Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Deceit

by xWarZonex - Compo Entry

Deceit is the story of a where a madman loses his memory, and the voices in his head take him over. The voices tell him to do stuff he doesn't agree with, but he complies out of fear. You play as the madman, where you must follow the voices is this horror shooter game.

I put a lot more effort than I ever have into this Ludum Dare game! This is defiantly my most advanced and complete game I have ever submitted during a Ludum Dare.

MY NAME IS TANNER DANIELS, AND I AM A 16 YEAR OLD DUBSTEP PRODUCER, AND THE AUDIO IS VERY IMPORTANT TO ME! PLEASE VOTE KINDLEY IN AUDIO. This game features advanced vo-coding and vocal time and pitch manipulation. Creating all the vocals and such were incredibly hard, and you won't find this form of vocal-editing in ANY OTHER LD GAME!I spent a lot of time on audio.
I am not a artist, and I am amazed I was able to accomplish what I did, the lighting is once of the biggest things that brings my game together.
I had a lot of fun working on the gun mechanics (even though they were a pain). I am super proud that I accomplished creating a automatic gun!!!

I am super excited about this game and I really hope you enjoy the game!

Lets get top 25 in audio this LD! (I reached #26 last LD...)

Controls :
-Arrow keys to move / jump
-Space bar to shoot
-Click on wooden crates to open them!
-Its actually pretty simple.

Again! Thankyou guys for playing! AND LETS GET TOP 25 IN AUDIO!
My soundcloud page... https://soundcloud.com/noobstep-544260267


AND JUST TO BE CLEAR! THE GAME FITS THE THEME BECAUSE AS YOU FOLLOW THE VOICES WISHES, HIS POWER, AND YOUR EYES WHICH WERE GIVEN TO YOU BY YOUR VOICES, GROW!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#16Audio4.15
#81Mood3.78
#640Graphics2.81
#670Overall3.02
#732Innovation2.70
#806Fun2.62
#950Theme2.19

Comments

paraboxx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:42am

Nice atmosphere! I always die after I shoot the second monster and walk right a bit though, but I don't know why. The game just restarts when this happens.

brandloose says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:44am

Not sure how the game fit either of the themes. Otherwise, cool intro, awesome music, and semi-fun gameplay (Felt a bit generic though)

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:44am

I liked the audio, but the controls were really annoying, so I just gave up. The whole dark atmosphere was interesting.

FireSlash says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47am

It's weird mixing mouse and keyboard controls in a platformer.

There's also an annoying physics behavior where if you try to jump while moving but are stuck on a ledge, you will only jump up, which; combined with a lack of ramps, makes it pretty annoying to move around.

It also seems like early enemies have way too much health.

Good audio, graphics set a nice mood as well.

mf1214 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47am

Nice voice effects! Movement sometimes glitched out though.

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:53am

Great atmosphere indeed, and obviously a really nice work on audio !

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:01am

@Paradox, you are running into one of the plants, watch where you walk xD

@Brandloose, The game fits the theme because as you follow the voices commands, the power (represented in your eye) grows as you kill his enemies. Your eye clearly grows.

@Fire Slash, I didn't mix controls, I just had you click on one crate.

merrak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:29am

I liked the introduction. Audio is great and the atmosphere is spot on.

I didn't have any problems moving, but one of the early jumps--over the very first plant--felt a bit unforgiving for such an early stage. The low ceiling makes it hard to clear.

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:39am

It's really cool! And the audio is awesome. The atmosphere and lighting is especially appropriate, though the game doesn't seem to fit any of the themes. Sweet gameplay, though!

ceosol says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:44am

I had that getting on ledges also. It seems like if you are pressing an arrow key and hit up, you catch the corner of the ledge. If you press up and then an arrow key, you do not catch it.

I think the darkness was a little bit too much. I got to level two and was able to kill the first few guys, but then kept dying. I tried moving around to find if there was one of those red 'V' things, but didn't see anything. It is nice in these game to be able to learn from your mistakes. If you can't see anything, how can you learn?

