Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Crusader Climber Quest 64

by SSJMetroid - Jam Entry

What awaits you at the top? Money? Glory? Power?

===Controls===
Left Arrow
Right Arrow

===Credits===
Programming: ekun & K6L2
Music: ekun
Sound: K6L2
GFX: K6L2

===Twitters===
@K6L2T, @ekunenuke

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#96Fun(Jam)3.77
#132Overall(Jam)3.79
#207Humor(Jam)3.31
#251Innovation(Jam)3.51
#253Theme(Jam)3.97
#299Audio(Jam)3.41
#546Mood(Jam)3.18
#560Graphics(Jam)3.36

Comments

ekun says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:58am

fun game good job! pls rate mine next

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:11am

good!

dathredan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:42am

Pretty neat game, probably best SFX I have ever heard in my life honestly.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:52am

This is the kind of game that makes you rage like a motherfucker, but you can't help giving it another try until you find what's at the top.
Which is why I expected to spend the following hours rating random games and now I'm stuck climbing a fucking cactus.
Music is nice, graphics are simple but look great, and the sound effects are amazing.

Lovely overall.

Fervir says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:05am

Really fun and intense game.
I had to play a few times before I realized that I needed to pace myself.
It gets really intense the further you get cause each correct grab you make feels like an accomplishment due to the difficult controls and seeing how much you've climbed after falling adds to that sense that you've gone so far.

keepee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:53am

pretty fun, love how you can get super quick at it. Couldn't get to the top though

Squid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:13am

Hard to control but a lot of fun.

moltanem2000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:15am

Haha this was great, well done. Just the right amount of hectic

ekangas says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:47am

Best climbing game ever! Controls are simple and yet so deep. Epic music, 3d retro gaming!

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:47am

Rage Quit! Great game though. I had an issue where I lost and had to restart the executable. Every time a new round would load, I would auto lose. After that, I had some addictive fun. Fits themes well, has fun graphics, enjoyable audio, and all around fun vibe! Thanks!

Bogden says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:50am

Neat! Love the uses of the theme. Reminds me of I am Bread

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:51am

Definitely takes practice to get used to the controls but overall a fun game.

flukeshot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:16am

Great execution!

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:45am

Fun game! Kinda reminds me of 3D GIRP :D

terry90 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:47am

such a fun game ! :D

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:01am

This game was incredible! The gameplay was brilliant, the idea was brilliant, the bugs were brilliantly hilarious. Overall I absolutely shrekking loved the game. Good work!

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:05am

really fun to play, glitched out so hard after falling once then had to reset the game each time, but i kept coming back for more dying sound fx

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:33am

Hahaha this is brilliant! Really love the mechanic and the audio is hilarious. I'd totally want to play a more polished and full version of this... it would be cool to have checkpoints and maybe add a Hero's Quest as he climbs the bean stalk :)

MAnimal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Wow, i tried to finish int but only 41%. Nice game, its fun to climb :D

Roffe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Awesome graphics and nice random generation! Very challenging and it really intrigue you to make it to the top! Good job :)

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Really well done! i made it 40% of the way there, and fell. after that i lost the will to continue. this game's pretty challenging.

flakoflak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:45am

Best game some far. Loved the controls. feels natural.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:00am

Nice theme combo m8. Stupid ragdoll kept eating snacks and throwing himself into oblivion. I had fun. The soundtrack and vocals made for a good icing.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:09am

Funky game

KZdev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:25am

It's really hard, only got to 12%, but this is a neat game, I like it!

batmanasb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:34am

It's a little hard to avoid the spikes, but the game is awesome! Although I can't believe you actually used Ogre...

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:47am

@batmanasb: Thanks a lot, man. Believe it. ;)

Garris says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:03am

Best. Voice. Acting. Ever!

ekangas says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Finally got to the top! It was totally worth the effort I put in.. Requires learning a bunch of little maneuvering techniques.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:38am

Nice little clum-simulator. Hilarious audio and physics effects, lol

JohnWatmuff says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:43am

Perfect game, gave 5 stars in almost every category. Sweet and simple! so good.

AAGH Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:44am

Fun concept, interesting controls (reminds me of Donkey Kong: King of Swing on GBA)and clean visuals. I kept swinging myself clean off of the vine and into the abyss in my excitement to climb.

The climber seems a little light-weight and swings around more than I would expect. Perhaps weighing him down more so that he tends to hang down rather than whipping around feel better? In any case, nice entry.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:46am

I really enjoyed how well this played! I felt very challenged, but pushed to continue. The ragdoll style of control reminded me a lot of climbing in Gangbeasts. If I had to critique something it'd probably be the audio and graphics. They both were a little rough around the edges but didn't detract greatly from the experience. Great entry!

sonelliot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:59am

Really fun! You feel like you're getting better with every attempt. Great work.

Kenneth Ng says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:03am

Love the ragdoll physics. The game's so addictingly hard too. Only made it to 31%.

Wevel says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:42am

Great fun, love the sound fx and the music

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:08am

A fun mount your friendsy game, but could use a bit of variety as you progress up the vine.

nuprahtor says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:47am

This is hilarious!

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:05am

Nice game, at first the controls feel a bit awkward, but once I got the hang of it, I managed to get to 39%, felt like a real achievement! Well done!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:13am

GOOD! NICE!

Suaave says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:45am

This was a lot of fun to play! I like how the clumsyness of the character movement and the control somehow fit to the mood of the game. Again, this was really really fun to play!!

Quique says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:29am

I like to climb, and this game it's funny :D
And you used Ogre, good job!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:54am

Nice concept, found it pretty fun and humorous.

ssodelta says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:34pm

I think your plant is awesome made.. but omg it was hard! :D

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Quite a fun game, pretty challenging. The physics and sound effects are amusing, and the vine graphics are decently done. I take it you've played Grow Home? It's extremely reminiscent of it. Thats's not a bad thing at all though!

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Very fun game. It took me more than 3 minutes to reach the first meters but after understanding the controls and the colored circles, it was easy to reach 50%. I need to retry and reach the top ;)
Some help about controls on the first screen of the game or here, in this web-page should have probably prevented a lot of frustration for many people.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:44pm

I have never actually played Grow Home or Donkey Kong: King of Swing, but I know what those games are now.

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:49am

Pro:
+ Great concept
+ Cool music and SFX
+ Retro graphics
Con:
- Really hard to control
Obs:
o Some checkpoints would be nice? Or easier to get fruits?

Awesome job!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:50am

Ran into a restart loop where it continuously started the game and then gave me game over. But when I was able to play it I thought it was interesting. Neat graphics and mechanics.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:43am

Very fun and interesting game. Felt like I was controlling a claymation character.

It is hard however. Found the controls imprecise and had a lot of trouble dodging the damaging spikes while also making sure I didn't stop moving and didn't fall off in the process.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]