Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow Stuff

by kitcar2000 - Compo Entry

You are a bucket and you want to water flowers. You do not need a reason, you just do it.

You can fill up the water meter on the left by pressing S in front of a tap. You can water a plant by standing in front of the topmost part and pressing S. A flower is fully watered when it has a flower at the top.

You move left and right with the A and D keys and jump with W. When you are carrying water, you cannot jump as high, because you are heavier. The aim is to water all 10 plants.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#178Fun3.61
#188Innovation3.67
#320Overall3.44
#346Theme3.89
#365Mood3.13
#675Audio1.71
#702Graphics2.67
#1888Coolness35%

Comments

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Really cool little game! :)

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Well, I have never played a game as a bucket before.

I really liked how you used the: water = wore jumping abilety, in this game. Nice and innoative.

I sadly didn't really think it was that fun though.But it was well made with a good concept. So you atleast you have that going for you :I

Ohh yea, one more thing. Music plz!

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:35pm

The bucket is just adorable with its little legs. :3 Idea is cool but somehow I couldn't make the first jump? (Even when empty) So either I'm doing something wrong

Figured it out! Watering a plant at the top is kinda weird and unintuitive. Even though I had read the description it should be more clear in the game itself. (Probably would have been better to only water plants at the bottom)

Hope this helps you! ^^

kepons says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:43am

The jumping sound effect was pretty annoying but otherwise it was a nice game. Perfect length too for an LD game.

RoynLimb says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:55pm

I really enjoyed this game.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:52am

Was confused a bit by having to water the top of the plant, but apart from that I enjoyed the game. The "weight" mechanic is well done, makes you need to balance out your water need and jump height

Charzendat says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:57pm

I really liked this run. A fun puzzle platformer. Only thing I would change is the size, seems strangely long distances you have to walk or jump sometimes. That aside, great job.

@SamPotasz says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:06pm

I really liked this game! The animation of the bucket's little legs running sold it for me :-)

My one suggestion if you keep working on this would be to focus more on the puzzle aspect (as in figuring out which plant to water first in order to get to the next one) rather than the platforming aspect of making difficult jumps.

The concept of getting and carrying water around to grow things is really good and I hope you expand this!

fafastudio says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Nice mechanics !
It just lacked of more art and audio, in my opinion but pretty good overall =)

Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Nice game, enjoyable, pretty tricky the last two jumps, 7 minutos was my time, good luck there!

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Nice concept! I love the velocity jump!
Congrats funny little entry!

f7f5 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:14pm

I need a walkthrough - I couldn't reach the 10th plant while carrying water :(

-1 for the jump sound effect, and the inertia can be tricky.

Catmoo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:04pm

I really enjoyed your game, I liked having to balance on the last flower to get enough water in the bucket to allow me to make the last few jumps.

Completed it in 6:53, I'd say a large portion of the time was spent on the last two flowers :)

Very simple in graphics but overall I thought the idea was really good

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]