Other than a number going up, what grows with the narrator? I was hoping that your light source would grow.

aiden-deloryn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:17am

Amazing! Very immersive and great atmosphere. Well done.

danieldsj says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:00am

Good use of lighting and atmosphere. Didn't really see the theme though. Also, switching between mouse and keyboard to perform actions is not the best UI choice.

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:08am

Great atmosphere, audio and graphics. I'm not fond of having to click on the crates when everything else is done with keyboard and the movement seems a little glitchy. Overall a good entry!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:10am

lighting+audio are what make this game. If I had to pick sth out, it would be that the controls/movement is a bit unresponsive and glitchy.

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Good mood

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:41pm

spooky environment, the audio is great

dmecke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:01pm

The atmosphere is really great (audio & visuals)! Unfortunately the controls killed the fun a bit, as after the third time I ran into that flower-rish thing it was because of the controls. Would love to play it with improved controls, it reminds me a bit of the game Limbo.

WastelandDan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:51pm

I like the atmosphere, though I did get stuck in a few walls, the game was still a blast to play. It's in my second video for Ludum Dare, check it out here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f8VkmdfxG14

esayitch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:46am

Could have done with another keyboard button instead of the mouse button... other than that, for someone who doesn't do graphics at all, the game looked good :) Music and sound direction are top notch, but I felt the game just lacked a bit of meat in terms of gameplay.

Cool entry, good luck!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:43pm

How do I get it to start? Its just stuck on the start screen for me.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:23am

nice game!

local306 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:48pm

I wasn't really a fan of how the mouse was mixed in with this. Kind of broke the immersion having to switch over to it...

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Jupiter. It takes 9 seconds for the scene to switch from the start scene to the first cutscene so the sound of the slowing down title track can play all the way through and not cut into the cutscene. That's probably what happened.

And guys! You only have to use your mouse two times in the game! I did that because it was the only way trigger the event without risking it to repeat the behavior more than once.

StrehFox says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Cool atmosphere. Found this to be really difficult, I died a lot because of jumping mistakes.

Taldius says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:10pm

the gameplay should be more polish and fit the theme.
But the atmosphere and sounds are very nice.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Nice mood - and terrific atmosphere. The music and tracks are just awesome. However the controls are a little weird. Overall it's a good entry ++

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:41am

Lovely sound! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/7EMaRu1rC0U

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:13pm

The voice effects are amazing, I can tell that you put a lot of work into the audio so kudos in that area. And the darkness with a little light is a neat effect too.

tribrain says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Good concept, though leaping forward is a bit complicated and frustrating, good entry overall!

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Nice atmosphere in this one! You did well with the visuals and the sound. I found the controls to be a bit hard to work with sometimes, the jumping sometimes became locked straight upwards, and the clicking on the crate felt a bit unnecessary.

Overall I found this a very interesting entry to play. Well done!

Geti says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:37am

Unfortunately got extremely laggy on my laptop. I liked what I saw of the audio though :)

the-arrival says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:43am

spooky... and thats really an achievement for a jam game

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:20am

Great audio and atmosphere! For constructive criticism, controls were somewhat buggy and the implementation of theme is very weak (I didn't even notice the eye's power growing).

Also, I'd advise against telling people how to rate something. Not saying I didn't rate audio highly because of it, just that it comes off poorly.

kabel says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Music and SFX are great, but it's way too difficult!

Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:49pm

I've seen this plot done before, but it's still pretty good in terms of horror, and you've created a nice sense of mood with the darkness and limited vision. A problem with the graphics: sometimes I would see a lit area at the back edge of the screen (i.e. the direction my character wasn't facing). Other than that, the game looks pretty good.

Good music, though the intro tune felt a bit too upbeat for a horror game. I'm a bit unsure about the voices, though: the distortion was a bit over the top.

The jumping felt a bit stiff. Other than that, a pretty good game.

Catmoo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:50pm

The audio (VO & music) and atmosphere of the game was great, but jumping was a little iffy, but it didn't stop me from playing it :)

PowerSpark says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:38pm

The sounds were well made. I think the controls were clunky though, the player gets completely stopped by a ledge and you have to press the direction again. Great voices though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]