Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Xtreme Crop Duster Simulator '82

by rjhelms - Compo Entry

Xtreme Crop Duster Simulator '82 is a Commodore 64-style side scrolling flight simulator, made in 48 hours for Ludum Dare 34.

Controls are just up and down arrows on a keyboard, or up and down axis on a gamepad/joystick. Even though the in-game text all refers to keys, it's the most fun with a joystick.

This is my first compo entry - while I've done Ludum Dare three times before, each time I overshot my planned timeline and had to submit for the jam.

------------------------
UPDATE 1: 12:52AM EST 12/14/15

Had keyboard sensitivity wrong - must have made the edit in Unity in play mode so it didn't persist. Uploaded a fixed version.

------------------------
UPDATE 2: 3:30AM EST 12/15/15

Unity project settings were causing the default resolution to be 640x480 despite allegedly being set to default to native resolution. Should be resolved now, but either way the game should be resolution and aspect-ratio independent.

------------------------
UPDATE 3: 2:15AM EST 12/17/15

Linux and Mac builds now available! These are not as well tested as the Windows build, but have both been confirmed to launch and be playable on at least one system. Please let me know if you have any difficulties with them.

------------------------
UPDATE 4: 7:05PM EST 12/28/15

Launch script in Linux build didn't check architecture properly, resulting in "unknown architecture" error on some 32-bit machines. This should be resolved.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#57Fun3.88
#83Audio3.71
#91Graphics4.07
#96Overall3.83
#154Mood3.52
#171Humor3.15
#231Theme4.01
#267Innovation3.49

Comments

bushmango says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:04am

DO A BARREL ROLL FOX! Cute. You can do some sweet tricks.

mactinite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:05am

Fun idea, though the controls don't seem that responsive.

guoboism says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:10am

Great old school style! It took some practice to fly over the fist tall building!

Eigen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:59am

Gotta love them 80s simulators ;) Pretty tricky and fun to play. I like the music.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:34am

It's feels entirely like playing on an arcade machine! I wish I had a joystick, but this game is a rare gem either way. 5/5 and I hope you win!

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:34am

Awesome! I grew up with C64 and this really brings back memories. Nice touch with the TV effect there! :p

Jstank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:06am

Oh man this game is awesome. I am surprised you even put it here because it would have done really well on steam (with more levels) You have the Super Amazing Wagon Adventure aesthetic down to a T. Well done SIR! I am definitely going to be saving this one on my hard drive to play more of later. GREAT!

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Right on! This is a nice all-rounder compo entry. The gameplay, graphics, and sound are all strong.

I love the stall mechanic that creates this tension between wanting to fly slow to see what's coming, vs not having enough airspeed to quickly climb out of the way of trouble.

The classic graphics would be good on their own but the TV effect pushes it over the top and really capitalizes.

It's difficult, so good thing you had the quick retry and continues. I wouldn't have played nearly as long if it was full GAME OVER every time.

My brain can't handle inverted flight controls in a non-first-person POV, so I was really hurting for the lack of a flip option. Until I realized I *did* have a flip option and turned my keyboard upside down to play. Of course, then I hit down instead of up and restarted instead of continuing, but only once or twice. ;)

Nice job and congrats on making it in for the compo. I remember playing your old trench warfare game, this one is a nice step forward because it's fully realized.

@SamPotasz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:33pm

This is excellent. Easily the best entry I've played so far! Such a great job setting the mood and marrying the gameplay with the visuals and sound. Well done!

VascoF says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:36pm

I had this very same idea for my entry (to control a plane with up/down and fertilize crops)! Although, I ended up doing something different. I loved this, I don't think I would have done better. Great gameplay and very complete. Well done!

refreshgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Yes! Very nice game, cool music to go with it also, I love the old CRT effects going on there, CBM font and, well, I want to dust off my old Commodore Plus 4 / C16 now! Very cool, made it to level 5 I think, will see if I can get further later on.

blohod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:56am

really nice style, so hard though

fishtrek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:00am

Love the art and visual effects like the CRT monitor curve, the music was nice too. The game itself was really hard tho -- only made it to level 2 once and then got game over soon after haha

Sourtrance says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:01am

Very fun and challenging game. It implements both themes very well. I really like the graphics and the music, too!

dvdfu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:59am

Really great job simulating the commodore-64 style! The mechanics were fairly inventive, music catchy. It's hard to tell when landing is safe, but otherwise pretty good.

eerongal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:19am

The windows build doesnt seem to work. it just downloads a .exe file and when you try to run it says that there should be a data folder alongside the .exe

batmanasb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:57am

You broke it! "There should be 'XtremeCropDuster_Data'
folder next to the executable"

rjhelms says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:16am

Yikes, sorry folks! Have been trying to get Linux builds working and noticed the resolution issue, must have packaged it up wrong once I resolved that.

I'll get a fixed build up later tonight when I'm back at my PC.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:25am

Download should be fixed now - thanks for letting me know!

Serves me right for trying to upload a fixed build at 3:30 in the morning.

