Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Aggravation Cubes

by broiledvictory - Compo Entry

EDIT: Download links fixed

A challenging game about having your character precisely at the right spots at the right moment. Your death orb will kill your enemies for you! Just be at the right distance for when it moves. All you gotta do is move left and right. A challenging game with implicit strategies.

Four levels, four unique enemies!

16:9 resolution recommended, Mac and Linux builds untested but should work without issue.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#557Innovation3.04
#805Overall2.81
#806Fun2.62
#829Theme3.19

Comments

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:13am

Make the download public!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

guoboism says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:48am

It's a crazy fast-paced experimental game.

ruscoe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:56am

Fun little game. You'll die a lot, but the game restarts right away without having to go through a menu. Definitely do play at 16:9 resolution to give yourself more time to react to enemies.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:17am

I died a lot. 9/10 would play again.

Charzendat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:20am

I couldn't get to the end but I want to know whats there!! Good job.

dvdking says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:02am

interesting concept, but I think there was lack some kind of sound rhythm, because as is it's pretty hard to time hits.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Yeah dvdking, this was actually something I wanted to implement.

Thanks everyone for the reviews so far.

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Please don't make the music reset every time you die.

LMT says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:30pm

That was quite a nice game. However, I feel it was slightly too difficult. Despite this, I did really enjoy the music.

in3orn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Dissapointed by the ending :( I thought there will be some reward for such effort! :P Nice game :)

Vertigon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Crashes to desktop when I hit "Play Game" from the menu. :-( Will try again later.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Vertigon, what OS are you on?

SirSoltex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:06am

cool very frustrating (in a good way) when you think the ball is in the right place and it quickly moves away

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:06am

SOO HARD! But innovative! No growing?

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:09am

SpecialChef, nope just two button controls.

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:20am

Really neat concept. Fun and unique gameplay!

I do wish I could see further so I'd have more time to react.
Also, I want to hear the rest of the song! You should keep it playing after you die.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Nice concept, but the learning curve is too steep. It took me +/-25 tries to beat the first level, I gave up on the second level.
It would be nice if the attack-ball moved at a constant tempo, or if the ball just spun around you at a steady speed.
Good job!

p.s. if you don't want the music to restart every time you reload the level, look up "static methods", and "DontDestroyOnLoad" ;)

nopogo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:04pm

The game is crazy difficult. But because you are instantly thrown back into the fray this is not as frustrating. Good simple concept with solid execution. The argument is already made for a continuous soundtrack (I second that)

mukult says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Must say a neat concept!!
Super fast paced...
I could not get past 4th guy...
lol!! fun game!

Auroz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Mechanics felt more frustrating than fun to play.

Big Cow says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Hilarious little game. I thought you got the dynamic of hitting things with your ball to kill them really right. Its soooo hard and frustrating! Enemy background was hilariously detailed for the amount of graphics detail. Reminded me of games on the Atari 2600 ahhh memories.

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Timing the music with the orb would be a great addition. I also found the Toad enemy to be not very interesting, since you can hit him in 2 orb position. He's very easy to defeat. Good idea to improve on.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Bobsleigh yeah part of what makes him easy to difficult is he jumps at the orb/responds to it as if it was a player increasing the pause, it's a glitch I intend to fix it in the future, he's also very punishing if you don't kill him at first. But thanks for your suggestion.

Ryusui says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:07am

I give it points for the overall concept but it's just way too finicky and frustrating. :(

Pepejson says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:26am

Nice game, however its quite too hard (or I'm noobish :D). I think the ball should move faster or back wall slower. Or camera should see more, but still it's nice concept :)

Dejvo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:33pm

waay too random spawns of the enemies. you can't master it

Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:21am

Devjo, could you clarify by random? The enemy spawn points are pre-determined

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:51am

The second level is far harder than any other. Even having completed the game, I'm still not sure how to deal with the green folks.

The music restarts when you die. Not a great choice, that.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]