Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

On Tario

by LeafThief - Jam Entry

ON TARIO is a small sci-fi game about a growing city on TARIO, a planet in a galaxy far away.
You play as the mayor's technical secretary and will get to know many of the inhabitants of TARIO while doing your daily routine of raising and lowering the city from and into the planet's surface so as to prevail in this hostile environment.

CONTROLS:
- ARROW KEYS

CREDITS:
Code - @iossif
Art - @leafthief
Music & SFX - @cbstegeman / http://www.cb-sound.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#11Audio(Jam)4.39
#17Graphics(Jam)4.67
#80Mood(Jam)3.94
#266Overall(Jam)3.59
#354Humor(Jam)2.92
#482Innovation(Jam)3.19
#541Theme(Jam)3.64
#1056Fun(Jam)2.18

Comments

xodene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:04am

Fantastic art and neat character portraits. However, there doesn't seem to be any audio on Chormium (Windows).

toebee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:50am

Great art and stylel The music is amazing. very smooth space stuff.

caryoscelus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:45am

"Gameplay" gets kinda boring, but everything else is really cool. Wish there were some choices.

roninfight says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Very nice art, beautiful graphics and cool music and soundFx.

However, the story? WTF guys? Is that what sleep deprivation do to you? :P

Cool art concept, the gameplay (and excuse for the gameplay) is a bit weak.

Very solid entry, well done!

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:47pm

It's nice to see a game with a story, but I think this game might have needed a bit more actual mechanics to be fun.

Mechamism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Very cool sci-fi theme and I really dig the characters!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:21am

Super neat atmosphere and characters. Interesting how the game keeps you going although there isn't much classic gameplay, really like it!

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Excellent graphics and music. Gameplay is on the weak side compared to the rest of the entry.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Sooo stylish, the graphics and effects are amazing. The buildings feel like they have a real weight to them. But, I didn't find raising and lowering them compelling, and that mechanic did not make me feel connected to the story. I'd love to see a different game set in this world though, with art and audio this well done.

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:09am

I loved the story, art, and music, but the gameplay was a little frustrating, and I couldn't remember where I first met the sister, and gave up after checking all the floors on building 1. Still, it looked and felt awesome! Good job :D

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Very unique art style. Gameplay was boring.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:52pm

This is the most beautiful game I've seen so far.
There is not too much gameplay, but it's ok.
The art is GREAT, the audio is nice, the plot is good!

I already see this winning 'Graphics' or 'Mood'.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Nice looking game, but yeah, not really that much playing to be had.

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:19pm

As I know your previous entries, this one was a little bit of a downer. I think it was because neither gameplay nor story was great and I really wonder how you came up with this strange idea :D I like the art and sound though, I cannot say anything about them. There were a few bugs like a small glitch one the right side when I was raising up the first tower. Also every time I skip a dialog, tower lights were resetting. You increased our expectations so it will be really hard to top that now :)

Zener says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:40pm

I like all the aspects of the game, video, audio, atmosphere... I agree gameplay is a bit limited, maybe you took the theme too serious, but a great entry nevertheless.

Clabbage says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:34pm

The mood and feel of this game was absolutely perfect

pixelpotions says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:21pm

Awesome entry, love the style and atmosphere

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]