Henez says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:48am

Very difficult but great fun. Love the super old school look. The idea of extreme crop dusting is hilarious. Well done

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:54am

The graphics are great! I really like the old-school aesthetic, although the music sounds a little bit out of place for some reason (it's good though!). You might want to make the controls a bit more responsive, and maybe make it a little bit less likely to stall. This was really unique and I liked it a lot!

Fartenko says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:43pm

I like this one ;) Good job!

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:43pm

I love the old school feel, and the game is fun!

recursor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Nice C64-style game. It takes me back, and I don't have to wait minutes for the 1541 drive to load it. My only problem was knowing if I was going to crash on the runway or be ok. I was never sure. Well done!

lawendt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Loved how you could control your plane upside down.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:41am

Thanks for trying to get it to work on linux, but don't be too worried if you can't figure it out, cuz it's been running fine in WINE for me all this time.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:52am

batmanasb, glad to hear it works well in WINE. While there's been no particular demand for a Linux build, I'm a big supporter of game devs releasing for Linux so figure I should do that myself.

Bad news is that the latest version of Unity seems to have some frustrating quirks with how builds work on Linux. The good news is, I think I've got them sorted out - should be a Linux build (as well as a Mac one) along very shortly.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Awww, C64.. was my first "computer". Awesome game which brings back memories. <3
I really liked your attention to detail - like those 4th wall screen artifacts - brilliant! Amazing entry! :)

Was wondering for a brief moment if left/right arrows wouldn't be a better option instead of up/down.. but than again - I guess you wanted to mimic an actual control yoke..

Kenneth Ng says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:54am

This game is so hilariously difficult and addicting. Well done. You've bested me.

Warboys says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:36am

Fun game overall. I'd have loved to have seen some more feedback when pressing up or down. I thought the only way to move down was by pointing your nose for a lot of it, so it was ultra hard because there's no feedback for when you're just descending with a single down press.

LD games are always so damn difficult, I feel like a very inadequate gamer :p

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Best Unity game played to this point.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:23pm

That game was cool, really retro.

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:56pm

This is pretty cool. i love the retro feel, you did a great job with it. A winner is you!

architect404 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:31am

very challenging but fun. great cohesive retro feel with the graphics and audio. nice work!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:32am

Loved the old school theme.
Every time the game starts I switch the up and down and have a terrible death.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:48am

Easily the best game I've played so far. The moments of panic leading up to a tricky landing are just brilliant. Five stars across the board.

Geti says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:19am

Cute and nostalgic but pretty frustrating controls, and looks like there's either a bug in the score or just very aggressive negative scoring :D

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:07am

wow - simply great game - love the retro feel - loved the controls - reminded me of some old atari games - well done

scorched says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Liked the music and the idea!

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Great job with the C64 stylings on this. It's pretty effective! You even got the music right! The game is pretty fun with interesting mechanics, though I found the controls a bit slow and weird to get to grips with. I think its the lack of feedback of exactly which direction the plane is going, but then a C64 wouldn't have been able to do smooth rotation very easily, so its sort of understandable in this case. Nice work overall though!

uthamon says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:46pm

It looks awesome and overall the atmosphere is great. Once I learned the controls it was a blast.

crazya02 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:00pm

The aesthetic is spot-on!

Suaave says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Though it's not from the past (but certainly feels like it), still had a blast doing some good old 2D crop dusting!
Like a proto farming simulator. ;)

Flygamer101 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Nice Game :D This was a great game! It held my interest for some time. SOme Things I want to note:
-Music was great
-Textures looked nice
-The overlay on the screen and sounds gave it a nice NES kind of look

One think was that the version of the plane that went UP, it looked kind of squashed.

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:00am

I love airplanes... O_O

tayl1r says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Very nice! Really captured that old school vibe.

kabel says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 3:30am

It's retro, that's for sure. ..but nostalgia alone is not enough to satisfy... The game is very basic, and the two things that stand out are the bent screen look and the music.
It's fine for a three day game jam.

Jace239 says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Thanks for leaving a rating and commenting on my game! I included your game in an episode of my Let's Play Ludum Dare 34 series to show my gratitude! :D

Below is a link to the post with details, and you can find out my opinion of your game in the video as I play!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/12/26/lets-play-ludum-dare-34-episode-03/

yuigoto says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Great concept! The retro feel of the game is awesome and the concept is great and challenging!

As one comment said, a trick system could bring even more challenges to the game!

Great work! Congratz!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:22am

I kept sucking at this, but I like how it kind of relates to both themes - the post process effect of being a C64 game rocked as well.

LukeZaz says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:52am

Fun little game, but the controls threw me off a bit, as I'd often end up pressing the opposite key as to what I wanted. Was also a little confusing as to how high above the crops was acceptable.

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:13pm

Very nicely done! The mechanics are super cool and feel very retro-arcade (the visuals and sound helps with that too of course, haha).

I would have rather had the controls inverted though; it makes more sense to me to press up to go upward instead of downward.

Either way, I got used to it. Very solid game. Good luck!!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:23pm

Loved this. The music was perfect as were the C64 style graphics. Game was also a lot of fun, and very challenging. Could easily have been a shipping C64 game :) Great job.

Jan 12, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Quite challenging to master, nice graphics though! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/lBXur6KZCzs

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]