21pm

I think that the camera should zoom a little bit less in on me. I can't remember the location of all the resources and I don't like unnecessarily waiting for them to appear.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Well, I was a bit confused, I collected resources and then, with nothing else on the planet the camera just slowly zoomed away. That said, nice graphics and pleasant happy feel to the game.

Skruffye says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:46am

The sound was quite nice, but I wasn't particularly keen on the camera or the lack of instruction.
There were a couple of bugs, but for a compo game it was very well made.
I think that my major complaint would be that it is repetitive and not particularly fun, but then again, "fun" is a pretty hard abstract concept to nail down in 72 hours so, overall, good job. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]