Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Wizard and The Sun

by HolyBlackCat - Compo Entry

________________DESCRIPTION________________

Puzzle/parkour platformer about a Wizard with an interesting fantasy plot.

Use your trustworthy teleportation staff to navigate through 14 levels in 2 different settings: dungeon and lava.

REMEMBER, YOU CAN SHOOT WHILE JUMPING



_________________FEEDBACK__________________

Please leave your feedback, it valuable!

Also, please report any bugs, and if you do so, provide full error logs.


______________HELP I'M STUCK_______________

Well, I made a walkthrough for you!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/wats_walkthrough.png
It includes solutions for 5 most difficult puzzles.


_____________WHERE IS THE THEME____________

The Sun grows, that's where!
Also, temperature grows.
And difficulty grows insanely fast. :D


_________________CHANGELOG_________________

5. Fixed "Rendering queue overflow" crash on some resolutions on second lava level. Removed OpenGL 3.3 version.
4. Added OpenGL 2.1 support.
3. Fixed staff selecting slightly incorrect destination when bolt hits a wall.
2. Fixed incorrect lava graphics on level 13.
1. Added missing book image to the last intro page. Tweaked book image on the first ending page.
0. Uploaded

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#19Fun4.08
#40Overall4.04
#77Mood3.80
#136Graphics3.88
#143Innovation3.74
#176Audio3.38
#246Humor2.89
#907Theme2.77

Comments

Cyranh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:55am

Wow. Seriously. From the first time I jumped and I saw his hat came of from his head, to the point where I was teleporting myself all over the place, I just loved the game. Graphics are great, music fits, story is good. Well done!!

Tetha says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:21am

Man, that tower climb just before the surface cutscene is brutal. took me like half an hour to do that!

But overall, very impressive work :) I really love the little cutscenes, fitting right with the music.

JaJ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Very well done. I love the staff mechanic but I did have some real trouble with some of the puzzles.

jacobturn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Awsome

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:40pm

This is an amazing little game! Reminds me of old some DOS games! Nice work!

Juin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Really great game, really like the spike and teleporting mechanic.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Nice game, I will play it to the end, but it do not match any theme.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Thanks everyone!
The Sun grows, that's where the theme is.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:50pm

This game was mindblowing. The graphics are neat, the animations are tight, the overall oldschool feeling it has is amazing. Even the intro reminded me of the games I played when younger. It's also super fun, and the puzzles are tight.

My only complaint is that, so far (I'm kind of stuck in a level), I have yet to see the themes applied. Besides "The sun is growing" and "you use two buttons and the arrow keys" there isn't much yet. Will be pleasantly surprised and will change my vote if I'm wrong, though.

Seriously, this better win something.

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:39pm

There is a place with 3 vertical passageways and a narrow gap betwin them to use the magical power but I can't get it to pass because of the angle and I teleport where I don't want to and I die. It's under your second screenshot.

Aside from that i liked the game! Oh but what about the theme ? I can't see it.

Check out Digicross, playable in solo/multi/coop :
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=46758

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:40pm

All I can say that it's possible. Maybe try another tactic.

Adreqi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:48pm

The mechanics is awesome !
got stuck at the same place than 5you though, I'm not very patient with puzzle games :p
I can't accept the theme being in the intro only though.

Great game overall :)

Big Cow says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:02pm

YAY! This is great! Really innovative use of jumping puzzles and the teleport staff. Reminded me of VVVVV. Great job.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Nice game! You have designed a lot of levels! That has a lot of merit! The gameplay is solid and the curve of difficult is a bit rough.. but wonderful job!!

Suaave says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Really cool gameplay idea with teleporting. The difficulty and minimalist graphics reminded me of the first Prince of Persia. Would be interested to see this more fleshed out with additional sounds/music and animations. The theme (the growing sun?) could have been more elaborated on, but well made game in itself.

Adreqi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Just to say I finally arrived to the end o/

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Visual style reminds me original Prince of Persia :)

Chaserbrown says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Really loved this! Great job!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Infuriatingly difficult at times, but brilliant. Love it :)

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Great game. Graphics and audio could be improved but I loved the mechanics you used. It reminds me of old days :)

doitle says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Cool mechanic that gets pretty challenging. Some of those trick shots were brutal. Nice use of theme for a platformer using only two buttons. Good job.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:34pm

can't play your game :(

Segmentation Fault

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:09am

Please provide full error log. Also, what system you're on? What videocard(s)? Have you tried to update videocard driver?

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:10pm

It's a mastapiece!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Neat puzzle platformer. Good progression, tight controls, decent graphics & ambient music. Sometimes frustrating in that VVVVVV sort of way but distinguishes itself with the teleport mechanic.

Little nitpick: should say you can walk "through" spikes since you can't really walk *on* them. Other than that the text is pretty solid.

The theme connection is a bit weak, but still probably my favorite entry so far. :)

tantumgames says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Wow. Great gameplay. And graphics cool too.

Yvanor says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Nice game, with clever use of the theme and good gameplay mecanics ^^ Good job !

WakeOfLuna says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Finished with 16 deaths. That was very fun, very well done. Every bit of game matches up right with the mood and style.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Really great game, the puzzles were well put together.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 6:55pm

@HolyBlackCat it's ok, I've played on a friends computer ;)
The game is very cool, creative and fun. Very solid gameplay and controls, feels very complete for a 48h game. Reminds me of early 90s DOS games, which is awesome!
The only complaint I have is the theme. This is very subjective, but I feel the themes are poorly represented. IMO they should be more explicit.
Other than that, the game is solid, creative and entertaining. Looking forward for your next games. Well done :)

Benjamin says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:50am

Ok. That was perfect. You have a great sense of storytelling and you designed a good mechanic AND the good leveldesign needed to make it fun. Oh and these sprites animation are good too, very unusual and fun.

Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Smart idea, great mood, lovely sounds and ambient music! I can't find anything bad in this game! Great god damn work, man!!

Madball says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 6:49pm

That was great. Especially for 48 hours. Really, nothing to complain about. Pretty graphics and music, original gameplay. A bit difficult, but not too much.

The only thing that I'm wondering about: there are a lot of tall/open levels. What's above/beyond? Do tower walls/lava end eventually?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]