Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Escape

by thefishlive - Compo Entry

Theme
-------------------------------

Two button controls

Overview
-------------------------------

A first person puzzle game where the player has to move throw rooms opening doors to proceed.


Controls (Keyboard and Mouse)
-------------------------------

WASD - Move
Mouse Move - Look
Space - Jump
E - Interact

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#391Graphics3.27
#673Overall3.00
#757Fun2.73
#2073Coolness26%

Comments

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Surprisingly frustrating, since you restart at the beginning on death. The platforming is weird, too.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:04pm

A nice game, i like the setting. Adding some music/sounds and checkpoints would drastically improve it ;) Cheers!

Si1ver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Nice.
I agree with @justinooncx. Checkpoints would be nice. Too easy to miss the platform when jumping.

piper82 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:34pm

buttons should have visual cue so the player know they are pressed and restart on dying is depressing. i heard no music in chrome? other than that, its decent entry.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Jumping is a bit weird and indeed restarting completely is a bit discouraging, but the take on the theme is good. I would disable voting on Audio for this entry as there is none. Nice go and perhaps a post-compo version?

thefishlive says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Good point on disabling voting for audio, I hadn't even thought of that when I submitted. I have just done it now

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:06pm

The game concept is interesting and well done but the restart when you die sucked all the fun out of the game for me. The platforming controls are a little too hard to master, considering it is the main mechanic behind the game.

nisio says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:57pm

The jumping mechanics can be improved but otherwise a fun game.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Somehow I felt compelled to finish this but the fact that you added a timer to the last room I think cost you a place in the good afterlife.
But, luckily I tried successfully to activate switches from afar and it worked! No more extraneous jumping for me! And then I was squished. You bastard ;)

Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:21pm

The "trapped in a mysterious research facility" genre is pretty old by now, and this game doesn't really add much new to it. (I realise the irony of me saying this, since my own entry is about being trapped in a research facility.) That said, the level design seems good, and the graphics are good-looking, if very sparse. The writing is good, though I caught a couple of grammar mistakes (for example "your" when it should say "you're").

The main problem is that it's just too punishingly hard. I would have liked some sort of checkpoint feature every time you entered a new room.

Nice ending.

Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Forgot to mention: would be great to have a sound or some other effect to tell you when you've pressed a button.

kabel says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:05am

It is very frustrating, that the game doesn't have any checkpoints.
The graphics are very-very simple and cool. The theme is a bit overused nowadays and this wasn't exactly a unique take on it. The writing was good, even with the occasional grammar mistakes. On the other hand, the lack of sound or music was not that good. Also, adding a timer is the most annoying game mechanic in existence. If that is substituted, this could be a fun game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]